Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Orvis Signature Madras Shirt

Sourced directly from Chennai, India (formerly Madras), the rich tonal plaids of our short-sleeve shirt are the real deal. Lightweight and cool, madras is known the world over for its ability to keep you cool when the temperatures soar. Button-down collar, patch pocket. Pure cotton. Washable. Imported.Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.804 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (46 reviews)
5 stars
38
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
45 of 46(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Orvis Signature Madras Shirt
Review 1 for Orvis Signature Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Looks Great, Fits Well,
08 September 2014
By: Olivasayana
from Rice, Virginia
"Here is another quality and attractive article of clothing from Orvis. The fit and tailoring are very good, and the colors and patterns are vivid and tasteful. The shirt smelled a little weird out of the package, but that may have come from the dyes. It is fine now."
Review 2 for Orvis Signature Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Quality,
25 August 2014
By: BRshopper
from Hampton, NJ
"I've been searching for a new madras shirt for my husband for a while now. He loves this one. The fit is great. He likes it so much that he asked me to get another one in a different madras."
Review 3 for Orvis Signature Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Seriously nice shirt,
25 August 2014
By: TheAdmiral
"These madras shirts are light and comfortable in the heat. As a bonus they come in nice colors and look great with khakis and jeans."
Review 4 for Orvis Signature Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect summer shirt,
20 August 2014
By: sararuby
from New England
"An ideal choice for warm summer days. Can go from backyard picnics to outdoor band concerts to casual church services."
Review 5 for Orvis Signature Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great shirt,
15 August 2014
By: Cash
from Austin, TX
"I've purchased every color of this shirt - outstanding quality and look. The L fits me great and I'm usually in an XL. Love the shirt."
Review 6 for Orvis Signature Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Soft and cool,
11 August 2014
By: Frederick3
from West Hartford, CT
"Can't beat Madras for the hot summer days. The fabric is soft and makes a hot day pleasant. A shirt you can wear to dinner out or go shopping in town. Buy two so you'll always be prepared!"
Review 7 for Orvis Signature Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Shirt!,
04 August 2014
By: Gordon1
from Bellevue, WA
"I'm wearing my wonderful Madras shirt as I write this. It is mercifully cool, supremently comfortable and very well made--as well as attractive. I would glady buy another in a different color, and maybe I will if this heat wave continues."
Review 8 for Orvis Signature Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fit and Excellent Quality,
03 August 2014
By: winkshouston
from Houston, TX
"This is a great shirt. My husband is 6'2" and 195 lbs and we were a bit concerned that the shirt may not be long enough for him. But the Large is a perfect fit and as long as Tall from other makers. The colors are somewhat brighter than shown on line but very pleasing. My husband loves them."
Review 9 for Orvis Signature Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Singnature Madras Shirt,
22 July 2014
By: Sammy408
from Staunton, VA
"Not your everyday run of the mill Madras Shirt. The plaid design is unique with the right blend of colors, so often in other retail stores you'll only fine huge plaid designs that looks more like a table cloth than a shirt. Orvis Madras shirts are known for color fastness and durability."
Review 10 for Orvis Signature Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another Signature success this year,
18 July 2014
By: MidwestTraveler
from the Heartland
"I knew I'd be traveling to New York this summer, so I asked my family for specified gifts from Orvis for my birthday. One of these specifics was the Orvis Signature madras shirt--it's always a knockout, and while I knew I couldn't make it sartorially as an urban sophisticate, I knew the color palette, pattern, fit, and weight would be perfect. This turned out to be true, and this shirt was perfect too for different locales around and about the Five Boroughs."
Review 11 for Orvis Signature Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Good Purchase,
16 July 2014
By: JSylla
"This is very comfortable and functional. I like collars that button down which aren't really easy to find."
Review 12 for Orvis Signature Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Fabric and Color,
15 July 2014
By: simmy
from California
"Thank You for making such a Maderas Shirt----great feel and nice color
D. Simmons, CA"
Review 13 for Orvis Signature Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just like the Madras of yesterday!,
15 July 2014
By: Cash
from Austin, TX
"Great shirt - cool and is very comfortable. I like it so much I bought two more. I used to love the madras shirts back in the 60's but have not seen them much in a long time. You will love this shirt."
Review 14 for Orvis Signature Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
neat with tan shorts,
15 July 2014
By: TJnanette
"I like my husband to look neat when he wears shorts. With this shirt, he looks like he could go anywhere."
Review 15 for Orvis Signature Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cool Madras,
15 July 2014
By: Toddlee
from Grand Rapids, Mi
"Looking for a gorgeous, well made, light weight, short sleeved shirt?
These Madras shirts are the bomb!
Awesome colors and light weight textures that fade beautifully over time...
I have them in every color and variation! I only hope Orvis will come up with more stunning colors and shades...
Perfect for the hot Midwestern summers and lake living!
"
Review 16 for Orvis Signature Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
beautiful madras,
10 July 2014
By: Doctorjohn
from N. C.
"I know that "beauty is in the eye of the beholder", but maybe not. The first time I wore this shirt, several ladies complimented me on the shirt, saying how beautiful the colors are. Since I'm a single guy, that was welcome news. Add to that the facts that the shirt fits perfectly and is cool to wear in our NC hot weather this summer, I'm sure I'll enjoy this shirt for many seasons to come."
Review 17 for Orvis Signature Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding Madras,
30 June 2014
By: Cash
from Austin, TX
"Just like the Madras shirts I use to buy in the 60's. Cool, comfortable and great looking. I will buy each color this summer!"
Review 18 for Orvis Signature Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
nice material,
26 June 2014
By: Raoul88
"soft and cool. very long shirt tails, so plan to tuck in."
Review 19 for Orvis Signature Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
One of the best things I've purched at Orvis,
20 June 2014
By: Maddiesue
"I purched the madris shirt and braided navy blue belt for Father's Day for my husband and he loves it ..... We were with relatives and they all wanted to know where he got the shirt ! It washes beautifully also . I'm never disappointed when I buy anything from Orvis !"
Review 20 for Orvis Signature Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great shirt,
16 June 2014
By: Dovleco
from Seattle, WA
"My husband is very happy with this shirt; very light and great for summer hot days. The reason this product doesn't get five star is because the shirt is not wrinkle free."