Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Barbour® Bedale Jacket

This is the gold standard of Barbour coats. Classic shorter length hunting, riding or shooting coat in medium weight 6-oz thornproof waxed cotton. Takes a zip-in liner. Corduroy collar studded to accept the optional hood. Two large bellows pockets on the front with handwarmer pockets. Barbour Bedale Jacket features two studded side vents in the back. Lined in Barbour tartan. 100% waxed cotton. Cold sponge. No soap. Imported. Barbour classic fit in sizes 32-52. About 32" long in size 42. See size chart for details.
Average Customer Rating:
4.747 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (75 reviews)
5 stars
62
4 stars
9
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
1
73 of 75(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Barbour® Bedale Jacket
Review 1 for Barbour® Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Barbour Bedale,
21 July 2015
By: BrianFisher
"Product was shipped fast and looks great. Classic coat, and added another to my collection of four.
The liner is needed for winters in the Northeast."
Review 2 for Barbour® Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Barbour Jackets,
29 April 2015
By: Fredo888
from Hawaii and Colorado
"Out of all the Jackets that I own Barbour cotton waxed jackets are one of, if not the best wet weather jackets around - tied with Patagonia products."
Review 3 for Barbour® Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
THE Classic Barbour Jacket,
13 March 2015
By: 690MBCOMMANDO
"One of the first Barbour jackets I purchased and it really defines all the classic features one would expect. I especially love the ribbed cuffs that keep me warm in winter. The optional zip in liner makes this jacket very flexible ranging from a spring/fall jacket with no liner to the warmer with the tartan liner to very warm with the fur liner. I got all my Barbours from Orvis and their service is terrific. LOVE IT!"
Review 4 for Barbour® Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Jacket,
08 March 2015
By: FoxHunter74
from Central Pa
"Barbour qualitty is legendary and this jacket keeps with that tradition. I am 5'11" 170lbs and the size 40 fits me like a glove. I bought the black color and it is very sharp looking. In short this is a great jacket both in fit and quality."
Review 5 for Barbour® Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Jacket But a Tip,
26 February 2015
By: amay
from Shanghai, China
"The Bedale is a good jacket. With care it will last years. I've had mine at least 10 years. I will give one tip - Where ever one stores a waxed jacket it should be ventilated otherwise it can start to smell a bit. This is common with waxed jackets. They cannot be washed and so the only way to mitigate this minor unpleasant aspect is to dry them properly and store them properly. Barbour makes wonderful jackets and it's certainly nicer than the currently ubiquitous "parka." Plastic-like, garish colors, made who knows where. It's so nice to buy things these days that are actually made where they are supposed to be from. The products may cost a little more but if we don't support these companies then everything we buy will come from the same handful of OEM factories in Asia."
Review 6 for Barbour® Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful jacket,
21 February 2015
By: irimi
from Black Mountain, NC
"I've wanted one of these all my life and just never pulled the trigger. A bunch of Hickey-Freeman suits, and a few Oxxford cashmere sport coats, but never a Barbour. Finally, with life slowing down, it was time to wear something more casual. I have to say I love it. Don't bother with the liner--that's why Patagonia makes vests! And to the person who didn't care for the hood I say--purchase a good hat! The jacket is a superb companion for cool weather fly fishing."
Review 7 for Barbour® Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Thanks for the great service.,
11 February 2015
By: 2Cavaliers
from N.C.
"I've long admired Barbour products. This is my first purchase of one and it has exceeded my expectations. One note of caution they are sized very gererously. I had to exchange my first one for a smaller size but Orvis customer service made it the easiest exchange ever."
Review 8 for Barbour® Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best loved all-around jacket,
31 December 2014
By: happiestcamper
from Fairfield County, CT
"Great jacket! My college-age daughter had been wearing mine and loving it, so I bought her one just like it for Christmas. It's very versatile and comfortable. Looks great going anywhere."
Review 9 for Barbour® Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very nice coat,
29 December 2014
By: pbbbbb
from Richmond, VA
"bought this coat for my daughter. Super nice to say the least. She was thrilled with it. It arrived in a speedy manner and though she didn't like the color, the local Orvis was happy to exchange it for the color she wanted. I do think that it runs a little small, so if you can try one on before purchase, that might be a good plan, but not a big deal if not as Orvis is easy to work with when exchanging."
Review 10 for Barbour® Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Bad in so many way,
18 December 2014
By: klescop
from Connecticut
"This is no 1 star rating because the hood is the wrong color and I'm incapable of understanding color before I purchase an item. The hood is terrible. To summarize: 1.) obnoxious label 2.) too small 3.) useless wire 4.) loose snaps 5.) sloppy design
1.) Barbour has put a label that faces outwards and right side up when the hood is down. This is an example of conspicuous consumption. It's meant to show off the brand, which is an expensive one, and let everyone around you know that you buy expensive stuff. That is just awful. I cut mine out.
2.) The hood fails spectacularly in protecting my head against rain. In fact, I am reasonably certain that more water falls onto my face when the hood is up through the "under a ledge" effect. Have you ever walked under an awning and jumped through the curtain of rainfall that gathers at the edge? The hood creates a curtain of rainfall onto your face. Terrible. That is of course, when the hood stays up. It's too light to withstand wind of any sort and will casually flop over and completely give up if you create strong gusts by walking in a forwards direction.
3.) What purpose does the wire serve except digging into my back when I'm driving, or making the process of lifting up my useless hood just a touch more annoying by forcing me to restructure the thing every time I want rainfall to be gathered and poured onto my face?
4.) God forbid you treat your jacket like a jacket and lift it up by it's hood. All you will have in your hand is a hood. A useless hood. The rest of the jacket will be on the floor because the snaps are completely incapable of performing their sole function. Do you sometimes like to roll your shoulders when putting on a jacket to get it to sit well? Well you now get to add the fun step of snapping one or two loose catches from the hood back on every time you do that.
5.) The tags, which conveniently are translated into 18 different languages will invariably flap across your face either blocking one nostril or tickling your cheek until you cut them out. The ends that contain the drawstrings will invariably sit at asymmetrical and absurd angles whenever the hood is down unless you adjust them to look alright.
Conclusion: The hood is an affront to human decency."
Review 11 for Barbour® Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great jacket,
06 December 2014
By: Gerems
"I bought this jacket for my husband and he really loved it!! It's a multi use, just great and beautiful jacket! It can been worn either as an elegant as well as a casual jacket!!"
Review 12 for Barbour® Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best jacket ever made,
24 November 2014
By: Toots615
"This is the second Barbour jacket I have purchased.
Also bought the wax to refurbish the old jacket.
My son wears this all the time, bought the vest and hood also.
Can't say enough about Barbour quality it is by far the best jacket made!
"
Review 13 for Barbour® Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Excellent, .....,
12 November 2014
By: JohnH98
from Alexandria, BAA
"This is my third Barbour coat. I reached for this model because it is shorter and was made with the Thornproof fabric which hopefully will wear better than the lighter fabric. It met my expectations. Knitted cuffs are new for me. I do feel that the fabric is not as heavy as my first Barbour from 20 years ago and would love not to have 'Barbour' stitched on the pocket."
Review 14 for Barbour® Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
awesome buy,
31 October 2014
By: brownleewhite
"The jacket is killer. Navy is the way to go. Attention grabber but still a classic! Strong look and this jacket will last forever with if maintained properly. I recommend the Bedale if you want a shorter jacket. I'm 5'5" so the Bedale is a perfect option."
Review 15 for Barbour® Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Definition of Practical,
25 September 2014
By: Henryvillespecial
from Poconos
"My Bedale is just right: tailored fit; snap pockets just above my hips; intelligently located slash pockets that warm my hands; eagerly sheds chill and rain. Smart and good looking too."
Review 16 for Barbour® Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great purchase and experience,
18 September 2014
By: matt1987
from Atlanta, GA
"Great coat. The service was outstanding. Great overall experience."
Review 17 for Barbour® Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Purchase Ever,
12 August 2014
By: polie
from Kalamazoo MI.
"Bought this jacket for my sons birthday and unwrapping it he was ecstatic and it fit perfectly. He said it was the best present ever."
Review 18 for Barbour® Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great for cold wet days,
29 June 2014
By: Whipperin
"I foxhunt and is perfect gear for cold rainy days riding for hours.
Only fault I have is the sleeves are short. I'm 6'2"
"
Review 19 for Barbour® Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Jacket,
26 March 2014
By: HTowntransplant
from Houston, TX
"I bought this Jacket for my husband as a birthday gift and he loves it! It's the perfect length, can be dresssed up or down, and worn with or without layers."
Review 20 for Barbour® Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classic quality jacket,
05 March 2014
By: Joel420
"Beautiful jacket, very substantial. Runs large to allow layering. I bought a size 32 and it has room for a sweater underneath. Shipped promptly with standard shipping."