Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Scissors Forceps

Better leverage and more mass beneath the hinge make it easier to debarb hooks. These pliers have half serrated jaws for grip. 5" long with three-position lock. Special jaws crimp split shot. Power Jaw Scissors Forceps include cutters that will trim indicator yarn, mono, line—even light wire. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.473 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (74 reviews)
5 stars
52
4 stars
13
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
3
67 of 74(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Scissors Forceps
Review 1 for Scissors Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent,
14 November 2014
By: Thomas65
from Derbyshire, UK
"Feels well made and good to use - functions perfectly."
Review 2 for Scissors Forceps
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Average,
16 September 2014
By: dfishmolar
from Hudson Valley, NY
"Average quality. I am a doctor and this is not a high quality forcep. It is stiff and hard to lock and unlock. If you have arthritis or have weak hands do not buy. I hope it loosens up with time."
Review 3 for Scissors Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It works,
27 August 2014
By: BNAGUY
from Spring Hill, TN
"I don't often write product reviews. In fact, I think this is my first.
In short, if it hadn't been for the Orvis Sissors/Forcepts, I would probably still be wearing that darn Rapala today.
Works as advertised."
Review 4 for Scissors Forceps
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
High quality!,
15 July 2014
By: ironfish
from DMV
"I just got these in the mail. They are a little "tight" to operate with one hand, but I imagine that will loosen up a little with time.
The grip seems very strong and the scissors seem very sharp. Can't wait to get out on the water and put them to use!"
Review 5 for Scissors Forceps
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Well Constructed,
14 July 2014
By: RWM46
from SW Florida
"Haven't had the opportunity to use extensively yet, but my first impression is that they are a little stiff and hard to work. I'm sure with more use they will loosen up. They seem well constructed and I like the fact that they include scissors."
Review 6 for Scissors Forceps
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Forcpes with Sissors,
29 May 2014
By: Hubfly
from Roanoke, VA
"Why have forceps with out scissors makes no sense. A little stiff because of newness but sure they will break in nicely."
Review 7 for Scissors Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Multi-purpose tool,
20 May 2014
By: DolceVita
from San Diego, California
"excellent multifunction tool. I had to file handle teeth down slightly, to allow for easy opening....."
Review 8 for Scissors Forceps
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Not bad,
15 April 2014
By: cmcroy310
"Durable pair of forceps. Having the scissors included is a excellent feature. Grips very well. Requires more strength to open and close than I would expect. I do wish the forceps were longer than what they are."
Review 9 for Scissors Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Must Have,
20 March 2014
By: Evilgeologist
from Richmond, VA
"These are a must have for me. It's great to have cutters and hemostats in one nice package."
Review 10 for Scissors Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
scissor forceps,
30 January 2014
By: GuideEyes
from Cody, WY
"These are sturdy forceps that double as line cutters and barb benders. As a fishing guide I highly recommend this one easy tool for your pack, vest or boat."
Review 11 for Scissors Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Tool Ever,
02 January 2014
By: OneGoodCast
from Boise, Idhao
"Best 3 in one tool you can buy!
I have minimized the clutter in my chest pack with just one tool that does the job of three! Don't wait, get one...you'll wonder how you survived without it
"
Review 12 for Scissors Forceps
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
scissor forceps,
26 December 2013
By: Fishinphysician
from Northern California
"Nice concept but the power jaws part did not have good machining with a spur that did not allow the jaws to close. Exchanged my pair without questions/problems at local Orvis Retail Store. I did have to sort through the lot at the store to find a pair that did have good power jaws and forcep tips. About 1/2 were not up to my standards.."
Review 13 for Scissors Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Scissors Forceps,
24 December 2013
By: KaptKes
"These are excellent multipurpose hand tools. I have one pair on my tying bench and one in my fishing vest. The locking jaws are a bit tight when they are brand new but get better with each use. Could not find a better pair!"
Review 14 for Scissors Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Scissors Forceps,
05 October 2013
By: Carlitto
from Dublin, Ireland
"Beautiful, easy to use, well made, excellent forceps. Amongst the nicest two I've seen"
Review 15 for Scissors Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great tool,
04 October 2013
By: BAK54
from Cle Elum, WA
"Need a new forcep and this fits the bill for bigger bugs and sinkers.
Gives more leverage on de-barbing, the scissors are sharp and the longer size has bigger finger wholes which makes it easy on and off.
Gotta love it."
Review 16 for Scissors Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
All in One,
24 September 2013
By: streamsoul
from NW Pennsylvania
"Simple: Save yourself hassle and by one (or two) of these."
Review 17 for Scissors Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great All-purpose pliers,
03 September 2013
By: Stephen85
from Decatur, AL
"Ordered these for all-purpose use to go on the front of my Orvis sling pack. Works exactly like I was hoping for. Thanks orvis!"
Review 18 for Scissors Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
2nd pair,
20 August 2013
By: waynej
from live in wisconsin fish here and western rivers
"Been using this forceps for this entire season. Scissor is great for braided line. Bought the second pair for use in my tackle box when not fly fishing,"
Review 19 for Scissors Forceps
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Very stiff,
18 June 2013
By: Timbles
from Vermont
"I purchased this item from the Orvis website and these forceps are hard to close and quite stiff. There were little metal burrs that I had to take off before these could be used. I know that I could send it back to Orvis but that is always a pain. Trek to the post office, mail it off and then wait, in the meantime you are stuck without your piece of equipment."
Review 20 for Scissors Forceps
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice Product,
31 May 2013
By: SRCTom
from Gig Harbor, WA
"I've liked these since I got them two years ago. The combination of forceps and scissors in one tool makes this very versatile. I can use the scissors in most of the instances I'd have to use a nipper.
As others have noted, the opening and closing is a bit tough with the three position lock. But I take the position that if it's tough, it'll stay shut and not fall into the water when I'm not paying attention."