Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Scud, Shrimp, & San Juan Worm Hook

The ideal continuous bend, down-eye 1X short-shank hooks. Strong 2X heavy wire hooks for tying your favorite scud, caddis, or shrimp fly patterns. Even hook sizes 8-18.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 of 14(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Scud, Shrimp, & San Juan Worm Hook
Review 1 for Scud, Shrimp, & San Juan Worm Hook
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Hook,
03 December 2014
By: grun02
from Cornwall, NY
"Orvis hooks are fantastic. I use the scud hooks to tie Ian's Brass A#@ and many caddis nymph patterns. Never had an Orvis hook break and the overall quality is fantastic."
Review 2 for Scud, Shrimp, & San Juan Worm Hook
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Hook,
31 August 2014
By: Kingspin
from Houston
"I really like this hook, especially the nice wide gap. I use it for all my scud shaped flies. Good quality."
Review 3 for Scud, Shrimp, & San Juan Worm Hook
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
perfect geometry,
03 August 2014
By: CarlosRestrepo
from Miami, FL
"This hook has the perfect geometry to simulate beetles there where I usually fish."
Review 4 for Scud, Shrimp, & San Juan Worm Hook
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent quality, strong and super sharp,
08 February 2013
By: mcflyfishing
from NE PA
"I like these in 8 and 10 for black stonefly nymphs. Since I tie lead-free the heavy wire aids in getting the fly down. Strong enough for the biggest fish but so sharp that a good hook-up is almost guaranteed. Orvis hooks are great!"
Review 5 for Scud, Shrimp, & San Juan Worm Hook
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Sturdy Hook,
12 January 2013
By: Lakefisher46
from California
"Nice sturdy hook. A small hook perfect for big fish."
Review 6 for Scud, Shrimp, & San Juan Worm Hook
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very good hooks,
24 April 2012
By: Chris195
from Kent, United Kingdom
"Thease hooks are strong and very sharp, the shape makes these hooks perfect for shrimp and emerged patterns."
Review 7 for Scud, Shrimp, & San Juan Worm Hook
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Solid hook ups,
30 December 2011
By: flyfishingsteel
from pulaski ny
"As a fly tier, I love the sharpness, thickness and hook ups with these hooks. Great value and product"
Review 8 for Scud, Shrimp, & San Juan Worm Hook
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Found my new hook,
14 December 2011
By: Hellgie
from NJ
"I purchased this hook because the usual hook that I use in a size 8 from another maker was out of stock. When I received these I was very pleased and I think they are better then what I was using. The hooks are strong, sharp and the offset point can bring me more hook-ups. The stout heavy wire will help get your fly down. I recommend them for salmon/steelhead patterns that call for a scud type hook."
Review 9 for Scud, Shrimp, & San Juan Worm Hook
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My favorite hook,
10 September 2011
By: JMGross
from Ohio
"I probably use this hook for most of my wet flies. They are great. Nice and sharp. What else is there too say?"
Review 10 for Scud, Shrimp, & San Juan Worm Hook
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Hooks,
18 June 2011
By: Jason31
"I bought these hooks from the Orvis in Madison Wisconsin. I tie pink squirrels and copper johns and many other patterns on this hook. Going back to buy 50 more today! I feel that I lose fewer fish with these hooks."
Review 11 for Scud, Shrimp, & San Juan Worm Hook
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
THESE GUYS ARE ANIMALS,
27 November 2009
By: AJNFLORIDA
from FLORIDA ,RIGHT ON THE GULF OF MEXICO, BOCA GRANDE
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"UNBELIEVABLE HOOK NICE AND HEAVY TO GET YOU DOWN WHERE THE FISH ARE AND SUPER,SUPER,STRONG,I WAS JUST MESING AROUND WITH SOME DESIGN PATTERNS AND THROUGH ONE OF THE DOCK AT A BUDDY OF MINES HOUSE AND ALITTLE#16 LANDED A 37lb GROUPER I COULDNT BELIEVE THAT HOOK HELD UP TO THAT USUALLY THE GROUPER LIKE TO BE IN DEEPER WATER BUT HE HAD KNOW WHERE TO RUN GRANTED MY FINGERS WERE BURNT UP PRETTY GOOD AND ABOUT 20 MINUTES OR SO LATER WE HAD HIM O THE DOCK GETTING HIM READY FOR DINNER ALL OFF AN EXPERIMENTAL I WAS WORKING ON FOR A SHEEPSHEAD NO THEY ARENT MUCH FOR EATIN BUT SURE ARE FUN TO CATCH AND THEIR MOUTHS/TEETH IS JUST ALL BONE SO THEY CAN CRUSH THE SHELLS/MUSSLE TYPE THINGS THAT GROW ON THE PILINGS SO YEAH THIS HOOK DEFINATELY PROVED ITSELF THAT DAY FOR 1 IT WAS A VERY NICE GROUPER IT HOOKED AND LANDED AND 2 IT IT DID END UP ACTUALLY HOOKING A SHEEPS HEAD AND THE HOOK SUERVIVED,YEAH I KNOW I DONT USE THE EXPECTED/RECOMENDED HOOKS I HAVE TO TRY DIFFERENT THINGS THAT ARE FAR FROM THE NORM OR I WOULDNT BE MAKING A LIVING TYING FLIES,ESPECIALLY MY 3 SECRET WEAPONS FOR SNOOK. AND AS I STAND BEHIND ORVIS MY GUYS STAND BEHIND ME AND MY SNOOK SLAYERS UNREAL THIS LITTLE16 JUST UNREAL KEEP UP THE EXCELLENTWORK ORVIS JUST SUPERB HOOKS,"
Review 12 for Scud, Shrimp, & San Juan Worm Hook
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect for Steelhead,
04 October 2008
By: Bilbo
from Steelhead Alley NW Pennsylvania
"I purchased 100 of each of the following sizes 10, 12, 14 for winter steelhead fishing. These hooks are perfect for all Steelhead patterns. Great weight gets them in the strike zone quickly and keeps them there. Super sharp, strong and dependable it would be hard to beat these at any price."
Review 13 for Scud, Shrimp, & San Juan Worm Hook
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
grwat hook, good value,
14 October 2007
By: Socrates
from Denver, Colorado
"These are great hooks for egg patterns and weighted nymphs. Being 2x heavy they help to get the flies down into the strike zone and are up for fighting the larger fish without bending. Good and sharp, and a good value as well."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Scud, Shrimp, & San Juan Worm Hook
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1