Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Bullhide-and-Canvas Backpack

Rugged Bullhide-and-canvas construction protects your valuables, while ample storage options keep things organized and easily accessible when on the go. Lined with our signature plaid, our backpack features a arge main compartment with a padded laptop pocket and business card slots. An interior zippered pocket and slash pocket keep small items secure. A leather-trimmed front bellows pocket houses a neoprene pocket sized for an iPad® or similar device. An exterior zippered pocket is perfect for a mobile phone. Other features include double-knotted leather zipper pulls, locking zippers on the main compartment, and a leather-trimmed grab handle. A convenient slip pocket allows the entire bag to be securely placed over the handle of a rolling suitcase. A side bellows pocket is easily accessed via a brass stud/flap closure. In tan/brown. 18"H x 14"W x 7"D; 1,750 cu. in. Spot clean. Personalize with embossing on leather or engraving on a brass plate, up to 6 letters. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.885 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (52 reviews)
5 stars
46
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
52 of 52(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Bullhide-and-Canvas Backpack
Review 1 for Bullhide-and-Canvas Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great masculine carry bag,
04 December 2014
By: lb100m
from San Diego,CA
"very nice construction, handsome , durable and personalized. We will be using it on a safari and it amazing spaces to hold all sort of necessities"
Review 2 for Bullhide-and-Canvas Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great birthday gift,
26 November 2014
By: Lisalucyb
from Deep River, Ct
"My husband, who is impossible to please,, loved this Orvis backpack. The quality is excellent and he expects that it will last a long time."
Review 3 for Bullhide-and-Canvas Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exceptional quality,
17 November 2014
By: RrichCFP
from Noblesville, in
"As with all things Orvis you pay a premium but receive quality. The back pack is featured filled and constructed to last plus it looks good. when I brought it home my wife immediately examined it and now wants one for herself which means I need to order another one for me! I also purchased the matching suitcase which again is exceptional quality with too many convenient features to describe."
Review 4 for Bullhide-and-Canvas Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
keeps getting better,
15 November 2014
By: ericmarley
from silver spring. md
"the ease of use continues as a major plus. the location of the compartments, makes for quick and easy access. after several trips, it remains a handsome pack."
Review 5 for Bullhide-and-Canvas Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well worth the cost- great bag,
15 November 2014
By: HarperMac
from Georgia
"Looked at this and the businessman's backpack in an Orvis store. They were very similar but this one had a couple of inside features I liked better- such as two pockets that are ridged and stay open, making it easy and reach in and fish things out of them. I wish they would show an inside pic. It's amazing how much stuff you can get in this. Can easily be used as a weekend bag. Get it- you will not be disappointed."
Review 6 for Bullhide-and-Canvas Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product! Must have for anyone traveling,
28 October 2014
By: SSMotoWorks
from Jacksonville, FL
"This is an awesome product! My father had one of these bags my whole childhood and used it as a briefcase essentially. I always admired it growing up. Now, 25 years later we have a matching pair. His is still in great shape, mine is just a little more stiff and has a lot fewer battle scars given that i have only used it a month for business travel. It fits a couple laptops, note pads, a couple books, my power cord collection and other travel essentials very well. The straps are wide enough that you can load it up and not worry about shoulder pain while traveling. The fabric cleans very well also."
Review 7 for Bullhide-and-Canvas Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another Piece Added,
25 October 2014
By: Beverlyjane
from Ohio
"I bought the companion tote bag for a gift for my husband last year, and when I saw this backpack in you catalog and just had to have it for him. He loves the tote and will be totally blown away with this backpack especially since I had his initials engraved on the leather. It's a Christmas gift, but I have started early to avoid last minute rushing. Thank you so much. I believe I saw a satchel out of this same material in one of your ads! H-m-m..."
Review 8 for Bullhide-and-Canvas Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing Backpack,
22 October 2014
By: MarkMalone
from Dallas, TX
"As a busy traveler having a well made and easy to carry Orvis backpack as been a smart purchase for me. I like how versatile the backpack and how I can use it for business (plenty of room for work files and my laptop) and personal travel. The straps are well padded for comfort in carry it over one shoulder or both - it has been ideal for me."
Review 9 for Bullhide-and-Canvas Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Backpack,
13 October 2014
By: jmspilot
from Long Island, New York
"This is a fantastic backpack. This is the second time I am giving it as a gift and it is very well received. It is sturdy, well made and very good looking. It's perfect for the guy on the go."
Review 10 for Bullhide-and-Canvas Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exceptional Backpack!,
08 September 2014
By: rcallen
from Southeast
"wow, this thing is perfect, large enough to get everything in without feeling like it needs to be on wheels for going long distances between airport gates...built to last, ill get many years use out of this. typical Orvis, top quality product"
Review 11 for Bullhide-and-Canvas Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Built solid,
04 September 2014
By: Mebankman
from Maryland
"Nicely built. Great construction and large to handle your clothes for an overnight stay"
Review 12 for Bullhide-and-Canvas Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Casual Bag,
04 August 2014
By: thill
from Atlanta, GA
"I bought this bag to carry my personal laptop, accessories, books, etc. Works great and looks very nice. Only one FYI to be aware of ... the computer compartment has an elastic strap with a velcro end tab to hold the computer in place. The strap isn't long enough to secure a 15" macbook pro, one of the most popular computers around. However, the strap isn't necessary - just provides additional security."
Review 13 for Bullhide-and-Canvas Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great All 'Round Carry-On,
25 July 2014
By: BeachJeeper
from Up and Down the East Coast
"Bought this backpack to use on new airline that charges for all bags except under seat. Although a bit larger then regulation technically, it still fits under seat if not too stuffed. I make frequent 1-3 day trips and dress informally. This bag can hold all I need. Material is very strong and holds up well overtime. Shoulder straps are comfortable. When full it will sit upright on the floor. Can't recommend it enough."
Review 14 for Bullhide-and-Canvas Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As advertised,
22 July 2014
By: ITLSCOOT
from Charlotte, NC
"My first purchase from Orvis and I"m very pleased. Well constructed and it should last a lifetime."
Review 15 for Bullhide-and-Canvas Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Travel Backpack,
16 July 2014
By: 05051955
from Bakersfield,Ca
"I travel 10-15 days per month, in and out of airports. The bullhide and canvas backpack is perfect. I have plenty of room and it is comfortable to carry. There is plenty of attention to detail and look is appropriate to carry into meetings also."
Review 16 for Bullhide-and-Canvas Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tremendous purchase.,
15 July 2014
By: Wrightman
from Denton, TX
"Great flexibility and many zippered pockets. Good buy!"
Review 17 for Bullhide-and-Canvas Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic backpack for college students,
20 May 2014
By: KristinMcP
from Southeast MO
"My son carried this backpack last year at college and it still looks great! It's extremely durable and roomy! Purchased another one for a special graduate because I was so pleased with this product."
Review 18 for Bullhide-and-Canvas Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
19 May 2014
By: mtlk
from Montana
"I had previously purchased the matching Weekend Duffle as a gift for my husband. He LOVES it and is equally pleased with this item - the look, the options and the qualify."
Review 19 for Bullhide-and-Canvas Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rare Quality,
01 April 2014
By: Marcel14
from Brisbane, Australia
"I spent a considerable amount of time researching for this purchase. Finding something that fit my admittedly very high expectations seemed unlikely.
Discovering Orvis was a stroke of luck.
I could not be more happy with this product.
Brilliant!"
Review 20 for Bullhide-and-Canvas Backpack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Business use,
03 February 2014
By: Buster43
"Seems to be working fine. A couple of the pockets on the side as a little hard to use due to the deep pockets."