Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Supercord Pants

Our Supercords have long lived up to their unique moniker-and now we've made them even better. Still made from genuine English corduroy from Brisbane Moss® of Lancashire, England-as they've been for 25 years-these popular pants now feature all the benefits of expert European tailoring. This truly exceptional corduroy fabric-arguably the world's finest-offers a soft, elegant finish with a distinct, refined look and fit that's simply beyond compare. Pants have improved interior taping and seaming details for longer wear. Leather-trimmed quarter-top pockets; two rear pockets, one with secure button-through closure. Pure cotton corduroy. Dry clean. Imported. Even waist sizes: 32-46. Cuffed up to 34" or plain finished up to 35" at no extra charge.
Average Customer Rating:
4.649 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (168 reviews)
5 stars
136
4 stars
16
3 stars
7
2 stars
7
1 star
2
154 of 168(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Supercord Pants
Review 1 for Supercord Pants
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Sizing,
18 December 2014
By: Mainwaring
from Herefordshire, England.
"Orvis are losing the plot or should I say SIZE. Many happy years and pairs of dependable trousers, only to find that both the accuracy of published size and cut of seat has changed. I note that these trousers are made in the EC. Is this a case of metric conversion?
Mainwaring is the same size so why has Orvis changed.
"
Review 2 for Supercord Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Supercord fans,
16 December 2014
By: Pennsylvanianbc66
"My order of Orvis' "supercord" pants arrived several days before Thanksgiving, and I wore them on that holiday. My daughter-in-law admired them and asked me to get a pair for her husband for Christmas. The pants are comfortable, warm, and stylish...a superb gift for the fall and winter season."
Review 3 for Supercord Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Cords I've seen...,
14 December 2014
By: BlueKrush
from Loveland, CO
"I've looked at these for quite sometime. Was tired of other so called premium brands falling way short of expectations. The quality is nothing short of world class. They fit like an old friend and are my favorite pair of pants....hands down. The price paid is exceptional value and I look forward to many years of wearing and adventure. The leather trimmed pockets are comfortable and stylish. The fabric is thick, soft and simply the best. Well worth the dollars spent and glad I took the chance; you will too. Thanks Orvis!"
Review 4 for Supercord Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classy and Quality,
14 December 2014
By: WandererGT
from New Mexico, USA
"The cut and quality of these trousers is remarkable. I was cautious buying these via the web without trying them on. I have only worn them a few times so far but they have earned rave compliments around the office. The material looks and feels far superior to the cheaper corduroys I have owned. I followed the advice of a few other reviewers and machine washed them to break them in a bit and they look all the better for it. These are outstanding."
Review 5 for Supercord Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fit,
09 December 2014
By: Bill5678
"The cords fit well and are comfortable. They are the large cords rather than the tin "baby cords.""
Review 6 for Supercord Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
valuable purchase,
08 December 2014
By: Jcoleman
"Everything we have purchased had been outstanding.
Thank you, Orvis"
Review 7 for Supercord Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Specia Gift,
06 December 2014
By: nauset
from Cape Cod MA
"Great style, rich fabric and nice touch
of leather on the pocket. Makes it special!
"
Review 8 for Supercord Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Superb Pair of Trousers,
06 December 2014
By: Edward66ah
from San Antonio,Tx
"These are a superb pair of trousers that hang well on my 6'2, 250 pound frame.
Readily apparent that these quality cords are built to last and withstand the rigors of my constant traveling.
Have already received first compliment from my most discriminating critic--my wife.
First pair is olive. Second purchase-brown.
"
Review 9 for Supercord Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Superior Cords!,
04 December 2014
By: jbelljbell
from Pigeon Forge, TN
"The look, feel, warmth, and workmanship of Orvis Super Cords are simply outstanding-- could almost make one wish for a COLD WINTER DAY, so as to wear them! Well worth the price!"
Review 10 for Supercord Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Cords,
04 December 2014
By: nicefind
from Philadelphia, Pa
"Just oicked these up they are wonderfully made , and I love the leather trim on the pockets...I purchased the olive ones will be getting the other colors soon"
Review 11 for Supercord Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
pants,
02 December 2014
By: Robertfish
from Midlothian, Va.
"Pants are great, fit properly. Only problem requested cuffs....came uncuffed, too much trouble to return."
Review 12 for Supercord Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Pants,
30 November 2014
By: CoffeeGuy
from Elizabethtown, KY
"Great cords...If your looking for an exceptional pair of cords here they are..Very well made and sharp looking.
I purchased the chocolate brown cause they look so good with a black 3/4 zip...I will probably buy several of the other colors.
"
Review 13 for Supercord Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
GOOD CORDS,
27 November 2014
By: TALLJACK
from NORTH YORKSHIRE UK
"THE PLEATED CORDS GIVE A VERY COMFORTABLE RELAXED FIT WOULD HAVE BEEN A 5 STAR BUT THE PRICE IS A LITTLE STEEP"
Review 14 for Supercord Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Still great,
23 November 2014
By: GeordieLad
from UK
"I now own four pairs of these. The two that I have just bought do not seem to have the same heft as the two pairs bought a few years ago but they look smarter for that.
They are still great trousers — backed by the Orvis guarantee — and well worth the money."
Review 15 for Supercord Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sleek, soft and warm,
17 November 2014
By: urizen
from Fredericton, NB, Canada
"I could live and sleep in these pants year round. The extra touch of faux-leather gives this garment a smart and even sophisticated look and feel"
Review 16 for Supercord Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Greata sthe pair I bought ten years ago,
11 November 2014
By: Hephastion
from Calumet
"I bought the same pants about ten years ago. I have been wearing them every year until the last year when I had gained some weight and they would not fit. Bought a new pair in Olive, my favorite color. They are lovely, feel great and wear very well. You could not get a better pant. I love them and have recommended them to several friends."
Review 17 for Supercord Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
OOPS! forgot to mention,
07 November 2014
By: sebagodan
"I failed to comment on the "line dry" issue in my last review. Again, I am picky about trouser length so I do not order them prefinished. Before taking them to the tailor, I first machine wash cold and tumble dry on low heat at home. I do this to make sure that any shrinkage that will occur does so before they are finished. I dry clean from then on. I also think that the machine wash and tumble dry softens the fabric even more and gives the pants that "campy" feel and look that I love."
Review 18 for Supercord Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Update: I Stand Corrected,
07 November 2014
By: sebagodan
"On or about a year ago, I wrote a negative review because of what I perceived as tailoring changes in my favorite cords: the Supercord. As I write this review I am wearing a pair that is at least 12 years old and in perfect shape. While Orvis denies that it ever made any tailoring changes in this pant, I am so happy to tell anyone that I recently took another stab at ordering a pair and they are clearly of the same quality and cut of the old pairs that I have grown to love.
If you love a traditional, heavy, yet comfortable corduroy, then get a pair or two or three. They will get more comfortable with each passing year. Your friends and even strangers will ask where you got them. The worlds greatest corduroy trouser is alive and well at Orvis.
By the way: someone wrote a review that the new Supercords could not be laundered. It ain't so! While the label says "dry clean only," if you laundered your old ones, you can launder these. In fact, I launder them before I take them to my tailor to have them cuffed to make sure that any shrinkage is done. Then I dry clean after that. These are the same pants I purchased 12-15 years ago. So I say if you were content to launder your old supercords, then do the same with the new ones. Dry cleaning will undoubtedly add to the trousers' longevity which probably accounts for the care label.
"
Review 19 for Supercord Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product,
06 November 2014
By: Vicvet1
"Excellent quality. Perfect fit.
Brown trim accentuates appearance.
"
Review 20 for Supercord Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
brilliant quality and look great,
04 November 2014
By: montymorris
from North West UK
"these are excellent cords, highly recommend, will only ever buy Orvis, due to the quality fit and look
Keep up the good work Orvis, we live in your lovely clothes !"