Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Lambskin Munitions Leather Vest

Inspired by a style first worn and popularized by Royal Air Force ground crews who needed a comfortable, rugged outer garment they could move in as they rearmed the Spitfires and Hurricanes that won the Battle of Britain. Longer than most vests, it won't ride up when you reach, and it's made of rugged lambskin leather with a smooth grain that is soft and supple. Lined with our 100% soft cotton moleskin for all-day comfort. Four exterior pockets. Two-way front zipper. In cognac. Professionally clean. Imported.Sizes S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52). About 29" long in size large.
Average Customer Rating:
4.739 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (276 reviews)
5 stars
235
4 stars
22
3 stars
12
2 stars
2
1 star
5
256 of 276(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Lambskin Munitions Leather Vest
Review 1 for Lambskin Munitions Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
leather lambskin vest review,
14 March 2015
By: jdf1
from bought on line, but chgp store has it
"I am so so pleased with this vest. I have been looking for one like it for a long time....this is definitely it. In fact far betteer than expected. Nice length to cover sweateer, and a weapon if u like...super soft, great pockets, great color...i get tons of comments. Id love orvis to find another one but with a shearlung collar and liner for colder weather and different look. Thanks orvis."
Review 2 for Lambskin Munitions Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A "must have" !,
08 March 2015
By: DonnieC
from Newtown, Bucks County, Pennsyltucky
"Very supple leather with a very good smell. Quality grain and the double zip up makes driving comfortable. Runs slightly larger in terms of fit, but over a heavy sweater during this cold Northeastern winter, I was pleased. This vest will be perfect during the upcoming thaw to throw over a long sleeve Tee with jeans and stay stylish at the same time. Plenty of pockets for storage where you don't have to worry about gadgets falling out.
-Donnie
"
Review 3 for Lambskin Munitions Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lambskin Leather,
06 March 2015
By: leatherluver
from GrandJunction Colorado
"Have the Lambskin Munitions leather coat and love it, got the vest for the warmer "sleeveless times". Like them both, excellent quality that will outlast me! Chris in customer service was fantastic when I purchased the coat, as it wasn't what was depicted in the catalog. He straightened everything out and got me the coat I wanted, excellent!!!!!!!!!!"
Review 4 for Lambskin Munitions Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
WooooW,
18 February 2015
By: pampered
from Essexville, MI
"Excellent fit, soft and comfortable and looks great. We are having a very cold winter in my part of the country so--- One evening we were on our way to church, wanted to be warm and presentable, wore my new vest with a jacket and I THOUGHT I HAD MY OWN PERSONAL FURNCE, warm and comfortable. I wanted this vest for awhile, sure am glad my wife said," you are worth it."i"
Review 5 for Lambskin Munitions Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
i returned it,
06 February 2015
By: alsimmons
from Alameda, California
"i returned the vest for several reasons. it's collar and its pocket placements. the short stand up collar does not look or protect well, and the pockets seemed out of place and not comfortable to hand warming. tough to buy online with pictures that are dark and not very revealing."
Review 6 for Lambskin Munitions Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Usual Orvis High Quality,
03 February 2015
By: ChopperDoc
from Georgia
"The usual Orvis high quality I've come to expect. Not cheep, but worth every penny! Has the same inside pockets as my motorcycle vest for storing wallet and cell phone. Leather very soft and supple with character. Expect many years of service."
Review 7 for Lambskin Munitions Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Arrived in 2 days,
23 January 2015
By: Desmogger
from Annapolis, Md.
"I received the Lambskin Munitions vest today! I ordered it on Wednesday and it came Friday, very pleased with the quality and the warm comfy feeling I have not taken it off all day. My heat pump went out today also so it is keeping me warm. Very nice surprise was the Orvis Garment bag and wooden hanger that it arrived in. Expensive but worth it. Nothing beats the comfortable feeling of leather. I do wish it had the handwarmer pockets behind the shell flap pockets perhaps Orvis could check on having that added to the design?"
Review 8 for Lambskin Munitions Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My husbands new "go to" vest,
22 January 2015
By: Chaser
from La Crosse, WI
"A great looking vest with quality
leather. A nice heavy duty zipper. Roomy pockets. Very pleased with the purchase.
"
Review 9 for Lambskin Munitions Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Vest Ever,
20 January 2015
By: lkmau
from Charlotte,NC
"Highly recommend this leather vest which only improve with age. Super soft and just makes you feel great when you wear it. I wear it every chance I get, also keeps you warm in cooler weather. Great value"
Review 10 for Lambskin Munitions Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Quality,
09 January 2015
By: CDF57
from Sacramento, Ca
"Excellent quality leather and workmanship. Runs large. I usually take and XL but a L fit much better."
Review 11 for Lambskin Munitions Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Finally,
02 January 2015
By: Howeudew
from NC
"I have wanted this vest for five years, and finally sprung for it as a Christmas present to "me" this year. I am extremely pleased. I have to admit: I knew exactly what I was getting, having examined one of a different size in the Myrtle Beach Orvis store last spring.
After looking that vest over, I knew I had to have it.
The leather is literally butter soft. It is simply the most luxurious leather I have ever experienced. The vest is comfortable, fits well, and looks like a million bucks.
It receives positive comments regularly. I have no regrets on this purchase."
Review 12 for Lambskin Munitions Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Husband loves this vest,
02 January 2015
By: BobbieW
from Houston, TX
"This lambskin vest is perfect for my husband - rugged styling and superior quality. He loves the roomy pockets and the warmth it provides without limiting arm movement. He was thrilled to find this gift under the Christmas tree."
Review 13 for Lambskin Munitions Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding Vest!,
31 December 2014
By: Buddha51
from Houston, TX
"Comfortable, practical, good-looking and warm. This vest is the answer to every bird hunter's dream! also, great for those chilly morning walks with your dog...do yourself a favor and buy on for yourself and one for your brother. That's what I did!"
Review 14 for Lambskin Munitions Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
England 1940,
31 December 2014
By: Leatherstocking
from Ava, NY
"The Lambskins Leather Munitions Vest has effectively filled a void in my attempts to moderate the extremes of weather that nature presents us. I have alway felt encumbered with heavy sleeves that catch on trees, equipment and other projections encountered during activity. The vest provides the freedom, warmth and protection for my body core while also exhibiting an esprit de corps in memory of those who wore the originals. This vest is substantial and not for the weak willed, so wear it with pride, but definitely wear it."
Review 15 for Lambskin Munitions Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Christmas Surprise,
29 December 2014
By: jimmyb1947
from North Mississippi
"Surprised my husband with this vest and he was speechless. Beautiful leather , quality construction, great style and fit. He was delighted, to say the least!"
Review 16 for Lambskin Munitions Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Greatest Vest,
29 December 2014
By: Karo05w
"This vest is absolutely wonderful. The feel of the leather is as soft as a cloud, it's lightweight yet very warm.
The hidden pockets are fantastic. It looks so good on, the sizing is perfect. There is nothing bad to say about his vest.
"
Review 17 for Lambskin Munitions Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Munitions Vest,
29 December 2014
By: PGambill739
"Great leather vest. My husband loved it and it looks great on him. He said it is very warm. I know he will get a lot of use out of this vest and it looks good enough to dress up in too."
Review 18 for Lambskin Munitions Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
LEATHER MUNITIONS VEST,
17 December 2014
By: FIREFLYER
from HOOD RIVER, OREGON
"I received this vest from my sweetheart for my birthday. Yes, she is a keeper! So is the vest. I am 6' tall and weigh about 225. She got me the XL. It fits me perfectly. I had tried this vest on a few years ago when I was 20 pounds lighter. It did not fit well then. So that may be a guide for you.
The vest is very well made. The storm flap is nice and the zipper works well. I love the leather and the color. I think they call it cognac. Or at least it looks like other leather that is called cognac.
There are two things about it that I wish were different. The lining is not slippery, so that when you are wearing it over a heavy winter shirt it is difficult to get on and off. Other than that the only other thing I wish they could have done was to make handwarmer pockets behind the cargo pockets as most vests do. The high handwarmer pockets are a little awkward. Those are the two things that kept it from getting 5 stars. All that being said, I haven't taken it off since my birthday. One more thing. I can easily wear a heavy winter shirt and a wool vest under the leather one when it is really cold out.
"
Review 19 for Lambskin Munitions Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing vest,
08 December 2014
By: Brulerivergirl
from Brule River, Wisconsin
"I recently bought this vest for my husband as a birthday gift. He could not have been more surprised, or more happy! Orvis has been a good friend to us for decades. As usual, the workmanship was excellent with great attention to detail, the leather soft and supple, and the sizing predictably reliable.
Thank you Orvis!
"
Review 20 for Lambskin Munitions Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic true leather gilet,
30 November 2014
By: Pete1234
from Exeter
"A treat that I will treasure for a long time and smells great."