Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Soft-top Jacket

Timeless style. Legendary looks. This is the one travel jacket that should accompany you on every trip. Ideal as a layer for cooler days, it also won't overheat you on warmer days thanks to its cool poplin construction. Squared-off collar with two-button closure. Rib-knit waist and cuffs. Mini-tartan lining. Two exterior, two interior pockets. Polyester/cotton. Washable. Imported.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52); about 28" long in size large.
Average Customer Rating:
4.647 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (68 reviews)
5 stars
54
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
1
63 of 68(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Soft-top Jacket
Review 1 for Soft-top Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Jacket,
23 April 2014
By: francis1
"This jacket provides the right amount of style and comfort for a spring."
Review 2 for Soft-top Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great lightweight jacket,
21 April 2014
By: Livefreeordie
"This is my second one of these. It is perfect for sweater type weather when you would rather wear a jacket."
Review 3 for Soft-top Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Like Old Times,
21 April 2014
By: bdgrfn
"Much like the jacket I use to wear in college. Company called Redwood and Ross sold it for years. I could not find a replacement until I found it at Orvis. Thank you! Much like the old except the collar is not as substantial and the overall quality although good, is not like the old. Still comfortable and good looking."
Review 4 for Soft-top Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great buy!,
14 April 2014
By: JimLib
"Finally found a jacket like the one I had back in high school. It's a classic!
Fits well, looks great!
"
Review 5 for Soft-top Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent coat,
12 April 2014
By: Gbubbs1
"I'm incredibly excited about my new coat. I've been looking for one just like my coat that I had as a kid. This is as close as I could find and it is good quality."
Review 6 for Soft-top Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great jacket,
07 April 2014
By: nattybumpo1835
"jacket fit perfect. great style and quality made. two inside pockets , very convienent. easy to clean and wash. you won't regret buying this jacket."
Review 7 for Soft-top Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great buy,
07 April 2014
By: bubbadick
from midwest
"been looking for this type of jacket for years. the old barracuda. have worn it a few times and just love it!! the fit is great,the color too. seems to be of a quality construction.a little on the expensive side but if it looks good and lasts what else is there to say. looking forward to spring and fall here in Michigan."
Review 8 for Soft-top Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fall Jacket,
02 April 2014
By: dtrading
"Very comfortable well made very good value for price. style is everlasting"
Review 9 for Soft-top Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Old School Style - Updated,
01 April 2014
By: VirginiaTom
from Southwest Virginia
"Back in the 1960's these type of jackets were popular. I had one then. I have been looking for one for many years. Recently purchased prior to trip to Florida. Shipping was fast as promised. Was great for the cool March nights there. Fits great, just the right weight for spring. two interior pockets are great when travelling for passport / boarding pass, etc.. So far so good!"
Review 10 for Soft-top Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Well made and comfortable,
28 March 2014
By: Mike1299
from Ohio
"This is a well made Spring and Fall jacket. It is comfortable and fits as expected. Only disappointment is that the outside pokets are a bit shallow. Things like eye glass cases can easily slip out; however, there is a flap with a button closure. Just remember to use it."
Review 11 for Soft-top Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pleased with this buy,
25 March 2014
By: Dayn
"Ideal jacket for travels, light weight, with 4 pockets, looks good and generous fit around the chest and shoulders."
Review 12 for Soft-top Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Soft top jacket,
25 March 2014
By: rally
from Camarillo, CA
"Great jacket. Just what I was looking for. Fits well and looks good"
Review 13 for Soft-top Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Handsome" men's jacket!,
25 March 2014
By: Cranky
from Jefferson, Wi.
"Jacket is casual and yet dressy.The lines of it are very complimentary to the body with the band at the waist and the cuffs. The weight of the material will take a person through seasons. VERY NICE!!!"
Review 14 for Soft-top Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GREAT SPRING JACKET,
20 March 2014
By: PODIE
from Wagoner, OK
"My husband really likes this jacket!
A great dress-up-able and casual
coat. We purchased the navy in size
Med. Good fit and good quality.
"
Review 15 for Soft-top Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality Product,
20 March 2014
By: Clickf64
from Dale City, VA
"Looks good, feels good. Love the two inside pockets, one with a zipper for added security. Elastic waist band is comfortable and a perfect fit."
Review 16 for Soft-top Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
18 March 2014
By: CaptainSCOH
"Fits well, looks good, well made. Overall very happy with the purchase."
Review 17 for Soft-top Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Top of the line........,
13 March 2014
By: FoxyBoy
from Walnut Creek, CA
"I already had this jacket in green and now purchased one in Navy Blue. I wore he green one all over Europe two years ago and loved it. Perfect weight and beautiful lining. I just wish they made one in Red so I could purchase that as well. A real winner.........."
Review 18 for Soft-top Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A RETURN TO THE 50'S,
12 March 2014
By: JCORBY
from BOSTON, MA
"THIS JACKET, FORMERLY KNOWN AS A BARRACUDA, WAS A MUST HAVE IN HIGH SCHOOL AND COLLEGE. ORVIS HAS IMPROVRED ON THE THOSE EARLY JACKETS WITH INSIDE POCKETS MAKING IT IDEAL FOR TRAVEL. CUDOS TO ORVIS"
Review 19 for Soft-top Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just what I was looking for,
04 March 2014
By: Brunswick
"This is just the light weight jacket I was looking for, dressy casual. Could not find anything suitable elsewhere in shops or online. Good fit, appears well made"
Review 20 for Soft-top Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
happy son,
28 February 2014
By: bonroe
from memphis, tn
"This was a gift for my son, who has wanted this jacket for quite some time. He loves it, it fits great, looks great on him, and we're all happy. He hasn't had it long enough to comment on how it holds up; we are expecting it to last a long time. I thought it was a bit pricey for a lightweight piece; it was definitely a splurge. But it is well-made and has a classy look. Package was received just a few days after ordering."