Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Lightweight Highland Tweed Sport Coat

The approach to creating our signature Highland Tweed was simple: Create a versatile fabric with a timeless color palette that fends off autumn and winter chills without feeling heavy on the shoulders. Woven by a small, family-owned tweed weaver in Scotland, Orvis Highland Tweed delivers on these criteria—try on one of these sport coats and you'll immediately agree. The patterns and colors are traditional in style yet quintessentially American, pairing handsomely with everything from cords and a wool sweater to your favorite Oxford and well-worn jeans. You'll also notice that it's significantly lighter than tweeds you may have worn in the past, yet the warmth it offers is comparable, if not better. The easy-to-wear three-button, single-vented style features two flap-over patch pockets on the outside and five interior pockets: one on the inside right chest with zipper closure for security, a left interior chest pocket with a button flap, two lower interior button flapped pockets, and a convenient interior pen pocket. Fully lined with an invisible, built-in bi-swing, which eliminates binding when sitting or reaching. Pure wool tweed. Dry clean. Imported.Regular sizes 38-48. About 31⅝" long in size 44 regular. Long sizes 40-48. 1½" longer in body, ½" longer in sleeve.
Average Customer Rating:
4.314 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (70 reviews)
5 stars
44
4 stars
14
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
4
60 of 70(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lightweight Highland Tweed Sport Coat
Review 1 for Lightweight Highland Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good quality sport coat,
03 December 2014
By: DBS57
from Austin, TX
"The tweed pattern is a subtle blue/gray and looks good with dress slacks, as well as jeans. The description says "lightweight," but we here in Texas consider it at least mid weight, if not more. Lining is very comfortable, seams well finished. Expect it to wear for a good many years"
Review 2 for Lightweight Highland Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Itchy,
24 November 2014
By: richap
from Boston, MA
"Call me a rookie - but I've never owned a tweed jacket. I bought this tweed sport coat from the website without feeling the fabric. It's REALLY itchy. If that doesn't bother you, it's a great sport coat."
Review 3 for Lightweight Highland Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Tweed Sport Coat for Fall/Winter,
24 November 2014
By: Pietro2013
from Alexandria, VA
"I have always wanted a great looking English Tweed Jacket for Fall/Winter use. A coat that can be worn up or down. Orvis delivered. I was a little dispappointed that I could not see at the store and was a little apprehensive about ordering online. Jacket came within a few days. Construction superb and as expected. Only negative was a little tight at the armpit, but that is due to the material. Otherwise a fantastic jacket. I am a 42 Reg and no alterations needed."
Review 4 for Lightweight Highland Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very pleased,
10 November 2014
By: StewXX55Y
from Pennsylvania
"This tweed jacket fit me perfectly with no need for alterations. I take a long size and this is a true long. The dark brown is a nice tic weave with muted lines of color woven into the pattern. I was pleasantly surprised and would not hesitate to order a second jacket in this group."
Review 5 for Lightweight Highland Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice jacket,
10 November 2014
By: klunk
from Richmond VA
"Nice looking jacket. Had the sides taken in slightly but overall a good fit. Material was a little heavier than I was expecting but it will be great in the fall/winter. Already had several compliments on it. Happy I bought it."
Review 6 for Lightweight Highland Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice jacket but not very "lightweight",
05 November 2014
By: bburke4371
from Massachusetts
"The jacket is high quality and attractive. I am an off the rack 42 Reg and it fit me fine. The tweed is fairly substantial, I think the lightweight descriptions not very apt, but doesn't take away from the fact that it is a solid, good looking well made sport coat for Fall in New England. The buttoned and zipper interior pockets are a nice plus."
Review 7 for Lightweight Highland Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Satisfaction to the Nth Degree,
05 November 2014
By: DuckyTNUH
from Georgia
"I was excited when I opened the package and saw the tweed jacket. It was a good-looking jacket! But when I tried it on, what a perfect fit and feel! I love the color and texture. The jacket is so well made with many useful pockets. I couldn't be more pleased as I usually am with Orvis products. Besides the impeccable quality of the jacket, I was impressed with the packaging that brought the jacket to me ready to wear! I have absolutely NO negative remarks."
Review 8 for Lightweight Highland Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great winter jacket,
03 November 2014
By: Gordon1
from Bellevue, WA
"The lightweight highland tweed sport coat isn't as light as I expected, but will keep me toasty warm on chilly winter days. It is attractive, has lots of handy pockets and looks/feels like it will wear forever."
Review 9 for Lightweight Highland Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great coat,
21 October 2014
By: VirgilCalhoun
from SC
"The fit is perfect, I'm a 46/48 jacket and I order the 46. I'll use it for a light jacket/coat for fall and through the winter in SC. Inside pockets are perfect. Highly recommend."
Review 10 for Lightweight Highland Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Look at a Good Value,
21 October 2014
By: Reynard
from Potomac, MD
"The jacket is well cut and fit with a minor alteration to shorten sleeve length. Unlike most Harris Tweed wools, this woven-in-Scotland material is lighter weight. Color is rich looking. Guaranteed to make you look like a Scottish lord of the manor. Works well with jeans of khakis or more formal trousers."
Review 11 for Lightweight Highland Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent jacket,
21 October 2014
By: Denys1471
"I am very satisfied with the style, workmanship, weight and cut of this tweed jacket; it may be the best product that I have bought from Orvis, and I have bought many."
Review 12 for Lightweight Highland Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
At Last! Comfortable Tweed,
10 October 2014
By: TheGC
from East Lansing, Michigan
"This jacket is the high quality we expect from Orvis. Many useful interior pockets and a classic 3 button design. Unlike most tweeds, this is lighter weight and very comfortable."
Review 13 for Lightweight Highland Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good value,
06 October 2014
By: 4docs
from Minnesota
"Comfortable fit and great look but a bit heavier than expected. Great tailoring and detail. Good value."
Review 14 for Lightweight Highland Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
just as advertised,
03 October 2014
By: exnarc
from Sandpoint, Idaho
"This jacket is very well made of solid material. I expect it to be very useful in our cooler temps and will wear it often."
Review 15 for Lightweight Highland Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic Sport Coat!,
22 September 2014
By: Mac55
from Grafton, MA
"I love this sport coat! It fits well, is lightweight but warm, and the bi-swing back makes it very comfortable. What a wonderful alternative to the heavier, stiffer tweed variety!"
Review 16 for Lightweight Highland Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Solid Tweed Jacket,
19 June 2014
By: troutnerd
from Monterey, CA
"I purchased this jacket as a heavier sport coat to wear to work or around town. I wanted something with the classic rough tweed look and durability.
When it arrived it was just that. I am a leaner guy so the jacket fit my shoulders well and big in the mid section. It also has a classic cut with lower arm holes and square shoulders. With that said, if you are looking for a designer tweed jacket this isn't gonna be it. But after a trip to the tailor the jacket fit great.
The jacket also has a decent thickness to it. I would say it is somewhere between your standard blazer and overcoat. Making this jacket a go to during cool weather. Overall the construction was very well done I expect this jacket to last me for years."
Review 17 for Lightweight Highland Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Putrchase,
09 May 2014
By: sailorTom
from eastern shore Ct
"Friends like it as soon as they dsee me. Warm enough for dearly Spring without a topcoat. Looks like will wear well and not be a bother with easy staiining, Fits well ( true size as ordered).."
Review 18 for Lightweight Highland Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Purchase,
12 March 2014
By: ThomasNM
from New Mexico
"Recieved the Highland Tweed Sport Jacket as a gift in dark brown. The fit, color, and quality of the tweed was better than expected. I liked the jacket so much I ordered a 2nd one (gray/blue) to complete my wardrobe. Becare when ordering as the sholders are roomy!"
Review 19 for Lightweight Highland Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great sport coat,
01 March 2014
By: toughlady
"my husband has this coat in another color but the blue-grey is perfect for his eyes. Very tweedy, well made, well appointed in lining and inner pockets.
True to size.
He loves it!
"
Review 20 for Lightweight Highland Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Sport Coat Needs Help,
28 February 2014
By: ColdinWisconsin
"Ordered this in a 46L for my husband. Sleeves were no longer than a regular length would have been--at best. He has had Orvis Harris Tweeds from 20 years ago. Wore like iron, great fabric. This fabric rough and scratchy in the extreme. Also covered with lint, threads and other miscellany. Now have paid for shipping 2 times for a coat that doesn't come close to being right. Disappointing."