Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Lightweight Highland Tweed Sport Coat

The approach to creating our signature Highland Tweed was simple: Create a versatile fabric with a timeless color palette that fends off autumn and winter chills without feeling heavy on the shoulders. Woven by a small, family-owned tweed weaver in Scotland, Orvis Highland Tweed delivers on these criteria—try on one of these sport coats and you'll immediately agree. The patterns and colors are traditional in style yet quintessentially American, pairing handsomely with everything from cords and a wool sweater to your favorite Oxford and well-worn jeans. You'll also notice that it's significantly lighter than tweeds you may have worn in the past, yet the warmth it offers is comparable, if not better. The easy-to-wear three-button, single-vented style features two flap-over patch pockets on the outside and five interior pockets: one on the inside right chest with zipper closure for security, a left interior chest pocket with a button flap, two lower interior button flapped pockets, and a convenient interior pen pocket. Fully lined with an invisible, built-in bi-swing, which eliminates binding when sitting or reaching. Pure wool tweed. Dry clean. Imported.Regular sizes 38-48. About 31⅝" long in size 44 regular. Long sizes 40-48. 1½" longer in body, ½" longer in sleeve.
Average Customer Rating:
4.322 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (59 reviews)
5 stars
38
4 stars
10
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
3
50 of 59(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lightweight Highland Tweed Sport Coat
Review 1 for Lightweight Highland Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
At Last! Comfortable Tweed,
10 October 2014
By: TheGC
from East Lansing, Michigan
"This jacket is the high quality we expect from Orvis. Many useful interior pockets and a classic 3 button design. Unlike most tweeds, this is lighter weight and very comfortable."
Review 2 for Lightweight Highland Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good value,
06 October 2014
By: 4docs
from Minnesota
"Comfortable fit and great look but a bit heavier than expected. Great tailoring and detail. Good value."
Review 3 for Lightweight Highland Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
just as advertised,
03 October 2014
By: exnarc
from Sandpoint, Idaho
"This jacket is very well made of solid material. I expect it to be very useful in our cooler temps and will wear it often."
Review 4 for Lightweight Highland Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic Sport Coat!,
22 September 2014
By: Mac55
from Grafton, MA
"I love this sport coat! It fits well, is lightweight but warm, and the bi-swing back makes it very comfortable. What a wonderful alternative to the heavier, stiffer tweed variety!"
Review 5 for Lightweight Highland Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Solid Tweed Jacket,
19 June 2014
By: troutnerd
from Monterey, CA
"I purchased this jacket as a heavier sport coat to wear to work or around town. I wanted something with the classic rough tweed look and durability.
When it arrived it was just that. I am a leaner guy so the jacket fit my shoulders well and big in the mid section. It also has a classic cut with lower arm holes and square shoulders. With that said, if you are looking for a designer tweed jacket this isn't gonna be it. But after a trip to the tailor the jacket fit great.
The jacket also has a decent thickness to it. I would say it is somewhere between your standard blazer and overcoat. Making this jacket a go to during cool weather. Overall the construction was very well done I expect this jacket to last me for years."
Review 6 for Lightweight Highland Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Putrchase,
09 May 2014
By: sailorTom
from eastern shore Ct
"Friends like it as soon as they dsee me. Warm enough for dearly Spring without a topcoat. Looks like will wear well and not be a bother with easy staiining, Fits well ( true size as ordered).."
Review 7 for Lightweight Highland Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Purchase,
12 March 2014
By: ThomasNM
from New Mexico
"Recieved the Highland Tweed Sport Jacket as a gift in dark brown. The fit, color, and quality of the tweed was better than expected. I liked the jacket so much I ordered a 2nd one (gray/blue) to complete my wardrobe. Becare when ordering as the sholders are roomy!"
Review 8 for Lightweight Highland Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great sport coat,
01 March 2014
By: toughlady
"my husband has this coat in another color but the blue-grey is perfect for his eyes. Very tweedy, well made, well appointed in lining and inner pockets.
True to size.
He loves it!
"
Review 9 for Lightweight Highland Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Sport Coat Needs Help,
28 February 2014
By: ColdinWisconsin
"Ordered this in a 46L for my husband. Sleeves were no longer than a regular length would have been--at best. He has had Orvis Harris Tweeds from 20 years ago. Wore like iron, great fabric. This fabric rough and scratchy in the extreme. Also covered with lint, threads and other miscellany. Now have paid for shipping 2 times for a coat that doesn't come close to being right. Disappointing."
Review 10 for Lightweight Highland Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Typical Orvis Fit,
24 February 2014
By: fordmgmt
"I try really hard to buy from Orvis because I like their styles, but the fit seems to be for more "portly" men. This particular jacket fits like a box, according to my wife. Quality is OK, but I didn't like the shoulder pads. Basically it's a Harris Tweed wannabe, but it falls short."
Review 11 for Lightweight Highland Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
warning,
19 February 2014
By: Amusa
from New York NY
"I got one of these tweed jackets two weeks ago. It is a fine garment but it is NOT a lightweight tweed as your catalog copy says it is. I weighed it
against a Harris Tweed I got from you 8 years ago and they weigh the same.
It is a shame you do not hyave a true lightweight tweed. It wd be invaluable in the Spring and Fall"
Review 12 for Lightweight Highland Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super Sport Jacket,
17 February 2014
By: judylynn
from Palo Alto, CA
"My husband is very particular about his sport jackets and he was very pleased with this jacket. The wool is first class and the jacket fit according to size. He is very happy with this purchase."
Review 13 for Lightweight Highland Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
ugh,
15 February 2014
By: Swack
"The coat is barely satisfactory. It is warm but baggy with too much space in the shoulders."
Review 14 for Lightweight Highland Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well made,
12 February 2014
By: knobgoose
from Lees Summit, MO
"The construction of the jacket was very good. Extra touches made to the entire jacket."
Review 15 for Lightweight Highland Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Sportscoat,
04 February 2014
By: Nilknarf
from Raleigh, NC
"Very attractive. Great quality, as with all Orvis products. It also meets my criteria for matching many different pieces of clothing and can be for dress or casual."
Review 16 for Lightweight Highland Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great classic,
18 January 2014
By: chvall
from Cherry Valley, NY
"When we were first married I gave my husband an Orvis tweed sport coat. It was one of his favorites- after several years it finally had to be retired. Imagine my surprise when I discovered 30 years later that Orvis still carried this beautiful classic coat. He was thrilled to get it as a Christmas present and I must say the cut of the coat is very flattering, the tweed is lovely and it is just the right weight. Nice to see that the Orvis quality standards have not changed. Now my sons want Orvis coats!"
Review 17 for Lightweight Highland Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
well made as descibed,
16 January 2014
By: jhzup1
from houston tx.
"despite slower than expected and paid for delivery. the Tweed sport coat was as advertised well made . tailoring is required but was expected."
Review 18 for Lightweight Highland Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
fit and feel,
15 January 2014
By: tim3
from Pittsburgh,PA
"The fit and feel of the coat just not as good as I would have expected - not soft - harsh and scratchy"
Review 19 for Lightweight Highland Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Handsome Jacket,
15 January 2014
By: CandySay
from Limerick PA
"I was somewhat disappointed with the overall quality of tailoring and
fabric with this jacket. It is a tweed and I guess I expected more of the softer Harris Tweed. It just doesn't hang right. For the price I really expected more.
"
Review 20 for Lightweight Highland Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country Gentleman,
05 January 2014
By: Tozl
"Nice wool for better than casual, classic great looks, but never dated. Well-made."