Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit

Instead of the term “entry level,” we prefer to describe our new Encounter rod outfits as “affordable awesomeness.” Built for the hardcore angler, yet priced with frugality in mind, the Encounter rod series combines state-of-the-art rod design with a smooth, crisp performance—packaged with a large arbor Encounter reel, weight-forward floating line, backing, and leader. This solid 9' 8-weight Encounter outfit has all the power and performance anyone could ask at a price that will have you wondering, what's the catch? Backup or first big-game rod outfit, this is the finest you will ever buy at this price.
Average Customer Rating:
4.771 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (61 reviews)
5 stars
47
4 stars
14
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
61 of 61(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Review 1 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing service and great buy,
27 June 2015
By: Casinomac
from Bradenton, FL
"The fly fishing rod and reel was better than advertised. Not to mention the customer service I received clearing up a mistake in the order was above and beyond. I couldn't be more satisfied as a customer. Extremely impressed overall."
Review 2 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
just the right rod perfect,
03 June 2015
By: rickz
from downingtown,pa.
"i bought this rod for bass and carp and it works well and i highly recommend it."
Review 3 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Solid,
16 May 2015
By: CostalClay
from Spring branch
"Nice rod, easy to load and cast. The reel itself ifs tough and well piece together. Drags is very nice. Line and leader are awesome and casts very well. Already have landed a few bass and carp, and planing a trip out to the flats to nail some reds.
Bottom line- perfect backup/ salt water rod."
Review 4 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Value,
05 May 2015
By: VFTG
from Tampa Bay, FL
"Feels and casts like a much more expensive setup. I would not hesitate to buy another. Great back up or first Flyrod."
Review 5 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Solid Purchase,
20 April 2015
By: Mavis5
from Hollywood, Florida
"The rod and reel are well made for the price. The rod loads and cast well. Should work well for bonefish and seatrout."
Review 6 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice fly setup for the money,
02 February 2015
By: BenW86
"Haven't had a chance to try it yet but it looks and feels very good."
Review 7 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Affordable Awesomness,
30 January 2015
By: AlexDoubleU
"Bought this for my birthday and have only had the opportunity to whip it around in the backyard since it is below freezing here most of the time. It is great that Orvis provides a product for the general outdoorsman to buy and not break the bank. I have already planned a trip with Orvis in the spring, CANT WAIT!"
Review 8 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice outfit,
10 January 2015
By: Kensington
from Northeast US.
"Plan on using this for freshwater North American gamefish, specifically small mouth bass and exceptional specimens of chain pickerel and largemouth bass. Can tell it's made well and the reel seat stuff is nice looking and easy to use. I'll be using it to cast streamers and bulky flies that my 6 weight can't handle."
Review 9 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great deal,
29 December 2014
By: mikefromsantacruz
from Santa Cruz, Ca
"My first 8 weight. Different to throw vrs a 5 weight but super easy to get the hang of it. Great deal as well. They should include dots to allow easier rod assembly."
Review 10 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best value,
19 November 2014
By: Fishfriendlyman007
from Canada
"Purchased this rod for travel. Now it's all I use! Great feel and reel. Now leave the cane rod at home.
Ans you don't have to freak out if you drop it :)
"
Review 11 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good value,
14 November 2014
By: Pomfretian
from UK
"I purchased this outfit to go bonefishing but found it also to get an excellent small river salmon outfit"
Review 12 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JUST GET IT!,
14 November 2014
By: HuffDaddy
from Myrtle Beach, SC
"The price on this thing can't be beat by any other company. It's a high quality set up for a more than reasonable, if not generous price. If you're on the fence about quality, it has Orvis' name on it! I love mine and I'm glad I got it!"
Review 13 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great purchase,
27 October 2014
By: Dougie87
from Pittsburgh Area
"I just recently used the Encounter 8-weight 9' Rod outfit on my trip to lake Erie. It's a great rod for Steelhead. The greatest part is that it came with a case, leader, and tippet. Exceptional quality as usual with Orvis!"
Review 14 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
nice affordable setup,
21 October 2014
By: dank70
"based on my limited fly fishing knowledge and comparing it to other fly rods i own, the quality of this set up seems great for the price, can't wait to hook a steelhead on it!"
Review 15 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great deal on a great combo!,
07 October 2014
By: Hydedrift71
from Va
"I was in the market for a eight weight rod with enough backbone to throw large articulated streamers at big pre spawn brown trout. This rod absolutely performs that duty flawlessly. It easily shoots 350 gr sinking lines tipped with heavy streamers for those long and precise bank-hugging casts that are required when streamer fishing. Alone, the rod itself is worth the price paid for the combo. The fact that a very capable reel with a nice line is included is a real bonus! Highly recommended!"
Review 16 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
25 September 2014
By: Roach45
from Santa Clarita, Ca.
"Very nice outfit! My second Orvis combo (Clearwater 6W/9FT) I'm new to fly fishing, so my knowledge is very limited. I think this combo is perfect for beginners such as myself. All I can say is that I really like going after the bass in my local lakes with this rod!!!!!"
Review 17 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent value,
23 September 2014
By: seamusD
from Kerry,Ireland
"A well balanced kit that handles very well. It also packs nicely in my suitcase for travel."
Review 18 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Rod!,
17 September 2014
By: eLanese
from Cleveland, OH
"Great rod for a great price! I have used this rod multiple times so far and it casts like a champ."
Review 19 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is why we love Orvis...,
09 September 2014
By: Troutatemyhomework
from OREGON
"Called UPS every day to see when they would hand over this outfit. Hopefully the neighbors will keep to themselves now cus I'm casting it on the front lawn whenever I'm not on the water.
Excellent large arbor reel, with line AND a leader, you are ready to hit up your local steelhead run/saltwater flat the moment it gets to your door. Orvis makes it easy to hit the ground running for all of the anxious "patient" anglers around the world with these outfits they offer.
Can't wait to throw this in the hard case and hit the road for a good breaking in.
Thanks Orvis again for the consistency and quality that we all crave.
Go and spend your paycheck here, you'll be happy you did.
"
Review 20 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Buy!,
31 July 2014
By: FlyingFisherman1979
from Wiesbaden, Germany
"This is an excellent rod and reel for the money! I would recomend this rod to anyone for a first rod or back up to a more expensive one or to anyone on a budget. The 8 wt. seems quite suitable for black bass fishing and average sized pike."