Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Futon Dog Bed with Polyester Fill

This Orvis-exclusive design redefines comfort for your dog. Crafted with a FleeceLock sleeping surface on top and microsuede on the bottom, this revolutionary Futon Dog Bed features spun-polyester-filled chambered liners inside, which provide a plush sleeping surface that won't shift or clump as your dog settles in. FleeceLock eliminates shedding - our fleece won't shed, pill, or pull. The cover incorporates zippers on both ends, making reassembling the bed after washing fast and easy. A great choice for a vehicle bed. Futon Dog Bed cover is removable and washable. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.3 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
0
16 of 20(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Futon Dog Bed with Polyester Fill
Review 1 for Futon Dog Bed with Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Dog loves/I don't,
28 June 2014
By: MollyS
"It is way too difficult to assemble after washing several times. Yes the two zippers are great, however, the inside tubes seem to become longer or the bed becomes shorter. I washed according to directions. I have to fold up the tubes to make them fit, however, my dog moves around and makes the tubes like a pillow. I have purchased two of these because dog likes and I like the size. However, too hard to work after washing"
Review 2 for Futon Dog Bed with Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Don't Give Up!,
17 June 2014
By: Xion793
from Nantucket, MA
"Our dog refused to get onto the bed in the beginning. We tried coaxing her to no avail. After a week, she decided to try it and now she LOVES it. Don't give up if your dog doesn't immediately take to it. It's a great bed."
Review 3 for Futon Dog Bed with Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Disappointing,
12 June 2014
By: houndlover2
from Essex UK
"Bought 2 futon beds for my dogs about 2 yrs ago. Having washed the covers a few times, after so much pulling and pushing , the fabric covers holding the filling are all stuck together with Sellotape and virtually falling apart. Whilst I can buy more filling, Orvis don't sell replacement filling covers. WHY?? This is silly on a bed that is so well made and expensive. Orvis take note!!"
Review 4 for Futon Dog Bed with Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My cat loves this!,
10 March 2014
By: ABCreviewer
from Vermont
"While Orvis has a cat bed, my cat is a 15 pound tom, and he likes to stretch out when he sleeps - he's one of those long "stretchy" cats. I purchased a small Futon dog bed for him, At first, he was a bit reluctant to get near it, since it didn't have his scent on it. What I did was put it at the foot of my bed. (He usually sleeps at the foot of my bed at night.) He slept on it the first night and now he loves it! Every time he crawls on it, he starts purring - loudly. Now he sleeps on it when it's on the floor.
I was also surprised by how well-made this bed was. This bed has really sturdy construction, and it was easy to get the cushions out of it, so it looks like washing it is going to be a breeze.
Highly recommended for larger cats!"
Review 5 for Futon Dog Bed with Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Happy Dog, Happy Life!,
23 November 2013
By: Risingfish
from NYC
"I shopped for a dog bed at the big box pet stores...nothing impressed me.
The Orvis Futon Dog Bed is great quality, easy to wash/dry&clean, and my dog loves sleeping in it... a best buy -- I now own two dog beds.
The medium size is perfect for my 60 pound dog. This bed also fits nicely on the back seat of my car when it is time to travel."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Futon Dog Bed with Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Our Dog Loves It,
22 October 2013
By: Annaspal
from Collierville, TN
"After 9 yrs. of an old increasingly threadbare bed, we decided it was time our Lab Anna had a nicer one for her senior years.
We tried the large FleeceLock Bolster bed but Anna didn't care much for having to step over the bolster, maybe because of her beginning arthritis issues. So we returned it for just the plain FleeceLock Futon in an XL size and she absolutely loves it. Cool side (fabric) for summer & warm side (fleece) for winter.
Plus, when she gets frisky playing with her toys and moving the bed all over the den, it's wonderful that the fill doesn't shift and no fleece sheds.
For us, an unexpected added benefit is the color. The fleece side of the Terracota is the exact color of Anna so her shed hair is not very noticeable at all.
Thank you Orvis for a great product that makes our Anna happy, looks great, is easy to care for and will obviously last for many years at a very reasonable price.
"
Review 7 for Futon Dog Bed with Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of washing,
15 October 2013
By: DebraG
from Clearwater, FL
"This is my second review of this product, but concerns over other reviews that discussed the difficulty of putting the bed back together, prompted me to write it. Orvis must have fixed this issue because it took me less than 2 minutes to put mine back together. Mine is a size large. I washed on a warm/warm cycle and dried on low. I opened both ends and just pulled each panel thru, with no difficulty."
Review 8 for Futon Dog Bed with Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Finally found the right bed,
29 September 2013
By: DebraG
from Clearwater, FL
"I have a golden retriever here in Florida, and she has spent half of her life lying on the cold tile floor, while her expensive bed sat empty. She was always hot, and even though she liked soft comfort, the beds with the snuggly enclosed sides weren't for her. With this bed, we don't use the fleece side and the other side almost gives an egg crate dynamic, allowing the air to circulate under her, keeping her cool, while still providing comfort. She is in it every night, and I find it to be an excellent bed for long haired dogs since I just run the vacuum over it when I do the floors."
Review 9 for Futon Dog Bed with Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Hard to maintain,
08 September 2013
By: Boulmer
from Norfolk
"Our mastiff dog loves this bed. It's really comfortable but it takes 2 of us to put the stuffing back in after washing & these fillers have now disintegrated."
Review 10 for Futon Dog Bed with Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great bed,
29 August 2013
By: DTexas
"My dog loves this bed and it is easy to take apart, wash, and put back together. We had the old version of this and the fleece shed all over but sounds like they have changed the material so hopefully this one will hold up better. This is a nice bed and it is easy to travel with."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Futon Dog Bed with Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality Product,
10 July 2013
By: PercivalPooch
from Stoke-on-Trent
"Both dogs Tasha and Henry loved their new beds. They jumped in their baskets and on to their futon beds and had a good long relaxing snooze. I consider the beds to be of excellent quality and durability. The zips on both ends of the beds allow for easy removal of the inner bed material for washing. The outer bed cover is easy to vacuum clean."
Review 12 for Futon Dog Bed with Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Hard to Re-Assemble,
10 July 2013
By: LoneMoose
from Houston, TX
"I have three Labs and one in particular just loves this bed. However you need superhuman strength to re stuff the four "sausages" after washing the zip off cover. It's gotten to the point where I dread cleaning it. It is well made and the cover seems very sturdy. I wish the folks at Orvis would actually test some of these products before bringing them to market and make them more user friendly for the consumer."
Review 13 for Futon Dog Bed with Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Near impossible to wash,
08 July 2013
By: LittleHelper
from Reading, UK
"While my dog loves the bed very much and is extremely comfy on it, I would not recommend this one at all.
I've just washed the cover, it is a really hard job to take the 4 rolls of filling out and an even harder job to get them back in. A lot of pulling and pushing is required.
I also have my doubts how long the fabric covering the filling rolls will last with all the pulling and shoving.
Overall disappointed on the maintenance side for the human, doggies is happy.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Futon Dog Bed with Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Great product - horrible design!,
22 May 2013
By: Actonite
"Pro's-Love the bed. Durable, price is great, comfortable, good quality.
Con's- the inner filling baffles are horizontal. You have to pull each one out of it's "encasement" to wash the bed/cover. Putting the baffles back into the bed is cumbersom and difficult. While both ends of the bed unzip, the baffles fit so snugly you cannot easily get them back and have to practically tear the baffles apart to pull them through the four chambers. I cannot imagine what the designers were thinking when they made this design. A HUGE drawback to an otherwise nice bed."
Review 15 for Futon Dog Bed with Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
An Instant Hit!,
23 February 2013
By: AmiableAnimals
from Salem, NY
"Just took this out of the box and put it down on the ground...it was an instant hit!"
Video Review:
Coolie Approved!
Review 16 for Futon Dog Bed with Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to wash & the dogs love it.,
18 February 2013
By: Amiable
"This is the best dog bed I have ever had in that it is actually washable in a home washing machine. The stuffing is inside in the form of tubes of stuffing, both ends of the cover unzip and that makes it really easy to remove and to replace the tube inserts. You can easily take them out and wash everything and then put them back, the bed is back to it's original shape. The dogs just love it, also! Great bed!"
Review 17 for Futon Dog Bed with Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So comfy after the snow,
06 February 2013
By: Vidic
from Manchester UK
"I have a border terrier who likes to lie stretched out like a flattened chicken. His donut shaped bed had been abandoned due to this - so many nights spent hanging out of it.
The quality, strength and feel of this product was exceptional and only surpassed by its style.
"
Review 18 for Futon Dog Bed with Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good choice,
04 February 2013
By: Dogsmum
"Bought this bed for my two miniature schnauzers when Orvis first brought it out and they have been using it for well over a year now. Unfortunately the original futon beds did not have fleecelock and one of my dogs has scratched large areas of fleece off so try to use it with the sueded side up now to stop her digging so much. Wish Orvis sold spare covers separately for these beds so one could be in the laundry while the other cover is in use. Other than that no complaints, dogs love the bed which is easy and light to transport from room to room if necessaryand think the zips at either end a very good idea for quick romoval of cover."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Futon Dog Bed with Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Salvo wanted to attack it!,
02 February 2013
By: CamilleIL
from Illinois
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"When I opened this, I was impressed with the quality and softness. I wanted a smaller lounger for when bony Sal sprawls out in my room (his XL Orvis Nest is a bit much to lug around the house!). He bared his teeth and lunged as if to bite it. I thought if I placed it near my bed, he may figure out it was a good versus evil entity. Same thing. I quickly reboxed it before he succeeded in attacking it. Perhaps it looked like a big squirrel? Anyhow, human gal loved it, greyhound dude did NOT. Maybe this is a ploy to get me to buy a second Nest for my room..."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Futon Dog Bed with Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best dog bed I've bought,
13 January 2013
By: Flapjack
from Farnham
"Excellent bed. So comfy can't get dogs off it. Even the children want one! Wish they did underneath colour in red. Going to bu another."