Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

LED Safety Collar Light

Waterproof, impact resistant, and visible up to 3 miles away, this is the light that Danish search-and-rescue teams rely on to keep their dogs visible in dark and dangerous conditions. The low-profile LED fastens anywhere on your dog's collar via a clip or hook-and-loop strap (both included), and can be switched on simply by rotating the lens. Steady and flashing modes. Waterproof to 330 feet. In red, amber, clear. 100,000-hour bulb, 250-hour battery life. Weighs less than 1 oz. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.706 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (160 reviews)
5 stars
131
4 stars
19
3 stars
6
2 stars
0
1 star
4
153 of 160(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for LED Safety Collar Light
Review 1 for LED Safety Collar Light
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
robust & bright,
26 January 2015
By: samchops
from westmidlands
"Excellent ,very robust after purchasing numerous other brands that proved to be just too flimsy.good level of light,I have two big dogs & the size is perfect.Good to have the choice of colours so dogs can be distingquished from a distance.would buy again"
Review 2 for LED Safety Collar Light
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing light,
14 January 2015
By: LizandLily
"This is by far the best light I have purchased for my dog. It rests very securely on the collar and is amazingly bright. My only complaint is that the light was on when it arrived in the post so I'm not sure how long the battery will last."
Review 3 for LED Safety Collar Light
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this product!!!!!,
09 January 2015
By: Kenice
from Walnut Creek, CA
"I have a black dog & walk her after dark so these lights make it possible for me to keep my eye on her. They are WONDERDUL!!!!"
Review 4 for LED Safety Collar Light
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very cool light!,
09 January 2015
By: MaggieGirl
from Pasadena, CA
"The flashing yellow light is really hard to miss. We don't walk much once it gets dark but that time between daylight and darkness is the perfect time to have this along..."
Review 5 for LED Safety Collar Light
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Jury still out,
09 January 2015
By: dgriffith
from Annapolis, MD
"Loved this as a replacement to previous brand light. It twists on and off and will just either blink or stay on solid when twisted on. It says waterproof to a certain depth but I haven't tested that out yet.
I thought all in all I'm good with its design but have only had it for a couple weeks. Well this morning it wouldn't turn on for my walk in the early morning. I had a flash light so figured the dog and I will be fine. When we got back to the house I took the collar it was on off and started messing with it b/c I wondered did the battery go that quickly. It then lit up but it was wet with some substance. I'm not sure where that substance came from so jury is out as I figure out what went wrong this morning. It is a simple design but unclear what that fluid is and did it somehow prevent the light from making the contact that turns it on. I will be a bit upset if it breaks so soon. The dog hasn't even worn it into the water yet and I don't leave it on the dog either. It stays on a collar that I just put on him when I want that safety light on him. Hoping it was some odd fluke so giving it 4 stars under that hope."
Review 6 for LED Safety Collar Light
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Just not what I thought it would be,
07 January 2015
By: JR41
from Pilesgrove, NJ
"I was led to believe from the advertizement that this device would securely fasten to any dog collar, when, in fact, it does not. The device, itself, clips together well enough but moves loosely along the collar--not what I wanted or expected."
Review 7 for LED Safety Collar Light
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ideal for morning runs with a water loving dog,
07 January 2015
By: LouLouBelle
"A well made, quality piece of kit. Excellent on early morning winter runs as it is very bright and I can always see where my dog is. I have attached it to his collar using the Velcro strapping for a really secure fastening and it is there whenever needed without the fuss of changing to a flashing collar. I haven't tested it in water yet, but as it is waterproof to 300m so there should be no problem if my dog fancies a dip or a large puddle! This was one of the main reasons for buying this particular product as none of the flashing dog collars are waterproof, and therefore useless for a Labrador!"
Review 8 for LED Safety Collar Light
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Purchase,
06 January 2015
By: doglover123
"Light attaches easily to the collar. Having this bright light makes it safer for me to walk my dog in the early evening."
Review 9 for LED Safety Collar Light
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
dog collar light,
02 January 2015
By: JKC3560
from dartford
"Brilliant I can see the dog now when she disappears in the bushesclips on very easy to collar and you can either have it flasing or still. Well pleased"
Review 10 for LED Safety Collar Light
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good quality,
02 January 2015
By: Hct123
from London
"Good quality have no issues works as described. Had similar from other suppliers didn't work as well."
Review 11 for LED Safety Collar Light
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Powerful Light,
02 January 2015
By: MatthewArnold
from NYC
"These lights are very bright (i have red, which people in the park have said is visible from a great distance away) and easy to use. Have only used them for seven mornings, so cannot tell about battery life. For dogs with a larger width collar( I have Labs), the light can be slipped on and off using only the plastic clasp of the light itself, though there is also a velcro strap that can be used."
Review 12 for LED Safety Collar Light
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent for nighttime walks,
01 January 2015
By: Ripley22
from Georgia
"This light is great for walks after dark, it lights up the sidewalk in front of us and makes my black dog much more noticeable to traffic."
Review 13 for LED Safety Collar Light
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great product,
01 January 2015
By: lovemypets
from Harvard, IL
"I have two black cocker spaniels and we often end the day with a walk at dusk or shortly after. We walk in the street as the sidewalks are intermittent and uneven. Since using the LED Collar Light the cars have slowed down when near us.. The light clips on very securely and I like the blinking option."
Review 14 for LED Safety Collar Light
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
30 December 2014
By: JanaLabradorLover
from Clive, Iowa
"These lights are bright! They are easy to turn on and off! We're very happy with our purchase!"
Review 15 for LED Safety Collar Light
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Superb,
22 December 2014
By: Sparky750
from Merseyside
"Bought this as both dog walks at this time of year are in the dark. Easy to attach to his collar and although he's never miles away when off the lead it's clearly visible for the 100 odd meters he does run in the fields also helps us to be seen when walking on the roads to the fields."
Review 16 for LED Safety Collar Light
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
be seen in the dark,
19 December 2014
By: tanned
from cambridge england retired and active and enjoying
"the flashingg lights are excellent and visible for a heck of a distance
a very good buy and excellent delivery
"
Review 17 for LED Safety Collar Light
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bright lights,
19 December 2014
By: ArwenG
"I purchased 2 to replace cheap flashing lights that kept blinding me. With the belt clip these fit on the dog harnesses and remain in place even when subjected to rolling and are easily removed for getting the harnesses washed. Very pleased with the service and product"
Review 18 for LED Safety Collar Light
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Safety Collar Light,
16 December 2014
By: JMauer
"This was purchased as a Christmas gift for my youngest Grand Dog. She has not opened her gift yet so I cannot really tell you her reaction. However, Orvis products are great and I can't wait to see how much she enjoys the safety light. Her "mom" is a runner and sometimes they run the trails before daylight. Will update my review after Christmas!! Merry Christmas to all!!!!"
Review 19 for LED Safety Collar Light
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Beacon in the Night,
16 December 2014
By: asunnyday17
from Pickens, SC
"Dark-coated dog plus dark night plus large wooded yard equal owner panic when dog won't come to door! This collar light sends a strong beam to locate the stubborn and silent dog wanting to stay outside. The light has a Velcro strap to attach whenever needed to collar, leash, or owner's clothing. For walkers in dark or dreary weather, the light is a safety must. Continuous or blinking red or white light options ...well worth the price for convenience and safety."
Review 20 for LED Safety Collar Light
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Peace of mind walking at night,
15 December 2014
By: AllyD
from Sharon, VT
"I walk my dogs after dark, off leash out to the end of my "driveway" (almost a mile long) where it intersects with the road. Sometimes the dogs get to the road before I do and I've been worried about them being in the road when a car comes by. These lights give me peace of mind. I use them on the flashing setting and have a different color for each dog, so I can tell who is who. The only thing I don't really like, which I may need to tinker with, is that the velcro straps are a bit long, so wrapping them around the color and getting them tight is annoying. I think I if I just cut the excess velcro it will be better. The lights are quite visible; except when the dogs body is blocking them. I think they work best when pointed "down"--below the dogs chin. At least then they reflect off the ground."