Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Orvis Signature Madras Shirt

Sourced directly from Chennai, India (formerly Madras), the rich tonal plaids of our short-sleeve shirt are the real deal. Lightweight and cool, madras is known the world over for its ability to keep you cool when the temperatures soar. Button-down collar, patch pocket. Pure cotton. Washable. Imported.Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.786 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (42 reviews)
5 stars
34
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
41 of 42(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Orvis Signature Madras Shirt
Review 1 for Orvis Signature Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great shirt,
15 August 2014
By: Cash
from Austin, TX
"I've purchased every color of this shirt - outstanding quality and look. The L fits me great and I'm usually in an XL. Love the shirt."
Review 2 for Orvis Signature Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Soft and cool,
11 August 2014
By: Frederick3
from West Hartford, CT
"Can't beat Madras for the hot summer days. The fabric is soft and makes a hot day pleasant. A shirt you can wear to dinner out or go shopping in town. Buy two so you'll always be prepared!"
Review 3 for Orvis Signature Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Shirt!,
04 August 2014
By: Gordon1
from Bellevue, WA
"I'm wearing my wonderful Madras shirt as I write this. It is mercifully cool, supremently comfortable and very well made--as well as attractive. I would glady buy another in a different color, and maybe I will if this heat wave continues."
Review 4 for Orvis Signature Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fit and Excellent Quality,
03 August 2014
By: winkshouston
from Houston, TX
"This is a great shirt. My husband is 6'2" and 195 lbs and we were a bit concerned that the shirt may not be long enough for him. But the Large is a perfect fit and as long as Tall from other makers. The colors are somewhat brighter than shown on line but very pleasing. My husband loves them."
Review 5 for Orvis Signature Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Singnature Madras Shirt,
22 July 2014
By: Sammy408
from Staunton, VA
"Not your everyday run of the mill Madras Shirt. The plaid design is unique with the right blend of colors, so often in other retail stores you'll only fine huge plaid designs that looks more like a table cloth than a shirt. Orvis Madras shirts are known for color fastness and durability."
Review 6 for Orvis Signature Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another Signature success this year,
18 July 2014
By: MidwestTraveler
from the Heartland
"I knew I'd be traveling to New York this summer, so I asked my family for specified gifts from Orvis for my birthday. One of these specifics was the Orvis Signature madras shirt--it's always a knockout, and while I knew I couldn't make it sartorially as an urban sophisticate, I knew the color palette, pattern, fit, and weight would be perfect. This turned out to be true, and this shirt was perfect too for different locales around and about the Five Boroughs."
Review 7 for Orvis Signature Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Good Purchase,
16 July 2014
By: JSylla
"This is very comfortable and functional. I like collars that button down which aren't really easy to find."
Review 8 for Orvis Signature Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Fabric and Color,
15 July 2014
By: simmy
from California
"Thank You for making such a Maderas Shirt----great feel and nice color
D. Simmons, CA"
Review 9 for Orvis Signature Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just like the Madras of yesterday!,
15 July 2014
By: Cash
from Austin, TX
"Great shirt - cool and is very comfortable. I like it so much I bought two more. I used to love the madras shirts back in the 60's but have not seen them much in a long time. You will love this shirt."
Review 10 for Orvis Signature Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
neat with tan shorts,
15 July 2014
By: TJnanette
"I like my husband to look neat when he wears shorts. With this shirt, he looks like he could go anywhere."
Review 11 for Orvis Signature Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cool Madras,
15 July 2014
By: Toddlee
from Grand Rapids, Mi
"Looking for a gorgeous, well made, light weight, short sleeved shirt?
These Madras shirts are the bomb!
Awesome colors and light weight textures that fade beautifully over time...
I have them in every color and variation! I only hope Orvis will come up with more stunning colors and shades...
Perfect for the hot Midwestern summers and lake living!
"
Review 12 for Orvis Signature Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
beautiful madras,
10 July 2014
By: Doctorjohn
from N. C.
"I know that "beauty is in the eye of the beholder", but maybe not. The first time I wore this shirt, several ladies complimented me on the shirt, saying how beautiful the colors are. Since I'm a single guy, that was welcome news. Add to that the facts that the shirt fits perfectly and is cool to wear in our NC hot weather this summer, I'm sure I'll enjoy this shirt for many seasons to come."
Review 13 for Orvis Signature Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding Madras,
30 June 2014
By: Cash
from Austin, TX
"Just like the Madras shirts I use to buy in the 60's. Cool, comfortable and great looking. I will buy each color this summer!"
Review 14 for Orvis Signature Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
nice material,
26 June 2014
By: Raoul88
"soft and cool. very long shirt tails, so plan to tuck in."
Review 15 for Orvis Signature Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
One of the best things I've purched at Orvis,
20 June 2014
By: Maddiesue
"I purched the madris shirt and braided navy blue belt for Father's Day for my husband and he loves it ..... We were with relatives and they all wanted to know where he got the shirt ! It washes beautifully also . I'm never disappointed when I buy anything from Orvis !"
Review 16 for Orvis Signature Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great shirt,
16 June 2014
By: Dovleco
from Seattle, WA
"My husband is very happy with this shirt; very light and great for summer hot days. The reason this product doesn't get five star is because the shirt is not wrinkle free."
Review 17 for Orvis Signature Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Newest Orvis Favorite,
13 June 2014
By: Classical04
from AL
"Wonderful summer plaid; and once again, typical of the quality we've come to know from Orvis !"
Review 18 for Orvis Signature Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just what I wanted,
12 June 2014
By: Buva
from Birmingham, AL
"I love the madras shirts. From the moment I saw them online, I knew that I would purchase some...and I did. I love the look of the shirts and have received numerous compliments. Thanks Orvis, I look better now!"
Review 19 for Orvis Signature Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good shirt,
06 June 2014
By: SonomaB
"Full cut, very well sewn, easy on the eyes. Lots of comments."
Review 20 for Orvis Signature Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good For Summer,
05 June 2014
By: preach
from Columbus, IN
"I like the shirt-light weight, great for warm weather. Sleeves just a tad shorter than I like, but okay. Colors match khakis and jeans. I like that!"