Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Barbour® Dunmoor Fleece Vest

Lord James of Northumberland, one of the premier shooters in England, helped design these fleece shooting vests for men. A 100% polyester windblock fleece and a Barbour tartan waterproof lining stand up to all but the worst weather conditions. Handsome Alcantara® shoulder patches and trim resist wear. Durable and weatherproof. Double-zip front. Vest has two exterior pockets. Fleece vests for men in olive. Washable. Imported.Sizes: S(34-36), XXL(50-52). Classic Fit. See size chart for details.
Average Customer Rating:
4.783 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
22 of 23(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Barbour® Dunmoor Fleece Vest
Review 1 for Barbour® Dunmoor Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Worth the price!,
18 December 2014
By: Doctordavid
from Savannah, GA
"I bought my Barbour Dunmoor fleece vest almost a year ago at an outfitter shop on St. Simon's Island. It was a wonderful purchase and I have enjoyed it so much. It is a versatile garment that easily dresses up or down. I recently bought a second Dunmoor fleece vest from Orvis to give as a gift at Christmas. The Dunmoor fleece vest is well worth the purchase price. Barbour sells only the best!"
Review 2 for Barbour® Dunmoor Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
English country stylish,
10 November 2014
By: Informed
from Atlanta
"Barbour hits a home run again with this well made, comfortable and stylish vest. The fit and feel are great and it is warmer than I expected from a vest of this weight.
Great weight for our cold weather here in the South.
"
Review 3 for Barbour® Dunmoor Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great vest,
21 October 2014
By: yawner
from nyc
"very functional. warm. good pockets for shells. inside pocket for phone, etc."
Review 4 for Barbour® Dunmoor Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The best shooting vest,
03 October 2014
By: gerryj19
from Marblehead, MA
"I know that at the Orvis shooting grounds the staff use the Dunmoor jacket a lot and so you can be sure that the Barbour fleece is very durable. I prefer the vest and the Dunmoor is definitely the best all around shooting vest/gilet out there in my opinion. It is warm and allows great movement when shooting. It's a quality garment like all the Barbours."
Review 5 for Barbour® Dunmoor Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
WORTH IT!,
29 September 2014
By: AREAM1
from Savannah, GA
"I purchased this vest from a nearby Orvis Store a little over a year ago. Right when you put it on, you'll realize why it comes with the price tag it does. It's completely worth it. I'm 6'1'' , 230lbs and the XL fits great! Being from the South, this is perfect for our late fall/winter when paired with a long-sleeve shirt/sweater - you can even zip it in to the Beaufort/Bedale as a liner for colder temps. From the craftsmanship that you would expect from Barbour to the every day compliments you receive when worn, you can't go wrong. If you are considering the purchase...go for it, you won't regret it."
Review 6 for Barbour® Dunmoor Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great vest,
15 January 2014
By: Upperco4340
from Maryland
"Have had the vest for a couple of months. Very comfortable, sized well and warm. Would wear it every day if I could. Top quality as usual from Barbour. Highly recommend !"
Review 7 for Barbour® Dunmoor Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warm & Stylish,
15 January 2014
By: Laurie43
from Scottsdale, AZ
"Beautifully made, warm & stylish. Perfect as a layering peice but just as perfect for added warmth while lounging around the house. The zipper is heavy and well made.
The quilted pockets make for a beautiful design. My husband loves it and wears it constantly.
"
Review 8 for Barbour® Dunmoor Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Vest, Better Customer Service,
06 January 2014
By: Robeson
"I have wanted a Barbour vest for a while, and this was the Christmas I finally decided to treat myself. After much deliberation, I chose the Dunmoor Fleece because of its aesthetics (signature olive green, circle zipper and tartan lining), its heft and sturdiness, and the world-renowned lasting quality of the Barbour brand. After making my decision, I struggled a bit with the sizing guidelines. I am about 5' 10.5" and 165 lbs., and whether I am a "Medium" or a "Large" tends to vary by both brand and type of garment.
As a result of my sizing trepidation, I made a call to Orvis Customer Support. A very kind, helpful, well-spoken woman answered the phone and assisted me with my issue. While she could not tell me right then and there what size would fit best, what she was able to do for me was even better. After reviewing some information, she found that there was only one of each size (M/L) Dunmoor vest left in stock. Despite this, she was willing to send both to me to try on and figure it out on my own, with free return postage AND a 15% discount on the item itself! I was floored. This is how it should be done. Orvis has earned my life-long support with just one interaction.
Both vests arrived today, and as I had suspected, the medium fits beautifully. Worlds warmer than any other vest I have ever owned, and better looking to boot. Well worth the $200 price tag. I will be wearing this vest until it either falls apart or I get too fat to fit in it. I expect the latter scenario to arise first."
Review 9 for Barbour® Dunmoor Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good and Convenient Product!!!,
08 December 2013
By: sonus30
"This product is very dood appearance and convenient for put on.
Eespecially very cold wheather and rainy,It was very good for me.
But zipper was not easilly operated.and front pocket covered by zipper which will protect leaves get in pocket when pheasant hunter go through bush,that will be good to pheasant hunter.
"
Review 10 for Barbour® Dunmoor Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dunmoor Vest,
02 December 2013
By: Mucksiegooma
from Northern Minnesota
"I purchased this vest after I got my Dunmoor Shooting Fleece jacket. When it is very cold up here in Northern Minnesota, the vest under the fleece jacket make a very toasty warm combination. I love the vest and jacket.!"
Review 11 for Barbour® Dunmoor Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Review for Actual Shooters,
08 October 2013
By: Schatzman
from New Hampshire
"I know the majority of people buying this vest, aren't actually buying with the intention of shooting with it. That being said, my review is directed to the select few that will actually shoot with it. The vest fits snug but not tight. You can get away with wearing a sweater under it, but not much more. It isn't constraining in any way that would make it difficult to swing a shotgun. I took it out and tested it with my Citori 725 Trap today, and it preformed well. The two front pockets are able to hold 25 shells each. It doesn't hold them comfortably but it will hold them. I used one pocket for my shells and the other for used shells. The pockets aren't so wide that it is easy to get in and out of them too quickly. It took a few reps before I had it down. All and all I am happy with the vest. I just wish the pockets had a larger opening and were slightly deeper."
Review 12 for Barbour® Dunmoor Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Solid comfort...,
11 November 2012
By: bonbright7
from Long Island, NY
"Unlike the populist outdoor gear with geeky technical bells and whistles, this Barbour vest represents serious heavyweight comfort. Radiating exceptional warmth, this lined fleece fits well with the big Barbour jackets such as the light Endurance all the way to the heavy Border. It also works well by itself in moderate temperatures with windproof protection."
Review 13 for Barbour® Dunmoor Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Remarkable,
24 October 2012
By: WickedSharp
from Vernal, Utah
"I'm in love with the Barbour Dunmoor Fleece Vest. It is about time that someone start making fleece fashionable. And the all weather lining is fantastic."
Review 14 for Barbour® Dunmoor Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Too long for me,
02 October 2012
By: Fragar
from Central California
"If you are shorter and still need a size large for your body, this nice vest will hang to your hips. It is well made but quite long. Otherwise, fine product."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Barbour® Dunmoor Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great!,
20 January 2012
By: Monkey002
from Hants
"A surprise gift from my wife. Kept me completely warm just over a shirt in January. Loads of room for carts and warm hands! I wear it everywhere now.
Thanks lovely Wife (Jem) !"
Review 16 for Barbour® Dunmoor Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Barbour=quality,
16 January 2012
By: texastim
from tx
"Great quality construction. Of note, this is a longer vest than most others, so it hits below the waist. Also, the zipper zips from the other side.......european/woman style zipper."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Barbour® Dunmoor Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Functional and handsome,
09 December 2011
By: Peyton
"I just got back to the lodge after a pheasant in Nebraska. Layered The Dunmoore vest over a windproof sweater and found I had no need for anything else. It kept me warm and dry through heavy snowfall. The belows pockets held a box of shells without a hitch. I'm more than impressed with it. Another great product from the house of Barbour."
Review 18 for Barbour® Dunmoor Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My Favorite Vest,
14 November 2011
By: Mucksiegooma
from Northern Minnesota
"I purchased this vest a few years ago and I love it. It is warm and very comfortable. In real cold weather, here in Northern Minnesota, I layer it under my Barbour Dunmoor Fleece Shooting Jacket for complete warmth.
A great product."
Review 19 for Barbour® Dunmoor Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Barbour Vest,
31 August 2011
By: CASwede
from San Jose, CA
"I own several Barbour insulated sweaters and vests along with several Barbour casual shirts. I find Barbour products are made very well and stand up to hard wear over time. This vest is no exception. I bought the vest to layer with a lighter Barbour coat and I find it fits exactly that need. I appreciate the pockets both external and internal to secure valuable items. I look to many years of enjoyment for all the Barbour products and especially this latest addition."
Review 20 for Barbour® Dunmoor Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Disappointed for the Price,
26 April 2011
By: DDEL
from Boston
Good Value: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"The vest looks nice overall (though the zipper tab is a bit large), but I was disappointed when I tried it on. The zipper was very very difficult to catch - I had to put in alot of effort to get it zipped up. This didn't change with subsequent tries (I was hoping after the first it would get easier). Given the cost, I was surprised the main mechanism didn't work, and returned the item."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service Team28 April 2011
Orvis Customer Service contacted this customer and apologized that the vest did not meet his expectations, offering a full refund or an exchange. We appreciate our customer's feedback and are currently reviewing these quality concerns. Our goal is to make sure this vest is absolutely right. You can always shop with confidence at Orvis—everything we sell is backed by our unconditional 100% satisfaction guarantee.