Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Smocked Soft-Knit Nightgown

Detailed with smocking in front, the combed-cotton knit makes this one of the softest long nightgowns you'll ever wear. Button-front yoke. In sea mist. Pure cotton. Washable. Imported.Sizes: M(10-12), L(14-16), XL(18-20); about 48" long.
Average Customer Rating:
4.489 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (182 reviews)
5 stars
134
4 stars
25
3 stars
11
2 stars
2
1 star
10
161 of 182(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Smocked Soft-Knit Nightgown
Review 1 for Smocked Soft-Knit Nightgown
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Better than expected,
08 October 2012
By: aryma
from Waukesha, WI
"This nightgown is a dream to wear. It is very soft, the purple color is beautiful. I would recommend this to anyone looking for pure comfort in their sleep ware purchase."
Review 2 for Smocked Soft-Knit Nightgown
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
at last!,
08 December 2014
By: KJMcolo
from Boulder, CO
"Finding nightgowns these days is a challenge--especially long, cotton knit ones. These are wonderfully soft, nice colors. Sizing is erratic: I tried both M and L, and found they were about the same length overall and at wrist, though the large definitely had bigger shoulders and chest. The medium fit me (at 5'7" and 160 lbs)."
Review 3 for Smocked Soft-Knit Nightgown
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pretty,
07 December 2014
By: foothillsflora
from Littleton, CO
"This is a pretty and a comfortable nightgown, but definitely for that first Fall chilly night and not for a bitter cold winter night."
Review 4 for Smocked Soft-Knit Nightgown
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Soooo soft,
02 December 2014
By: CozyinMichigan
from Michigan
"This is a gift to go with a bathrobe I purchased for my Mother last year. The nightgown is a perfect match and both are so soft and cozy. She loves them!"
Review 5 for Smocked Soft-Knit Nightgown
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best nightgown ever,
01 December 2014
By: Kinnickinick
"This is a superbly comfortable nightgown, soft, stretchy cotton knit and plus it is very flattering. Comes in beautiful colors that aren't the typical baby blue and pink. Machine washes and dries well. Does shrink slightly in length if you dry in the drier but style is below the knee and cut generous so didn't matter to me."
Review 6 for Smocked Soft-Knit Nightgown
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A lovely nighty,
28 November 2014
By: Merrie
from New Hampshire
"This is such a simple nighty. No frills, no lace. Just practical comfort. I love the way it feels when I wear it."
Review 7 for Smocked Soft-Knit Nightgown
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A light, comfortable nightgown,
26 November 2014
By: Orvisname
from Ontario
"This nightgown is such a pretty light seafoam colour. It is comfortable and warm. I will buy another but will choose one size down because it is generously cut."
Review 8 for Smocked Soft-Knit Nightgown
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Global Quality Failure,
21 November 2014
By: harumf
from Santa Monica, Ca
"I ordered two nightgowns, one for me and one for my granddaughter. The positive? Yes: cotton.
But no because:
1. smocking so scratchy it could not be worn at any time let alone for sleep
2. muddy color
3. fabric almost paper thin
It's a shame. No sleep-over with matching gowns now!
"
Review 9 for Smocked Soft-Knit Nightgown
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
at last,
13 November 2014
By: gardentowers
from newbury
"A really comfortable really long( and not calf length) old style nightie, yet also modern in that the colours are attractive. Very pleased."
Review 10 for Smocked Soft-Knit Nightgown
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic nightgown,
13 November 2014
By: 4472
from Oxfordshire
"This is the perfect nightgown for Autumn/Winter - it is so comfortable and having bought the blue one, I then bought the purple one and really wish there was another colour as I would buy it!"
Review 11 for Smocked Soft-Knit Nightgown
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good length,
13 November 2014
By: Imogma
"I've had 2 of these and love the dark as opposed to pastel colours and the good length so it keeps yournether regions warm in winter!"
Review 12 for Smocked Soft-Knit Nightgown
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Nice!,
10 November 2014
By: Briget
"A most comfortable nightgown!
I was very surprised at how warm it is for such a lightweight fabric!
Very nice!
"
Review 13 for Smocked Soft-Knit Nightgown
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Night Gown,
10 October 2014
By: Teechers
from Adams Center, NY
"I ordered this for a gift and it is beyond words.and much more than I anticipated. Should have known from Orvis it would be quality."
Review 14 for Smocked Soft-Knit Nightgown
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best nightgown!,
03 October 2014
By: Rae450
from Scranton, PA
"This is my second nightgown of this style. So comfortable; washes well. Please don't ever change the style or discontinue!"
Review 15 for Smocked Soft-Knit Nightgown
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So Soft,
08 September 2014
By: Nenita
from Bogota, Colombia. SA
"I live in the mountains of Colombia
where the temperature at night is always in the 50's or below, these night gowns are really nice and cozy,
I have used them and would not get anything else. I would love to have them in more colors.
"
Review 16 for Smocked Soft-Knit Nightgown
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very good buy,
13 August 2014
By: Cimadel
from Bristol
"Lovely nighty will keep me warm when the colder nights arrive.."
Review 17 for Smocked Soft-Knit Nightgown
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best nightgown ever,
30 June 2014
By: Ulla
from London
"I ordered 2 nightgowns in different colours. They are both absolutely beautiful. My husband thought I could wear it all day as a long dress!
It feels very soft, has long sleeves and I have worn it since it arrived. The fabric is not heavy, although it is knitted.
I would advise anybody who feels the cold, even in June, to buy it
"
Review 18 for Smocked Soft-Knit Nightgown
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Disappointing,
10 June 2014
By: Ginny5
from Bostonish
"Nice fabric, but the large was huge and the medium looked and felt like maternity wear. Returned"
Review 19 for Smocked Soft-Knit Nightgown
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis quality again!,
29 May 2014
By: Leslie1975
"This nightgown is elegant with it's smocking and softness. It fits perfect as Orvis quality is true to size every time. I can see why some of the other reviewers bought one in other colors too."
Review 20 for Smocked Soft-Knit Nightgown
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warm and cozy,
13 May 2014
By: Gaylene52
"The nightgown is perfect for cool spring, fall and winter nights, but also for summer when my husband likes to crank the AC down. I love the texture loose fit."