Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Bullhide-and-Canvas Backpack

Rugged Bullhide-and-canvas construction protects your valuables, while ample storage options keep things organized and easily accessible when on the go. Lined with our signature plaid, our backpack features a arge main compartment with a padded laptop pocket and business card slots. An interior zippered pocket and slash pocket keep small items secure. A leather-trimmed front bellows pocket houses a neoprene pocket sized for an iPad® or similar device. An exterior zippered pocket is perfect for a mobile phone. Other features include double-knotted leather zipper pulls, locking zippers on the main compartment, and a leather-trimmed grab handle. A convenient slip pocket allows the entire bag to be securely placed over the handle of a rolling suitcase. A side bellows pocket is easily accessed via a brass stud/flap closure. In tan/brown. 18"H x 14"W x 7"D; 1,750 cu. in. Spot clean. Personalize with embossing on leather or engraving on a brass plate, up to 6 letters. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.86 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (43 reviews)
5 stars
37
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
43 of 43(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Bullhide-and-Canvas Backpack
Review 1 for Bullhide-and-Canvas Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exceptional Backpack!,
08 September 2014
By: rcallen
from Southeast
"wow, this thing is perfect, large enough to get everything in without feeling like it needs to be on wheels for going long distances between airport gates...built to last, ill get many years use out of this. typical Orvis, top quality product"
Review 2 for Bullhide-and-Canvas Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Built solid,
04 September 2014
By: Mebankman
from Maryland
"Nicely built. Great construction and large to handle your clothes for an overnight stay"
Review 3 for Bullhide-and-Canvas Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Casual Bag,
04 August 2014
By: thill
from Atlanta, GA
"I bought this bag to carry my personal laptop, accessories, books, etc. Works great and looks very nice. Only one FYI to be aware of ... the computer compartment has an elastic strap with a velcro end tab to hold the computer in place. The strap isn't long enough to secure a 15" macbook pro, one of the most popular computers around. However, the strap isn't necessary - just provides additional security."
Review 4 for Bullhide-and-Canvas Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great All 'Round Carry-On,
25 July 2014
By: BeachJeeper
from Up and Down the East Coast
"Bought this backpack to use on new airline that charges for all bags except under seat. Although a bit larger then regulation technically, it still fits under seat if not too stuffed. I make frequent 1-3 day trips and dress informally. This bag can hold all I need. Material is very strong and holds up well overtime. Shoulder straps are comfortable. When full it will sit upright on the floor. Can't recommend it enough."
Review 5 for Bullhide-and-Canvas Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As advertised,
22 July 2014
By: ITLSCOOT
from Charlotte, NC
"My first purchase from Orvis and I"m very pleased. Well constructed and it should last a lifetime."
Review 6 for Bullhide-and-Canvas Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Travel Backpack,
16 July 2014
By: 05051955
from Bakersfield,Ca
"I travel 10-15 days per month, in and out of airports. The bullhide and canvas backpack is perfect. I have plenty of room and it is comfortable to carry. There is plenty of attention to detail and look is appropriate to carry into meetings also."
Review 7 for Bullhide-and-Canvas Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tremendous purchase.,
15 July 2014
By: Wrightman
from Denton, TX
"Great flexibility and many zippered pockets. Good buy!"
Review 8 for Bullhide-and-Canvas Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic backpack for college students,
20 May 2014
By: KristinMcP
from Southeast MO
"My son carried this backpack last year at college and it still looks great! It's extremely durable and roomy! Purchased another one for a special graduate because I was so pleased with this product."
Review 9 for Bullhide-and-Canvas Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
19 May 2014
By: mtlk
from Montana
"I had previously purchased the matching Weekend Duffle as a gift for my husband. He LOVES it and is equally pleased with this item - the look, the options and the qualify."
Review 10 for Bullhide-and-Canvas Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rare Quality,
01 April 2014
By: Marcel14
from Brisbane, Australia
"I spent a considerable amount of time researching for this purchase. Finding something that fit my admittedly very high expectations seemed unlikely.
Discovering Orvis was a stroke of luck.
I could not be more happy with this product.
Brilliant!"
Review 11 for Bullhide-and-Canvas Backpack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Business use,
03 February 2014
By: Buster43
"Seems to be working fine. A couple of the pockets on the side as a little hard to use due to the deep pockets."
Review 12 for Bullhide-and-Canvas Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bullhide & Canvas Backpack,
29 January 2014
By: Okiedater
from Oklahoma
"The overall quality of this product is amazing. I especially like the broad shoulder straps and the convenience of the exterior pockets and the utility of the design. It appears to be tough and durable for years of heavy use. A highly recommendable pack."
Review 13 for Bullhide-and-Canvas Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Happy with purchase,
24 January 2014
By: scorpio
from St. Louis, MO.
"Bought the backpack for my son for his now college prep school days and future collegiate life. I had the bag embossed and it is very beautiful, sturdy and spacious, I feel confident this bag will last for quite some time. My son is able to get a laptop, 4 big books and other school supplies in backpack with no problem, while looking very stylish. Thank you Orvis for living up to your reputation. You have satisfied me a frequent shopper and won over a new customer- my son."
Review 14 for Bullhide-and-Canvas Backpack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Classy way to travel,
21 January 2014
By: sparty79
"Love the space, the attention to detail, the craftsmanship. My only complaint its that it's just a bit larger than I'd like to fit under the airline seat but it fits overhead just fine."
Review 15 for Bullhide-and-Canvas Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Compliments,
16 January 2014
By: MnLawyer
from Minnesota
"This is a great backpack. Very well made and I have received several compliments even though I have only had it a few days. Very rugged and solid construction. My only criticism, and its more of a question, is the purpose of and open flap on the back side that has a closure at the top and is open on the bottom. I would highly recommend this backpack"
Review 16 for Bullhide-and-Canvas Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Work & Travel Backpack,
02 December 2013
By: DefenseTraveller
from Viginia Beach, VA
"I received the backpack 2 weeks ago and am a VERY frequent international traveler. The main compartment is easily large enough for a laptop, power cables, earphones & books or folders. It also has a hard-sided holder for glasses/sunglasses & a place for business cards. The phone slot on the side easily takes my iPhone 4S and would handle the larger 5 series. The lower front compartment will take an iPad, e-reader, etc & still leave plenty of room for other stuff. The smaller front zippered compartments on the top flap & on the front DO NOT have slots for pens, etc, which is disappointing, but not a huge deal for me. There is also a large open pocket on the back for a folder for travel documents that I find handy - I don't have to open the pack to get what I need while moving through the airport. There is a nice side pocket for holding an umbrella AND a large mesh pocket for a water bottle or travel mug that you cannot see on the picture but which are great features. I've had no trouble with the straps slipping that I read on earlier reviews. They hold & the whole thing is very comfortable & stylish. I've received several compliments already. If you travel a lot, then the investment is well worth it for this quality & good looks."
Review 17 for Bullhide-and-Canvas Backpack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Best Fit,
20 November 2013
By: RoverRiley
from Plano, TX
"After extensive research and trialing (and returning) seven backpacks from seven other brands, I purchased and retained the Orvis Bullhide and Canvas backpack for a two week wilderness trip to Alaska. The Orvis backpack best fit all of my criteria, primarily a large outside pocket for my 22 x 50 binoculars. For the most part, I concur with other reviewers' comments regarding unique design, comfort, quality material and construction with one exception: the mesh fabric used for the exterior water bottle pocket. The mesh fabric pulls away from the elastic binding at the top of the pocket, snags easily and once loosed, quickly unravels. I returned two of these backpacks to Orvis due to the same problem with the mesh fabric. Naturally, Orvis promptly replaced both packs with new ones without question or hesitation. Hopefully, the design team for this pack will note these concerns and incorporate a more rugged material for the water bottle pouch as is typically found on other back packs of lesser quality. One other minor issue: the laptop sleeve is too large and sloppy for most modern day laptops such as my Mac Air. At least provide some means to cinch in the excessive material and hold the machine fast. On the plus side - the outside cellphone pocket is perfect for storing the pack's rain cover; my cigar case fits nicely into the rigid pocket on the inside right side; the covered pocket on the outside right side is just right for a water bladder or a two way radio. Overall - I love this pack and would highly recommend it to anyone with similar needs."
Review 18 for Bullhide-and-Canvas Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
14 October 2013
By: DonNova
from Staten Island, NY
"Great Quality. Lots of room to pack numerous items but not too big. The canvas material looks and feels very strong and the straps make it very easy on the back and shoulders."
Review 19 for Bullhide-and-Canvas Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Canvas vabckpack,
12 October 2013
By: Michiel
from Hambledon, Surrey, UK
"This is a superb product. Sturdy canvas, well made, and beautiful design !
Michael
"
Review 20 for Bullhide-and-Canvas Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best business backpack available,
27 September 2013
By: DowntownBrown
"Beautiful, with plenty of space. Not sure why I'm surprised- it is Orvis. Looks great casually and as business casual. My new go to bag from here on out."