Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Scissors Forceps

Better leverage and more mass beneath the hinge make it easier to debarb hooks. These pliers have half serrated jaws for grip. 5" long with three-position lock. Special jaws crimp split shot. Power Jaw Scissors Forceps include cutters that will trim indicator yarn, mono, line—even light wire. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.492 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (67 reviews)
5 stars
49
4 stars
10
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
3
61 of 67(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Scissors Forceps
Review 1 for Scissors Forceps
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Not bad,
15 April 2014
By: cmcroy310
"Durable pair of forceps. Having the scissors included is a excellent feature. Grips very well. Requires more strength to open and close than I would expect. I do wish the forceps were longer than what they are."
Review 2 for Scissors Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Must Have,
20 March 2014
By: Evilgeologist
from Richmond, VA
"These are a must have for me. It's great to have cutters and hemostats in one nice package."
Review 3 for Scissors Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
scissor forceps,
30 January 2014
By: GuideEyes
from Cody, WY
"These are sturdy forceps that double as line cutters and barb benders. As a fishing guide I highly recommend this one easy tool for your pack, vest or boat."
Review 4 for Scissors Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Tool Ever,
02 January 2014
By: OneGoodCast
from Boise, Idhao
"Best 3 in one tool you can buy!
I have minimized the clutter in my chest pack with just one tool that does the job of three! Don't wait, get one...you'll wonder how you survived without it
"
Review 5 for Scissors Forceps
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
scissor forceps,
26 December 2013
By: Fishinphysician
from Northern California
"Nice concept but the power jaws part did not have good machining with a spur that did not allow the jaws to close. Exchanged my pair without questions/problems at local Orvis Retail Store. I did have to sort through the lot at the store to find a pair that did have good power jaws and forcep tips. About 1/2 were not up to my standards.."
Review 6 for Scissors Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Scissors Forceps,
24 December 2013
By: KaptKes
"These are excellent multipurpose hand tools. I have one pair on my tying bench and one in my fishing vest. The locking jaws are a bit tight when they are brand new but get better with each use. Could not find a better pair!"
Review 7 for Scissors Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Scissors Forceps,
05 October 2013
By: Carlitto
from Dublin, Ireland
"Beautiful, easy to use, well made, excellent forceps. Amongst the nicest two I've seen"
Review 8 for Scissors Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great tool,
04 October 2013
By: BAK54
from Cle Elum, WA
"Need a new forcep and this fits the bill for bigger bugs and sinkers.
Gives more leverage on de-barbing, the scissors are sharp and the longer size has bigger finger wholes which makes it easy on and off.
Gotta love it."
Review 9 for Scissors Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
All in One,
24 September 2013
By: streamsoul
from NW Pennsylvania
"Simple: Save yourself hassle and by one (or two) of these."
Review 10 for Scissors Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great All-purpose pliers,
03 September 2013
By: Stephen85
from Decatur, AL
"Ordered these for all-purpose use to go on the front of my Orvis sling pack. Works exactly like I was hoping for. Thanks orvis!"
Review 11 for Scissors Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
2nd pair,
20 August 2013
By: waynej
from live in wisconsin fish here and western rivers
"Been using this forceps for this entire season. Scissor is great for braided line. Bought the second pair for use in my tackle box when not fly fishing,"
Review 12 for Scissors Forceps
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Very stiff,
18 June 2013
By: Timbles
from Vermont
"I purchased this item from the Orvis website and these forceps are hard to close and quite stiff. There were little metal burrs that I had to take off before these could be used. I know that I could send it back to Orvis but that is always a pain. Trek to the post office, mail it off and then wait, in the meantime you are stuck without your piece of equipment."
Review 13 for Scissors Forceps
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice Product,
31 May 2013
By: SRCTom
from Gig Harbor, WA
"I've liked these since I got them two years ago. The combination of forceps and scissors in one tool makes this very versatile. I can use the scissors in most of the instances I'd have to use a nipper.
As others have noted, the opening and closing is a bit tough with the three position lock. But I take the position that if it's tough, it'll stay shut and not fall into the water when I'm not paying attention."
Review 14 for Scissors Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best forceps I've ever had.,
22 May 2013
By: heo9542
from San Diego, CA
"I use these forceps daily for both fishing and fly tying. It is amazing how many features you can work into one pair of forceps. They make it easy to remove hood, crush barbs,and when I lost my nippers they became my new nippers for awhile."
Review 15 for Scissors Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Black forceps,
21 May 2013
By: Keith01
from Lerwick, Shetland Isles
"Really pleased with forceps I received from Orvis. They are excellent quality and seem very robust . Another quality product from Orvis."
Review 16 for Scissors Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
One of the Best Orvis Named Products!,
21 May 2013
By: Nagold
from Omaha, Nebraska
"This by far is one of the best Orvis Named Products! Combines forceps, nippers, and weight crimpers. I've used them for trout and warm water (bass and crappie). They are extremely handy and have allowed me to consolidate gear. Tension can be easily adjusted with a small screwdriver, and with a little oil they'll last a long time. Buy two!"
Review 17 for Scissors Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Scissors Forceps,
02 April 2013
By: xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
from San Clemente, CA
"The scissors forceps I just bought are a real upgrade from the simple forceps I had been using. The new ones are of excellent quality and they have a strong grip. i look forward to using them."
Review 18 for Scissors Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality Product,
25 January 2013
By: NNCC
from San Jose, CA
"Forceps, scissors, and crimper in one well-built tool? Excellent! I just wish Orvis would make them in matte black with cushioning on the handle."
Review 19 for Scissors Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great tool,
23 January 2013
By: Kayakfisher
from Easley, SC
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I do a lot of back country trout fishing so I hate carrying a bunch gear that is not always needed. This little guy does multiple jobs. Very strong. Had no problem cutting all the different lines I use."
Review 20 for Scissors Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super Handy,
02 January 2013
By: jkibler
"I use these constantly on the water. My favorite and easily most used tool. Definitely recommend."