Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit

Instead of the term “entry level,” we prefer to describe our new Encounter rod outfits as “affordable awesomeness.” Built for the hardcore angler, yet priced with frugality in mind, the Encounter rod series combines state-of-the-art rod design with a smooth, crisp performance—packaged with a large arbor Encounter reel, weight-forward floating line, backing, and leader. This solid 9' 8-weight Encounter outfit has all the power and performance anyone could ask at a price that will have you wondering, what's the catch? Backup or first big-game rod outfit, this is the finest you will ever buy at this price.
Average Customer Rating:
4.783 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (46 reviews)
5 stars
36
4 stars
10
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
46 of 46(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Review 1 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great deal on a great combo!,
07 October 2014
By: Hydedrift71
from Va
"I was in the market for a eight weight rod with enough backbone to throw large articulated streamers at big pre spawn brown trout. This rod absolutely performs that duty flawlessly. It easily shoots 350 gr sinking lines tipped with heavy streamers for those long and precise bank-hugging casts that are required when streamer fishing. Alone, the rod itself is worth the price paid for the combo. The fact that a very capable reel with a nice line is included is a real bonus! Highly recommended!"
Review 2 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
25 September 2014
By: Roach45
from Santa Clarita, Ca.
"Very nice outfit! My second Orvis combo (Clearwater 6W/9FT) I'm new to fly fishing, so my knowledge is very limited. I think this combo is perfect for beginners such as myself. All I can say is that I really like going after the bass in my local lakes with this rod!!!!!"
Review 3 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent value,
23 September 2014
By: seamusD
from Kerry,Ireland
"A well balanced kit that handles very well. It also packs nicely in my suitcase for travel."
Review 4 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Rod!,
17 September 2014
By: eLanese
from Cleveland, OH
"Great rod for a great price! I have used this rod multiple times so far and it casts like a champ."
Review 5 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is why we love Orvis...,
09 September 2014
By: Troutatemyhomework
from OREGON
"Called UPS every day to see when they would hand over this outfit. Hopefully the neighbors will keep to themselves now cus I'm casting it on the front lawn whenever I'm not on the water.
Excellent large arbor reel, with line AND a leader, you are ready to hit up your local steelhead run/saltwater flat the moment it gets to your door. Orvis makes it easy to hit the ground running for all of the anxious "patient" anglers around the world with these outfits they offer.
Can't wait to throw this in the hard case and hit the road for a good breaking in.
Thanks Orvis again for the consistency and quality that we all crave.
Go and spend your paycheck here, you'll be happy you did.
"
Review 6 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Buy!,
31 July 2014
By: FlyingFisherman1979
from Wiesbaden, Germany
"This is an excellent rod and reel for the money! I would recomend this rod to anyone for a first rod or back up to a more expensive one or to anyone on a budget. The 8 wt. seems quite suitable for black bass fishing and average sized pike."
Review 7 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect package for a beginner!,
25 July 2014
By: FlyingFisherman1979
from Wiesbaden, Germany
"I just got this in. Though I have not had a chance to cast it, I put it together and it feels great fro a rod and real in this price range. I would highly recomend this series of combos to beginners who want to get into the sport on a budget. I have the 8 Wt. which I think feels like it will be ideal for all black bass fishing and average size pike. I actually bought it in hopes of using it for pike in Germany, perhaps black bass in Spain or Italy, and I think it will do the job. The real seems to have a decent drag. Great bang for your buck!"
Review 8 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best purchase ever,
23 July 2014
By: Flyfishin2012
"What an excellent rod! It casts great! I'm so glad I made this choice. Thank you"
Review 9 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
04 July 2014
By: Bigmatt
"I bought this rod to fish large flies for stripers and smallmouth bass. The rod performed flawlessly. Although the real feels cheap it performs very well."
Review 10 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well Made,
04 July 2014
By: ParkeJ
"As usual with Orvis, the quality is there, along with beauty, balance & workmanship."
Review 11 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Value!!,
02 July 2014
By: DantheMusicMan
from Massachusetts
"I purchased the Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit with an eye to using it both on a pond for large bass and also for Atlantic Salmon in a river I fish. The package came the very next day - much quicker than I had expected. This was really appreciated as I had injured my back and its arrival picked up my spirits. I rigged it up and took a few casts on the lawn and was greatly impressed. It cast superbly. I will be getting out on the water in a few days to try it out on some big bass. I will most likely pick up a spare reel and sinking tip line also to go with this combo's floating line. Great product Orvis. This combo happily joins my other Orvis rods."
Review 12 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Happy purchase,
12 June 2014
By: fishstalker01
"Did some practice casts with rod . It is nice to handle good flow and to cast"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Encounter bonefish,
05 June 2014
By: Ajones10
from Texas
"This rod and reel outfit is a great price along with great performance especially for entry level saltwater fishing. It's casts great and very comparable to the Clearwater on touch
I recommend for those who need a backup rod or a heavier weight for occasional big game fishing
"
Review 14 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Rod and Reel Combo,
31 May 2014
By: GMAthur
from North East Ohio
"I fished the 8wt combo for the first time yesterday and it worked flawlessly. The rod casts extremely well. Great feel. I didn't have anything on the line that tested the reel but it looks well made and functions just fine. The fit and finish on the rod and reel was as good as any rod I own some which cost many times the price of this outfit.
I only gave the product four stars instead of five for a couple reasons. No alignment dots on the rod. Sure it's easy to add your own with a bottle of nail polish, but all rods in this day and age should come with them. And I have not owned the rod long enough to give a durability rating. Otherwise this is a great setup for any price."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Real nice combo,
11 May 2014
By: Jimiw
from Saint Cloud . Florida
"I got this combo and this is great.
The reel and rod are very well balanced and the line flows out great. Going fishing for reds. Handles bass great.
You will not be sorry for buying this combo. Ovris has a new customer.
"
Review 16 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for pike,
09 May 2014
By: vello
from Sweden
"Great rod for pike, casts very nice with a nice feeling.
Reel is also great, brake works smothly.
Line is slick but does get a bit stiff i cold weather with some memory /curls.
Overall, a great outfit.
"
Review 17 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
awsome,
07 May 2014
By: supersayianken
from milwaukee, wi
"Awsome rod awsome shipping just all around awsome...fly rod is even awsomer. Love it after receiving the fly rod I took it out and hooked up on a nice steelhead. Nice handling of the rod and very well balanced"
Review 18 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
new outfit,
29 April 2014
By: saratogasprings
"I have no complaints after my first outing except my arm is tired. if you are interested in fly fishing but don't want to make a huge investment this is a great place to start. As my fly fishing son told me," if you like this you're going to buy another rod." I got this to throw some bigger streamers and it will do that."
Review 19 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Can't Beat It,
24 April 2014
By: HottyToddy
from Georgia
"I have been fly-fishing in rivers and lakes for longer than I would like to state, and have always used Orvis rods.
Well I strayed while researching for my first Bone-fishing trip this year. I started looking elsewhere as I was unsure if I wanted to spend the money and quickly realized the error of my ways. While demoing and researching the competition a couple of months ago, I received my Orvis catalog and quickly quit wasting time and purchased the Encounter 8-weight. Trust me, you truly will not find a better deal out there, especially with the reliable Orvis quality. Do not waste your time and jump on this deal.
Glad I did, as it was on back order for a month due to popular demand. Received the rod, reel, case without issue and headed South in 2 weeks!"
Review 20 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very nice starter package.,
11 April 2014
By: troutnodoubt
from Minnesota lakes and streams.
"I ordered the rod/reel/carrier package in the Orvis store as the particular model I wanted was not in stock at the moment.
I received professional and friendly assistance in the Oak Brook, Il. store.
It shipped very quickly, and was very well packaged with the rod protector inside of a box contained within another box. Very securely done.
The reel has an appearance well above the price point and after promptly dropping it, I can report it is robust. It bounces nicely, too. The composite looks like anodized aluminum and is indistinguishable if you are concerned about a "plastic' appearance. Having the line pre-spooled and ready to go out of the box is a benefit for a new user like me.
The rod I choose was for larger species and the action seems well tuned for the application, but as a neophyte, I do not truly have the experience to rate it against others, but I find what I have to be flawless for the purpose. I can note the construction of the rod is very nice and the finish is comparable to others I examined in the store with much higher price tags.
The case is sturdy, the zipper is strong and the package includes a small drawstring bag for the reel. It's all there.
I'm quite pleased, and with the confidence of "Orvis" on the product, have no reservations in recommending this item to others"