Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater

Inspired by the sweaters once issued to Royal Air Force aircrew members, this men's rollneck pullover sweater offers classic looks that pair handsomely with khakis or—in the civilian world—jeans. Softer and warmer than the original issue, this sweater's jersey-knit lambswool ensures itch-free comfort. Rib-knit cuffs and neck. Men's roll-neck sweater in natural. Pure lambswool. Washable. Imported.Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.641 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (64 reviews)
5 stars
51
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
1
60 of 64(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater
Review 1 for Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GRrrrrreat !,
08 April 2014
By: shortbreadus
from Michigan
"Great fit.Excellent workmanship.A real joy to wear."
Review 2 for Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Unique Sweater,
21 March 2014
By: JJOHNSON43
from Raleigh, NC
"Love everything about this sweater. Quality stitching, unique style, warm and comfortable. Worth the price. I'm 5'9", 180 lbs, medium fits great."
Review 3 for Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Nice Jumper with a Great Heritage,
17 March 2014
By: Aircrew
"I finally picked one of these up and I have to say its a really nice jumper. The colour is not pure white and the neck is bulky but that is actually in keeping with its RAF heritage. Twinned with a leather jacket or peacoat looks really cool for that military styled look (throw in some aviator shades for goot measure). A great item to keep you warm in the winter months.
Look forward to wearing in in my Spit!
"
Review 4 for Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Chicago winter sweater,
18 February 2014
By: 60TR
from chicago
"Great product for Chicago winters. Even though it is not cashmere it is very soft and non itchy. Sizing was a bit of a compromise however; the XL seemed huge and the Large was significantly smaller and a little snug. Typically Orvis products have less distinction between sizes so that accurate fitting is possible"
Review 5 for Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warm & Fuzzy,
17 February 2014
By: Pooka12345
"Warm, comfortable, neat looking, fit is perfect, usual Orvis high quality."
Review 6 for Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice sweater,
13 February 2014
By: lorscot
"Nice sweater, well made and cut for a wider frame. The only criticism is the turtle neck portion is extremely long and needs to be cuffed double to look normal. Warm and comfortable."
Review 7 for Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very nice sweater,
12 February 2014
By: Provenceman
from Colorado
"Sweater is very warm and comfortable. No need to wear anything except an undershirt under the sweater.
Goes great with a pair of jeans"
Review 8 for Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great sweater,
11 February 2014
By: ABXYZ
from Pinehurst, NC
"The sweater looks good, fits well and most importantly, is very warm!"
Review 9 for Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent product,
10 February 2014
By: archaicboy
"Nice wool, well woven and put together. Excellent fit. Precisely what I wanted. Have worn it as an outer layer in 20F and been comfortable."
Review 10 for Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The "Just Right" Turtleneck,
10 February 2014
By: GrizzlyBill
from Michigan
"This sweater is not only great looking, but extremely comfortable. Wool turtlenecks tend to be itchy to those of us with tender skin but this soft wool is comfortable yet holds its shape. A wonderful find."
Review 11 for Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just what I wanted...,
09 February 2014
By: DeeRay
from Satellite Beach, FL
"The quality is excellent as I expected from Orvis. As a 42 long, I selected the medium(38-40) instead of the large(42-44). It is a perfect fit to wear under a leather jacket. Noted from past purchases and reviews, Orvis sizes are a bit generous which I find is a plus. The ordering on line and by phone was easy, and pleasant with a very courteous customer service representative."
Review 12 for Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warm fantasy,
08 February 2014
By: Samskara
from Long Island NY
"Nice sweater -- suitable foir cold days and book jacket photographs. May be too heavy for indoor wear.
Sizing may be a matter of taste -- I found my regular size to be a bit large, but that may be a question of what you're wearing underneath (and whether you're trying to hide a waistline.)"
Review 13 for Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
winter wardrobe made easy,
07 February 2014
By: northcoaster
from Ohio
"This sweater goes perfectly with everything from jeans and boots to dress slacks and wingtips. Extraordinarily soft which is important to me in a turtleneck. Yet, seems it will wear very well. Quite possibly the nicest sweater I've ever owned."
Review 14 for Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great sweater,
06 February 2014
By: HistoryGuy
from Metairie, LA
"I purchased this sweater to replace one that was lost by the cleaner several years ago and it has supassed my expectations. The sweater is softer and warmer than the original and fits better too. I am 6" tall, wear a 40 sportcoat, and shirts with a 34-35 sleeve. This sweater fits with room to spare while not being too loose. Highly recommended."
Review 15 for Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Royal Aircrew Sweater,
06 February 2014
By: Art36
from Issaquah, WA
"The sweater is well made, very soft and is extremely good looking. I received it just in time for another round of cold weather."
Review 16 for Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product and fit,
04 February 2014
By: Rvflyer
"Just what I was looking for. Fit and finish great."
Review 17 for Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love it!,
04 February 2014
By: Winston5
from Wisconsin
"Love this sweater. It's like putting on excellence! Fits great...looks great! Perfect for cold days!"
Review 18 for Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quest for Quality,
04 February 2014
By: LARRY35133
from BERGEN COUNTY, NJ
"mY BROTHER WAS A p-51 PILOT FLYING OUT OF eNGLAND IN WWII. I HAVE ALWAYS ADMIRED THE RAF PILOTS AND THEIR WEARING OF THE BOMBER SWEATERS. I FINALLY ORDERED MY ORVIS RAF BOMBER SWEATER. IT IS ALL THAT I WANTED AND EXPECTED. IT IS COMFORTABLE,MATCHES WELL WITH ALL TYPES OF TROUSERS,LOOKS GOOD AND IS OF THE HIGHEST QUALITY OF TEXTURE. THANK YOU ORVIS FOR FULFILLING A SECRET NEED IN MY LIFE!!!
LARRY
"
Review 19 for Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not as nice as it looks,
29 January 2014
By: Pablo4444
from PA
"Very disappointed with the fit and overall quality. Looks much better in catalog than in person. Sent it back."
Review 20 for Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
29 January 2014
By: Doboy
"Great product. So great in fact that I bought a second sweater and will put it away when/if this one wears out.
Wears well, great fit.
One point - I have read several posts regarding the neck bulk. This design is part of what makes this the iconic RAF sweater. It is entirely fitting for the neck to be as bulky as it is.
Love this product, my fav Orvis purchase to date."