Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Barbour® Bedale Jacket

This is the gold standard of Barbour coats. Classic shorter length hunting, riding or shooting coat in medium weight 6-oz thornproof waxed cotton. Takes a zip-in liner. Corduroy collar studded to accept the optional hood. Two large bellows pockets on the front with handwarmer pockets. Two studded side vents in the back. Lined in Barbour tartan. 100% waxed cotton. Cold sponge. No soap. Imported.Barbour classic fit in sizes 32-52. About 32" long in size 42. See size chart for details.
Average Customer Rating:
4.778 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (54 reviews)
5 stars
45
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
53 of 54(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Barbour® Bedale Jacket
Review 1 for Barbour® Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Jacket,
26 March 2014
By: HTowntransplant
from Houston, TX
"I bought this Jacket for my husband as a birthday gift and he loves it! It's the perfect length, can be dresssed up or down, and worn with or without layers."
Review 2 for Barbour® Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classic quality jacket,
05 March 2014
By: Joel420
"Beautiful jacket, very substantial. Runs large to allow layering. I bought a size 32 and it has room for a sweater underneath. Shipped promptly with standard shipping."
Review 3 for Barbour® Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good to Great,
05 February 2014
By: BadBrad2
from Roanoke VA
"This is a very well made jacket and very versatile. Two very minor complaints: the optional liner could extend part way into the sleeves to make putting on the coat easier and add more warmth. And the hood needs to attach better so it doesn't come off by mistake. I'm afraid I will lose it. Overall though a great coat!"
Review 4 for Barbour® Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful, classic jacket!,
03 February 2014
By: Cen223
from Washington, DC
"I bought this for my husband and he absolutely loves it. I would say that it runs a little big. We had to return the original one I ordered and get a new one that was a size smaller. He looks phenomenal in it though! It's warm and very functional and just an all-around classic. Highly recommend!"
Review 5 for Barbour® Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Solid Outdoor Jacket,
15 January 2014
By: LGOrvis
"Can't go wrong with this classic jacket from Barbour.
Material quality is top notch.
Fit's very roomy in the chest for layering."
Review 6 for Barbour® Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Barbour Bedale,
09 January 2014
By: jbooth1966
from Alabama
"Purchased this for my wife at Christmas. Beautiful jacket. My wife wears it everywhere. The jacket fits true to size. Didn't purchase the liner because we have mild winters. Ordered it a couple of days before Christmas and paid extra to have it delivered Next Day, I believe. Orvis and UPS got the order out on time and delivered on time. Couldn't be happier."
Review 7 for Barbour® Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great jacket,
25 December 2013
By: ENH3
from Charlotte, NC
"Fantastic, high quality jacket. A gift for my son. He may decide to exchange for the Beaufort because its sleeves do not have the jersey cuffs. Anyway, a great investment !"
Review 8 for Barbour® Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Jacket,
21 December 2013
By: hjmck
from Pittsburgh, PA
"I have a long Barbour Gamefair Coat that has been fantastic, but is a little to casual for all occasions. Wanted something I could wear with business casual clothing, and the Bedale is perfect. Same Barbour quality in a jacket that gives me a different option."
Review 9 for Barbour® Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classic,
17 December 2013
By: APK3
from Richmond, va
"Barbour coat ordered for my daughter came in time for Christmas. Quality product and great service"
Review 10 for Barbour® Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classic Barbour Jacket,
10 December 2013
By: Toonkie
from Dallas, TX
"This is a classic country field jacket that I have admitred for many years. I've seen pictures of the Queen of England weaing this jacket while tending to her horses at her country estate.
My firends have owned their similar jacjets for years as they get better with age and I own other Barbour jacjets that I continue to enjoy years after the original purchase"
Review 11 for Barbour® Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
exactly as represented,
18 November 2013
By: chandlerlaw
from McDonald, Tn.
"I have a small farm with horses, mules, goats, and chickens. This jacket is perfect for farm chores on cold, rainy mornings. Also, the back flap is great for horseback ridding."
Review 12 for Barbour® Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classic country coat,
21 October 2013
By: Casper1000
from London, England
"The Bedale is the shortest cut classic-styled Barbour. Designed for horse-riding, but great for anybody that doesn't want to look too much like a farmer. Made in England for the worst English weather and really built to last."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Barbour® Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
my 2nd barbour jacket,
21 October 2013
By: jack1949
from rockville md
"this is my 2nd jacket from them, the first one only lasted 20 years or so.
orvis as always has long lasting items for us.
orvis service is first rate.
"
Review 14 for Barbour® Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classic is still the best,
17 October 2013
By: NotTrendy
"This is not the latest, but it is still the best. One of the other reviewers noted the size issue. I too am 6'1" and I typically wear a 44. For this jacket, however, a 46 is needed."
Review 15 for Barbour® Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Delighted,
13 October 2013
By: imodvek
from Chicago, IL
"This Bedale is my first Barbour and I'm positively delighted at the quality and fit. I find it to be perfect to wear with a pair of well broken in jeans and sweater or with dress shirt and noose, err - tie. The style is one that never goes out of fashion."
Review 16 for Barbour® Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style and workmanship,
20 September 2013
By: Sysygy
from Massachusetts
"This jacket has a good cut. I look better in this jacket than I did the Beaufort. The materials and craftsmanship are very high quality. The jacket has a good weight to it and you can move around easily."
Review 17 for Barbour® Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Zip/Out the door,
15 January 2013
By: Zipperman
from Fairfield, Connecticut
"The jacket is a superior product. But the zipper has "issues". Let me explain: it is made out of brass, which is great. It is a metal to metal hook up, which is good in theory, but needs some lubrication to get it to function properly. I use a very fine bicycle oil on the moving parts to get them familiar with each other. I had to return my first jacket due to a misaligned zipper. My Outback jacket has a solid brass YKK zipper. It is a happy zipper. Perhaps you should include a packet of lubrication in this product. I got this sucker working good now, and use it to protect me from the cold in winter/Connecticut. Get it together!"
Review 18 for Barbour® Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Barbour Bedale Jacket,
07 January 2013
By: tashome
from Barrington IL
"I bought this as a Christmas gift for my husband. He already owns one of these jackets (he has been a Barbour coat wearer since I met him over 20 years ago), but I got this as a replacement as he tends to wear out the cuff on his Barbour jackets before the rest of the coat has aged.
Love this jacket...he was happy!"
Review 19 for Barbour® Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
31 December 2012
By: Jamesar
from TX
"Great jacket that just gets more comfortable and better with time."
Review 20 for Barbour® Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Purchase Ever,
20 November 2012
By: SClinkscaes
from Charleston, SC
"This is an amazing coat that will last a lifetime. So glad I bought this one. Don't know what I would do without it."