Orvis Ratings and Reviews

ToughChew® Futon Dog Bed

Our popular Futon Dog Bed is now available in our legendary, improved ToughChew® material—crafted with an outer layer engineered in a full ripstop weave from 1,000-denier nylon. Like the original Futon, the ToughChew Futon Dog Bed incorporates an internal chamber system that eliminates clumping or shifting of the polyester fill as your dog settles in. ToughChew chew-resistant dog beds feature double-layer construction that stands up to even the most persistent chewers. If your dog can chew through one of these durable dog beds, we'll refund your money. No questions asked. Dual zippers allow for fast and easy reassembly after washing. Washable. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
2.778 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
4
4 of 9(44%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ToughChew® Futon Dog Bed
Review 1 for ToughChew® Futon Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ripped up,
18 February 2014
By: Tloon
from Massachusetts
"My one year old Golden Retreiver tore the zippers out of this bed first, then destroyed the fabric and insides. The bed sure looks well built. I bought a second different Tough Chew model and he destroyed that also. Both times, Orvis gave me credit back, no questions asked. Can't beat that service."
Review 2 for ToughChew® Futon Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
A disappointment....,
21 January 2014
By: kelly1930
from Winston-Salem, NC
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Smash (our lab mix) is rarely left in his crate for very long, but he quickly figured out that the ZIPPER WEBBING is the ticket into the innards of this bed. He nibbled right through it, then through the mattress cover and on to the stuffing.
Too bad since this is a good looking crate pad and easy to wash and deal with because of the double zippers."
Review 3 for ToughChew® Futon Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sold on customer Sevice,
16 December 2013
By: RanRich
from BR,LA
"Well, I have to say, I was sold on customer service AND this bed. I went back and forth, then got on the "online chat" feature with Wayne R. Wayne walked me through the different types of beds, particularly the "ToughChew" variety for my new lab pup. He explained the "ToughChew Garauntee" and had me comfortable and confident in my purchase. To top it all off, I informed Wayne I was making 2 Orvis purchases that day with two coupons I had received. Wayne finishes by going above and beyond by waiving the shipping charge on one of my orders.
Couldn't be happier with my Orvis online shopping experience and products!
"
Review 4 for ToughChew® Futon Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Bed,
13 October 2013
By: Acusam
"Bought two XL's for our Ridgebacks and they LOVE these beds. Only thing is that they can get stinky from the dogs. No problem! Easy to wash the outer futon cover. But the odor stays in the baffle. Please provide replacement baffles/bolsters for this bed....dog beds have simply gotten too expensive to keep replacing every year. Thanks!
p.s. NOT a bed for "chewer dogs"
"
Review 5 for ToughChew® Futon Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not as resistant as I though,
20 April 2013
By: Rodrigues
from Ocala, Fl
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I've been having problems with my dog destroying every single bed that she had in the crate. Then I saw this bed that said all these nice things, so I got excited and bought it. It's a little bit pricy but compared to what i spent buying the other beds that she destroyed, I thought why not/!?!?
The bed is really comfortable and looks really nice, but i left my dog for 2 hours in the crate and she made a huge hole. That made me wonder if i had left longer in what would it happen. It hold up pretty good to be honest compare to the other beds but still wasnt strong enough =( I was really hoping I had found the perfect bed =/
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for ToughChew® Futon Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
tough chew rocks,
08 April 2013
By: Riversidegirl
"I bought the tough chew bed because the size was perfect. We had wanted the couch like style but it was either too big or too small. This one works great. I have a black lab. He has chewed every single bed we have ever bought so I felt compelled to purchase this because of the guarantee. I was sure he'd destroy it. Not true. He has not even tried to eat it. It is totally worth it. He has not attempted to chew it. A miracle!!!!I don't usually do reviews either but this one I had to do because the product is so amazing! Really comfy too. Our dog loves his bed. Thanks Orvis!"
Review 7 for ToughChew® Futon Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
poor fabric,
29 March 2013
By: Anonymous
"DON'T buy this if your dog is a chewer!!! This is the cheapest fabric I have ever seen on a dog bed!!
We have been shopping Orvis for years because of their good quality. Our Malamute is a chewer and has gone through several beds over the past few months. We even had an older "tough chew" bed which tooke her several weeks to distroy.
We thought we would try the "new & improved" tough chew bed with the softer fabric.
It literally took her ONE HOUR to chew through both outer & inner covers!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for ToughChew® Futon Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not So Tough,
24 February 2013
By: DogsinMa
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I am so disappointed!! I have spent years looking for a durable, comfortable bed for my lab. I really felt this would be the one. At first, I was hopeful, because it's a beautiful bed, and the dog seemed to like it. However, within 10 days, she had torn off the label, and gotten to the innards through that hole. This one will also be returned. I give up!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for ToughChew® Futon Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Solution,
19 February 2013
By: buddiesbuddy
"Our new lab puppy had chewed through 4 dog beds. We recently purchased this dog bed and so far not one hole! A well thought out and well constructed dog bed. The zippers on both ends make it a breeze to take apart and put back together The baffles keep the stuffing perfectly distributed. The inserts have zippers so you can clean the liners. To top it off...It fits perfectly in a crate."