Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit

Instead of the term “entry level,” we prefer to describe our new Encounter rod outfits as “affordable awesomeness.” Built for the hardcore angler, yet priced with frugality in mind, the Encounter rod series combines state-of-the-art rod design with a smooth, crisp performance—packaged with a large arbor Encounter reel, weight-forward floating line, backing, and leader. This solid 9' 8-weight Encounter outfit has all the power and performance anyone could ask at a price that will have you wondering, what's the catch? Backup or first big-game rod outfit, this is the finest you will ever buy at this price.
Average Customer Rating:
4.784 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (51 reviews)
5 stars
40
4 stars
11
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
51 of 51(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Review 1 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best value,
19 November 2014
By: Fishfriendlyman007
from Canada
"Purchased this rod for travel. Now it's all I use! Great feel and reel. Now leave the cane rod at home.
Ans you don't have to freak out if you drop it :)
"
Review 2 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good value,
14 November 2014
By: Pomfretian
from UK
"I purchased this outfit to go bonefishing but found it also to get an excellent small river salmon outfit"
Review 3 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JUST GET IT!,
14 November 2014
By: HuffDaddy
from Myrtle Beach, SC
"The price on this thing can't be beat by any other company. It's a high quality set up for a more than reasonable, if not generous price. If you're on the fence about quality, it has Orvis' name on it! I love mine and I'm glad I got it!"
Review 4 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great purchase,
27 October 2014
By: Dougie87
from Pittsburgh Area
"I just recently used the Encounter 8-weight 9' Rod outfit on my trip to lake Erie. It's a great rod for Steelhead. The greatest part is that it came with a case, leader, and tippet. Exceptional quality as usual with Orvis!"
Review 5 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
nice affordable setup,
21 October 2014
By: dank70
"based on my limited fly fishing knowledge and comparing it to other fly rods i own, the quality of this set up seems great for the price, can't wait to hook a steelhead on it!"
Review 6 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great deal on a great combo!,
07 October 2014
By: Hydedrift71
from Va
"I was in the market for a eight weight rod with enough backbone to throw large articulated streamers at big pre spawn brown trout. This rod absolutely performs that duty flawlessly. It easily shoots 350 gr sinking lines tipped with heavy streamers for those long and precise bank-hugging casts that are required when streamer fishing. Alone, the rod itself is worth the price paid for the combo. The fact that a very capable reel with a nice line is included is a real bonus! Highly recommended!"
Review 7 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
25 September 2014
By: Roach45
from Santa Clarita, Ca.
"Very nice outfit! My second Orvis combo (Clearwater 6W/9FT) I'm new to fly fishing, so my knowledge is very limited. I think this combo is perfect for beginners such as myself. All I can say is that I really like going after the bass in my local lakes with this rod!!!!!"
Review 8 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent value,
23 September 2014
By: seamusD
from Kerry,Ireland
"A well balanced kit that handles very well. It also packs nicely in my suitcase for travel."
Review 9 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Rod!,
17 September 2014
By: eLanese
from Cleveland, OH
"Great rod for a great price! I have used this rod multiple times so far and it casts like a champ."
Review 10 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is why we love Orvis...,
09 September 2014
By: Troutatemyhomework
from OREGON
"Called UPS every day to see when they would hand over this outfit. Hopefully the neighbors will keep to themselves now cus I'm casting it on the front lawn whenever I'm not on the water.
Excellent large arbor reel, with line AND a leader, you are ready to hit up your local steelhead run/saltwater flat the moment it gets to your door. Orvis makes it easy to hit the ground running for all of the anxious "patient" anglers around the world with these outfits they offer.
Can't wait to throw this in the hard case and hit the road for a good breaking in.
Thanks Orvis again for the consistency and quality that we all crave.
Go and spend your paycheck here, you'll be happy you did.
"
Review 11 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Buy!,
31 July 2014
By: FlyingFisherman1979
from Wiesbaden, Germany
"This is an excellent rod and reel for the money! I would recomend this rod to anyone for a first rod or back up to a more expensive one or to anyone on a budget. The 8 wt. seems quite suitable for black bass fishing and average sized pike."
Review 12 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect package for a beginner!,
25 July 2014
By: FlyingFisherman1979
from Wiesbaden, Germany
"I just got this in. Though I have not had a chance to cast it, I put it together and it feels great fro a rod and real in this price range. I would highly recomend this series of combos to beginners who want to get into the sport on a budget. I have the 8 Wt. which I think feels like it will be ideal for all black bass fishing and average size pike. I actually bought it in hopes of using it for pike in Germany, perhaps black bass in Spain or Italy, and I think it will do the job. The real seems to have a decent drag. Great bang for your buck!"
Review 13 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best purchase ever,
23 July 2014
By: Flyfishin2012
"What an excellent rod! It casts great! I'm so glad I made this choice. Thank you"
Review 14 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
04 July 2014
By: Bigmatt
"I bought this rod to fish large flies for stripers and smallmouth bass. The rod performed flawlessly. Although the real feels cheap it performs very well."
Review 15 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well Made,
04 July 2014
By: ParkeJ
"As usual with Orvis, the quality is there, along with beauty, balance & workmanship."
Review 16 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Value!!,
02 July 2014
By: DantheMusicMan
from Massachusetts
"I purchased the Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit with an eye to using it both on a pond for large bass and also for Atlantic Salmon in a river I fish. The package came the very next day - much quicker than I had expected. This was really appreciated as I had injured my back and its arrival picked up my spirits. I rigged it up and took a few casts on the lawn and was greatly impressed. It cast superbly. I will be getting out on the water in a few days to try it out on some big bass. I will most likely pick up a spare reel and sinking tip line also to go with this combo's floating line. Great product Orvis. This combo happily joins my other Orvis rods."
Review 17 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Happy purchase,
12 June 2014
By: fishstalker01
"Did some practice casts with rod . It is nice to handle good flow and to cast"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Encounter bonefish,
05 June 2014
By: Ajones10
from Texas
"This rod and reel outfit is a great price along with great performance especially for entry level saltwater fishing. It's casts great and very comparable to the Clearwater on touch
I recommend for those who need a backup rod or a heavier weight for occasional big game fishing
"
Review 19 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Rod and Reel Combo,
31 May 2014
By: GMAthur
from North East Ohio
"I fished the 8wt combo for the first time yesterday and it worked flawlessly. The rod casts extremely well. Great feel. I didn't have anything on the line that tested the reel but it looks well made and functions just fine. The fit and finish on the rod and reel was as good as any rod I own some which cost many times the price of this outfit.
I only gave the product four stars instead of five for a couple reasons. No alignment dots on the rod. Sure it's easy to add your own with a bottle of nail polish, but all rods in this day and age should come with them. And I have not owned the rod long enough to give a durability rating. Otherwise this is a great setup for any price."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Real nice combo,
11 May 2014
By: Jimiw
from Saint Cloud . Florida
"I got this combo and this is great.
The reel and rod are very well balanced and the line flows out great. Going fishing for reds. Handles bass great.
You will not be sorry for buying this combo. Ovris has a new customer.
"