Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Lambskin Munitions Leather Vest

Inspired by a style first worn and popularized by Royal Air Force ground crews who needed a comfortable, rugged outer garment they could move in as they rearmed the Spitfires and Hurricanes that won the Battle of Britain. Longer than most vests, it won't ride up when you reach, and it's made of rugged lambskin leather with a smooth grain that is soft and supple. Lined with our 100% soft cotton moleskin for all-day comfort. Four exterior pockets. Two-way front zipper. In cognac. Professionally clean. Imported.Sizes S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52). About 29" long in size large.
Average Customer Rating:
4.73 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (252 reviews)
5 stars
214
4 stars
20
3 stars
11
2 stars
2
1 star
5
233 of 252(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Lambskin Munitions Leather Vest
Review 1 for Lambskin Munitions Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great quality,
11 October 2014
By: Swith
from Manchester UK
"I liven the Uk so took a while to get here, but worth the wait.
This item is of of the utmost quality, which will sure to get better with age."
Review 2 for Lambskin Munitions Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderfully comfortable,
07 October 2014
By: Modeler
"Great vest! Extremely soft leather. Fits well, true to size. Very comfortable. Would highly recommend it to anyone."
Review 3 for Lambskin Munitions Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Vest,
12 September 2014
By: ransong
from nashua, nh
"A well made, stylish, beautiful vest.
What more needs to be said!
"
Review 4 for Lambskin Munitions Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
05 September 2014
By: Cackypritchett
from North CRolina
"Tried to purchase this vest last year but sold out too quickly. The leather is beautiful, very supple, and the style is authentic. Great gift for my husband who is a hunter but will wear this casually. Worth the wait"
Review 5 for Lambskin Munitions Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent purchase,
02 September 2014
By: Cork3351
from Princeton New Jersy
"The quality of the leather and the workmanship could not be better. The delivery program is first class. I ordered the wrong size and Orvis replaced it with the correct size before I had returned the wrong size. Now that's service !"
Review 6 for Lambskin Munitions Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Soft and comfortable,
04 August 2014
By: MissKathy12
from Chester, SC
"This vest is unbelieveably soft and comfortable! Perfect for Southern living. No sleeves, so it isn't hot."
Review 7 for Lambskin Munitions Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Customer Service,
08 July 2014
By: Petexyz
from Sedona, AZ
"This is a beautiful vest. The leather is fantastic and the fit was perfect. It should last a long time even with heavy outdoor use. The first one that arrived had some bad snaps. But I let them know, sent it back, and they overnighted me a new one. No hassle. The staff was very concerned that I had a problem, and really wanted to make it right."
Review 8 for Lambskin Munitions Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love the vest,
16 June 2014
By: Rap19
from Fort Worth, Tx
"I always wanted a vest like this and to know that maybe my father-in-law might have worn one similar to this when he was stationed in England during WWII is the best present I could have. Thanks for having it available."
Review 9 for Lambskin Munitions Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very nice vest!,
10 June 2014
By: ThoroughbredBreeder
from Midway, KY
"The description and sizing of the vest were accurate. I wear a large and it fit me perfectly. The leather is very supple and after wearing a few times, it softens up nicely. I was a little surprised by the weight and didn't realize it was a heavy piece. However, once it is on, the weight isn't noticeable. A great vest and great looking as well."
Review 10 for Lambskin Munitions Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A bit uptight.,
15 April 2014
By: naka
"This is an extremely well made item. My disappointment is purely one of aesthetics. In the photos it has a very casual air about it. As soon as I opened the box and saw the glossy leather finish I had the feeling it was not going to work out for me. For some reason this vest in person, feels "stiff". I was very sorry to send it back."
Review 11 for Lambskin Munitions Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was not disappointed !,
26 March 2014
By: Bylee2951
from Klamath Falls, Oregon
"Excellent construction and look throughout. The Munitions Vest was exactly what I wanted.
Loaded with pockets and a heavy duty zipper. Great snap buttons wherever needed. Beautiful lambskin ! Fit perfectly !
"
Review 12 for Lambskin Munitions Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My favourite garment!,
09 March 2014
By: DaiDant
from Dyfed, Wales.
"After several years, my first munitions leather vest is showing such a patina of age that I'm told I should not wear it in polite company - so I'm ordering a replacement for best. I like the original none the less and intend to keep it for outdoor wear!
I was in fact the third in our village to acquire one of these. The original was bought be a friend to replace a near identical garment he was issued with as an officer in the Royal Artillery. The original RAF versions as seen in "Battle of Britain" movie seem to have a less appealing orange hue. The moleskin lining is lovely and warm, not shared by your jacket version. The only change I'd request - a second, possibly zipped, inside pocket.
"
Review 13 for Lambskin Munitions Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Incredible quality,
07 March 2014
By: UncleBuzz
from Fallsberg, Ohio
"Orvis munitions vest is without question the best vest of it's type on the market!! BAR NONE!"
Review 14 for Lambskin Munitions Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A satisying purchase,
05 March 2014
By: MosesS
from SoCal
"Excellent Quality. Very Good Fit. Looks Great. I am a happy Man!"
Review 15 for Lambskin Munitions Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Favorite vest,
01 March 2014
By: Rromf
"We collect vests, it seems, and this is my husband's very favorite. Good looking, substantial, soft leather and cotton lining. Convenient pockets. Just an overall great vest worth the price."
Review 16 for Lambskin Munitions Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
well worth it.,
24 February 2014
By: Telecom
from Seacoast NH
"This is a quality item, all it lacks is a made in the USA label. I'd pay more for that label."
Review 17 for Lambskin Munitions Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
He is pleased!,
20 January 2014
By: soooohappy
from Dallas, Texas
"I bought the munitions vest for my husband for Christmas. Once we got him the right size, he loved it!! He is usually a large but took a medium in this. The large felt heavy and bulky to him. If you are on the large end of a large you might still need a large but on the light end of large, go medium."
Review 18 for Lambskin Munitions Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great gift for my man!,
16 January 2014
By: Giftgirl
from Sioux Falls, SD
"Exactly what I was looking for to replace a worn out leather vest that had been my husband'a favorite . The quality of this vest was better with tougher leather that should last a long time. Fit is great and he is so handsome in it! Sometimes it is hard to buy out of a catalog, but this product exceeded my expectations."
Review 19 for Lambskin Munitions Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Welcome Christmas surprise!,
27 December 2013
By: Poodi
from Southport, NC
"My husband has eyed this for two years and now he has it. Well made, soft leather, nice quality! Just as I would expect from Orvis."
Review 20 for Lambskin Munitions Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Lovely, but pockets make it not very usefull,
26 December 2013
By: MillyMouse
from PA
"The best is beautiful, and very high quality. Unfortunately it's named a munitions vest, leading one to believe the front pockets are wide w bought to hold shells and retrieve them easily. They are not. In fact, it is hard to get anything into them at all, and nearly impossible to get anything out while wearing gloves. This is a fashion item only, despite the name. My husband will be returning this. Sadly, since he has been searching for just such a vest, but with shell pockets, for quite some time."