Orvis Ratings and Reviews

ToughChew® Deep Dish Dog Bed

Rebuilt and tougher than ever. Our new ToughChew® fabric is crafted with a 1,000-denier ripstop nylon, which is finished with luxuriously soft microfiber. Zippers are solid brass for added strength and durability. Like our original Deep Dish Dog Bed, it sports a handsome, streamlined shape that looks great in any home. ToughChew chew-resistant dog beds feature double-layer construction that stands up to even the most persistent chewers. If your dog can chew through one of these durable dog beds, we'll refund your money. No questions asked. Spun-polyester fill. Dog bed cover is removable and washable. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
3 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
4
6 of 12(50%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ToughChew® Deep Dish Dog Bed
Review 1 for ToughChew® Deep Dish Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great bed!,
13 December 2013
By: GoldendoodleCT
from CT
"My mom got this bed for my mini goldendoodle puppy for Christmas last year after she had ripped apart a $200 bed from another company in minutes. While this bed is expensive, it is great! She loves it and and has not ripped it apart or chewed through it despite being an expert in ripping stuffing out of things. The cover has worn down a bit in places where she has chewed, so it looks like there are a few white spots, but I'm so thankful that my mom got her this bed because it is durable and she seems to find it comfortable!"
Review 2 for ToughChew® Deep Dish Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Less than 24 hrs - chewed,
01 December 2013
By: DCardelli
from South Florida
"Same as others...we have two cock-a-poo chewers...
One night...corner chewed."
Review 3 for ToughChew® Deep Dish Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not worth it,
22 November 2013
By: reeltxn
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"Our red healer bit a hole in the bed in less than 10 minutes the first time he was on it"
Review 4 for ToughChew® Deep Dish Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Great warranty, not so great product,
20 August 2013
By: Kim13
from Tinley Park, IL
"We are expecting a puppy and got this bed in anticipation of the chewing.
The picture makes the bed look much more cushion-y and comfortable than it is. Its really stiff and feels like no pillow in there. Very uncomfortable compared to other Orvis dog beds.
However we decided to keep it because of the warranty to return if the dog destroys it. Great warranty, not so great product"
Review 5 for ToughChew® Deep Dish Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Tough chew ain't tough enough,
10 August 2013
By: gaeilge
from Stuttgart, Germany
"After having my previous Orvis bed end up in pieces of foam and fabric I decided to try the Tough Chew. It is a nice bed, but My Shepherds Orfilia and Ofira had them apart in about a minute. They are professional chewers and the tough chew did not stand up to it. I am otherwise very satisfied with other Orvis products."
Review 6 for ToughChew® Deep Dish Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
awesome,
04 August 2013
By: ktenglish1
"Buy this bed...I am writing this review after owning this bed for over a year. Its tough as nails, easy to assemble and disassemble and has bulletproof zippers. Still looks like new out of washer. I will definitely buy another, however I am sure I wont need one for years."
Review 7 for ToughChew® Deep Dish Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome dog bed,
23 July 2013
By: GreyhoundDude
from Aldie, VA
"This bed is superb. Both greyhounds had chewed up the previous two beds but when I got these it all stopped. They are so well made and functional. The dogs love them. They even tend to sleep in the bed that has their name on it! How do they know? Well worth the price and really easy to clean."
Review 8 for ToughChew® Deep Dish Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Lasted 5 days,
09 July 2013
By: JasmineAbby
from Troy NY
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"Purchased this bed on 7/4/13. Today after 5 days it is going back. I must say though that our 19 lb terrier mix is a terrible chewer. She destroyed our couch and a lot more. The seam must have been the weak area because she did try to scratch through the seat but was unable to. Maybe if the seam was done differently she wouldn't have been able to chew through. But for us it was nice while it lasted."
Review 9 for ToughChew® Deep Dish Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
not so tough chew,
16 March 2013
By: ochomama
from Richmond, VA
"My dog chewed through this bed in less than 24 hrs. I am sending it back right away."
Review 10 for ToughChew® Deep Dish Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
So Far So Good...,
05 February 2013
By: KenzieCO
"Great looking bed and so far my dog seems to be enjoying it. It's only been a week, but my dog who has chewed every other bed I've ever bought, has not tried to chew this one yet...
I never spend this much on a dog bed, however the guarantee of a full refund if my dog chewed through it (Orvis customer service told me they would send a new bed if she chewed through it once and if she chewed through it twice they would refund my money), convinced me to give it a try. And I figured in the long run I was spending this much or more by replacing her chewed through beds every year.
My only two "complaints" would be I felt it needed more filling in the bed and the size. Orvis did tell me they would send additional filling though at no charge! I originally ordered the Medium size bed for my 55lb mixed breed dog. It was big enough for her to curl up on, but not to stretch out (which of course she sleeps in various positions!). So I exchanged it for the Large, which is HUGE...wish there was a size in between! But the Large will work, just had to make room for it!"
Review 11 for ToughChew® Deep Dish Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very good but could be better,
04 December 2012
By: Charliesmama
"I bought this dog bed for my 20 pound dog. He took to it immediately. He loves it. Still, the bed could be better. The thick ribbing on the arms (bolster) prevents the arms from being comfortably used as pillows, which my dog wants to do. Also, the arms don't bend down enough to enable them to be used as pillows. Making the arms from a softer material without ribbing would be perfect. Also, I initially bought the small bed for my dog and ended up exchanging for the medium. (The exchange went smoothly) I recommend choosing a size based on length of your dog, not just weight. My dog is only 20 pounds, but he is long and benefits from the longer length of the medium which enables him to stretch out. I would highly recommend this bed to others because despite the couple of flaws I mentioned, my dog really, really, really loves the bed."
Review 12 for ToughChew® Deep Dish Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Bed Ever!,
13 November 2012
By: CPA9357
from Springville, Alabama
"We have 3 dogs-2 German Shepherds and 1 Mutt. They have chewed up EVERYTHING-from sheet rock on the walls to window sills to the car bumper. However, they have not chewed up the ORVIS ToughChew DeepDish Dog Bed. Though pricey, we have probably spent at least this much on the foam rubber beds from the pet supply store locally. These beds end up shred on the front yard within hours, so definitely the Tough Chew was right for our dogs."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.