Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Firefly Magnifier & Light

This hands-free magnifying headlamp is perfect for those times when you're trying to tie on a #24 trico or a #18 BWO in low light with trout rising around you. The Firefly is engineered so the 2.5X magnifier and headlamp are aligned to make tying knots much easier. The Firefly Magnifier & Light clips easily to your hat for handy flip-down access and makes for a great fly-fishing gift. The bright 3-bulb LED is water resistant and can be removed for daylight fishing. 2 x 3V 2016 lithium battery. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.267 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
12 of 15(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Firefly Magnifier & Light
Review 1 for Firefly Magnifier & Light
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Indispensible,
04 April 2014
By: MRinge
from Maple Grove, MN
"I use this product on every trip. Lost it in the the river last fall and needed to replace it. Haven't found a better, compact combination of light and magnification"
Review 2 for Firefly Magnifier & Light
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent,
31 August 2013
By: Gazza58
from Manchester
"This is brilliant, I just wish I knew about it earlier! It is ideal for night time sea trout fishing & also day fishing without the light, as my eyes are not what they was! I am so pleased with this product & would highly recommend it to everyone"
Review 3 for Firefly Magnifier & Light
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mag lite,
05 July 2013
By: patok
from PA
"Haven't used it yet, but I know it will come in handy while fishing. Have on numerous occasions broke off at dusk and not had enough light to see to tie a new tippet on. This product should remedy the situation."
Review 4 for Firefly Magnifier & Light
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Firefly magnifier with light,
31 December 2012
By: cjnaff
"What a great solution to the challenge of tying on a new fly without having to fumble around for a pair of glasses! The firefly magnifier is so easy because its already right there on the brim of your hat. All you have to do is to flip it down into your line of sight and you have instant magnification for seeing just what you're doing! This is a great solution for fly fishers!"
Review 5 for Firefly Magnifier & Light
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
GREAT DESIGN, AVERAGE QUALITY,
17 August 2012
By: ROGUEFISHER
from SOUTHERN OREGON
"I like the design which combines a light and magnifying lenses. However, of the two that I ordered, one was defective out of the box."
Review 6 for Firefly Magnifier & Light
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Useless purchase,
18 June 2012
By: Jimbabwe
"The beam of light is fixed, cannot be adjusted and illuminates my feet. The beam of light cannot be adjusted to focus in front of the magnifier where it is needed most. I don't need to light up my feet but need to adjust the beam of light to see what I'm using the magnifier to focus on."
Review 7 for Firefly Magnifier & Light
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good light, difficult magnification,
08 May 2012
By: Habee
from PA
"The light is great and handy, but I had a hard time getting the magnifying lens close enough to my eyes to get good focus. I went back to one that has no light, but better adjustability"
Review 8 for Firefly Magnifier & Light
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product for Fishing.,
11 August 2011
By: Dagon
"I am a Fly Fishing guide in Michigan and i have recommended this product to all my clients and friends. Whether you have poor eye sight or just like to fish at night like most fishermen do, this product is perfect on all accounts. It is so versatile and inexpensive. It also makes for a great stocking stuffer at Christmas. I have seen other products similar to this but this one is the best by far. Don't hit the river without it."
Review 9 for Firefly Magnifier & Light
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Not just for fishing,
02 July 2011
By: Catchmorefish
from Princeton, NJ
"How did I ever get along without this? I use it around the house all the time for those little jobs that need more light and magnification, and keep forgetting to put it back in my fishing bag. Guess I should get another!"
Review 10 for Firefly Magnifier & Light
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
28 August 2010
By: PaulK
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This product is invaluable to those needing a little magnification to tie on a fly. It saves messing around taking sunglasses off and putting magnifying glasses on to change flies.
I have just two criticisms, the first is that with the LED attached it is quite heavy and I need to constantly push my cap back on my head whilst fishing, the second is that I cannot for the life of me figure out how to detach the LED from the magnifier and have lost the instructions on how to do this.
I wouldn't let these criticisms put anyone off from buying one as they are by far the best solution to the problem of needing some magnification to tie on flies or knot a leader."
Review 11 for Firefly Magnifier & Light
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Disappointed,
10 March 2010
By: ChuknDuk
from AZ
"The light is great. The magnification is good. Unfortunately the light and magnification are not aligned or close to parfocal. Will need to return for credit."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service Team26 October 2010
Orvis contacted this customer and thanked him for his honest feedback. We were disappointed to hear this magnifier and light didn't perform as expected. We welcome customer comments and suggestions, as we learn much from our customers, and we are always striving to improve our products. Orvis will happily refund or exchange any purchase, as we want our customers to be happy with all of their Orvis purchases.
Review 12 for Firefly Magnifier & Light
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Like having readers on the river,
21 November 2009
By: Otch
from Grosse Pointe Farms, Michigan
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"If your eyes are anything like mine, you will love this product. The light is great for early morning or night work on the river, and the magnifier is critical to help me tie on those small flies."
Review 13 for Firefly Magnifier & Light
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Firefly light and magnifier,
12 June 2008
By: RBuzard
"I got tired of trying to wade with bifocals on or taking my reading glasses on and off to tie on flies while trout fishing. So I decided to order the firefly light and magnifer to give it a try. I have not been disappointed.
It attaches firmly to the brim of my cap. The magnifier is very convenient for tying on a fly at anytime. The light makes the task an easy one for those hatches at dusk. An outstanding buy for the money.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Firefly Magnifier & Light
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
04 November 2007
By: Robert
from Boynton Beach, Florida
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"When you want to be in your fishing spot at the first peak of light, you need to get there and have your rod loaded while it's still dark. The firefly is a must have gadget in your Orvis chestpack or vest. I removed the magnifier because I don'y use it so I just clip the light onto the brim of my cap and I'm in business. It is so easy to secure, stays in place until I remove it, and the light is very easy to turn on and off. Whether you are fishing early morning, or well past the sunset, the firefly will become a much appreciated peice of gear you will have for a long time."
Review 15 for Firefly Magnifier & Light
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FIREFLY LIGHT AND MAGNIFIER,
04 October 2007
By: NAILS
"I WOULD NOT FISH WITHOUT IT.I HAVE USED IT COUNTLESS TIMES AND HAVE GIVEN THEM AS GIFTS. THERE ARE ONLY A FEW THINGS SO SMALL THAT MAKE SUCH A BIG DIFFERENCE."