Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Orvis Fatwood

Cut from the resin-saturated heartwood found in the stumps of ancient longleaf pines, our fatwood burns with a hot, aromatic pine flame that makes it perfect kindling for wood fires, whether in the woodstove, hearth, or campsite. Choose 14 pounds of fatwood in a reusable, solid wood box—a perfect accent to your hearth, or a 30-lb. carton. Introduced in 1970, Orvis fatwood is earth friendly (no living trees are harvested in making it). Box measures 9¾"H x 14½"L x 9½"W.
Average Customer Rating:
4.97 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
5 stars
32
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
33 of 33(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Orvis Fatwood
Review 1 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent purchase,
24 November 2014
By: bones57
from Skipton
"Perfect fit excellent quality, great addition to your wardrobe, feels very classy"
Review 2 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It kindled my affection :-),
21 November 2014
By: Omicron666
from North Shropshire
"Lighting a real fire should be a piece of cake, but very often is not - pfaffing around on a cold Winter's evening is not good for the soul, but with Orvis Fatwood you can have your cake and eat it. Three or four pieces of scrunched up newspaper, a sprinkling of Orvis Fatwood sticks and a lightish log or two on top - light the newspaper, make yourself a cup of tea or coffee and come back to find that your fire is roaring away, every time without fail. Other kindling methods either do not work as well, or leave horrid residues in your fireplace or logburner - Orvis Fatwood just takes off and burns away to nothing, leaving you to enjoy your fire, not cursing it. I was introduced to it by a friend and I have recommended to other friends of mine, and they all are very glad I did. Brilliant product, without any qualification whatsoever :-)"
Review 3 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
incredible,
20 November 2014
By: Fiamma1971
from Surrey
"This "Fatwood" is Incredible. You only need a couple of pieces to start a roaring fire. We love it. It's the second year we've had it."
Review 4 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brilliant fire-lighter,
08 November 2013
By: Silverdale
from Cambridgeshire, England
"The fatwood is a very effective firelighter. Only 2 sticks really do do the job.
I have been using fatwood for several years now, and am really pleased with it.
It is very satisfying to use a natural material - no paraffin firelighters for us !
"
Review 5 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well received,
24 October 2013
By: Woodan
from Northampton
"I took the wood camping. The campsite had sold us kindling wood. The kindling cost more than the fat wood."
Review 6 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great service,
21 October 2013
By: Dzor13
from Jersey
"Orvis give fantastic service.
Ordered on a Thursday and it arrived Monday morning. Having to cross an expanse of water to reach us I consider this excellent service.
Have been using Orvis Fatwood for years and wouldn't think of purchasing it from anywhere else.
"
Review 7 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great stuff,
21 October 2013
By: Inthecountry
"Have bought this as a present for my daughter and son-in-law who have just moved into a house with a wood stove. We have been using Orvis fatwood for a few years now, to get our open fire going and I dont't know how we ever managed without it. It works without fail - and no nasty chemical firelighter smells. A brilliant product and a brilliant price, too, compared to other sources."
Review 8 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fatwood is king,
11 October 2013
By: sillythings
from Norwich
"This is a product that I purchased and really did not realise how good it is and the price is very good.
Cannot recommend this enough
"
Review 9 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
You know it Now.,
19 November 2012
By: RangerRalph
from England
"I have been using orvis fatwood for years. A few sticks of fatwood combined with 30 seconds of puffing with a bellows and you have your fire started and soon to be roaring. Maybe you didn't know that natural
waxy-sap fatwood is the best kindling available. Well, you know it now.
"
Review 10 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fire lighting fun,
23 October 2012
By: grandadad
from Scotland
"These kindling sticks are not just very good value but have brought back the fun to fire lighting. It becomes a game to see how just one stick can start everything going and I shall certainly impress the grandchildren with my camp fire lighting. Thanks for your prompt delivery and great product. I shall be back."
Review 11 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stunning Product,
18 April 2012
By: Madsie
from Bedfordshire
"Consigned the electric firelighter to the loft. Just used 4 fatwood sticks and a couple of ordinary kindling sticks. Best firelighting ever by a country mile, a fire was lit every day and the fatwood box has lasted for almost all of the firelighting season.
.
"
Review 12 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fatwood,
06 March 2012
By: Inspector1514
from Ipswch
"A must for every home with a real fire.
First came across Fatwood on my first Thanksgiving in the US. The natural firefighter that looks good, smells good and works.
I use it from starting BBQs to lighting the fire on Christmas Day. Thank you Orvis
"
Review 13 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brilliant flame,
24 February 2012
By: warmstove
from West Midlands
"This kindling is really good and lights straight away. Useful size sticks as well."
Review 14 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product,
20 December 2011
By: swanlake
from Bristol UK
"These kindling sticks have transformed laying and starting our log fires.....with just one or two of these amazing 'Fatwood ' sticks I can light the fire with minimal paper. An easy success every time."
Review 15 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Yuletide Gift,
15 December 2011
By: Smurph
from Co. Durham
"This gift has been oneof the "highlights" of my families Christmases foe more years than I would care to mention."
Review 16 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brilliant Product,
02 November 2011
By: Peckish
from Buckinghamshire
"Bought a log basket with separate kindling section as the fatwood is so attractive. It works brilliantly, smells lovely and beats firelighters by miles. Now definitely a household staple! I originally received this as a gift last year, and now wouldn't be without it. Also excellent packaging and delivery service. Thanks!"
Review 17 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
24 October 2011
By: Bunty
from London
"Great product. Quick results and clean and easy to use."
Review 18 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best firelighters ever used,
23 October 2011
By: heywood
from Wirral
"used with dry seasoned wood ,Fatwood firelighters virtually guarantee a successful fire at the first attempt with a single stick."
Review 19 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fire Starters,
20 October 2011
By: Anonymous
"I have been using these particular fat wood sticks for a couple of years and have found them excellent in getting a fire started, they last longer than a starter cube and facilitate the fast ignition of the kindling.
However, this current batch seems to be somewhat reluctant to catch light (a bit of a draw back for a fire lighting stick!!)
Nonetheless when used in conjunction with a starter cube you can get the fire going more efficiently than trying with cubes and paper.
There was a known back order delay for this product but Orvis delivered much sooner than the stated delivery date. Very impressed with the service."
Review 20 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fatwood,
20 October 2011
By: Frankieonjfire
from Sussex
"I always keep some ready for winter. Excellent for getting that difficult fire going."