Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Supercord Pants

Our Supercords have long lived up to their unique moniker-and now we've made them even better. Still made from genuine English corduroy from Brisbane Moss® of Lancashire, England-as they've been for 25 years-these popular pants now feature all the benefits of expert European tailoring. This truly exceptional corduroy fabric-arguably the world's finest-offers a soft, elegant finish with a distinct, refined look and fit that's simply beyond compare. Pants have improved interior taping and seaming details for longer wear. Leather-trimmed quarter-top pockets; two rear pockets, one with secure button-through closure. Pure cotton corduroy. Dry clean. Imported. Even waist sizes: 32-46. Cuffed up to 34" or plain finished up to 35" at no extra charge.
Average Customer Rating:
4.643 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (154 reviews)
5 stars
124
4 stars
15
3 stars
7
2 stars
6
1 star
2
141 of 154(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Supercord Pants
Review 1 for Supercord Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sleek, soft and warm,
17 November 2014
By: urizen
from Fredericton, NB, Canada
"I could live and sleep in these pants year round. The extra touch of faux-leather gives this garment a smart and even sophisticated look and feel"
Review 2 for Supercord Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Greata sthe pair I bought ten years ago,
11 November 2014
By: Hephastion
from Calumet
"I bought the same pants about ten years ago. I have been wearing them every year until the last year when I had gained some weight and they would not fit. Bought a new pair in Olive, my favorite color. They are lovely, feel great and wear very well. You could not get a better pant. I love them and have recommended them to several friends."
Review 3 for Supercord Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
OOPS! forgot to mention,
07 November 2014
By: sebagodan
"I failed to comment on the "line dry" issue in my last review. Again, I am picky about trouser length so I do not order them prefinished. Before taking them to the tailor, I first machine wash cold and tumble dry on low heat at home. I do this to make sure that any shrinkage that will occur does so before they are finished. I dry clean from then on. I also think that the machine wash and tumble dry softens the fabric even more and gives the pants that "campy" feel and look that I love."
Review 4 for Supercord Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Update: I Stand Corrected,
07 November 2014
By: sebagodan
"On or about a year ago, I wrote a negative review because of what I perceived as tailoring changes in my favorite cords: the Supercord. As I write this review I am wearing a pair that is at least 12 years old and in perfect shape. While Orvis denies that it ever made any tailoring changes in this pant, I am so happy to tell anyone that I recently took another stab at ordering a pair and they are clearly of the same quality and cut of the old pairs that I have grown to love.
If you love a traditional, heavy, yet comfortable corduroy, then get a pair or two or three. They will get more comfortable with each passing year. Your friends and even strangers will ask where you got them. The worlds greatest corduroy trouser is alive and well at Orvis.
By the way: someone wrote a review that the new Supercords could not be laundered. It ain't so! While the label says "dry clean only," if you laundered your old ones, you can launder these. In fact, I launder them before I take them to my tailor to have them cuffed to make sure that any shrinkage is done. Then I dry clean after that. These are the same pants I purchased 12-15 years ago. So I say if you were content to launder your old supercords, then do the same with the new ones. Dry cleaning will undoubtedly add to the trousers' longevity which probably accounts for the care label.
"
Review 5 for Supercord Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product,
06 November 2014
By: Vicvet1
"Excellent quality. Perfect fit.
Brown trim accentuates appearance.
"
Review 6 for Supercord Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
brilliant quality and look great,
04 November 2014
By: montymorris
from North West UK
"these are excellent cords, highly recommend, will only ever buy Orvis, due to the quality fit and look
Keep up the good work Orvis, we live in your lovely clothes !"
Review 7 for Supercord Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Quality Corduroy,
04 November 2014
By: LuapRekab
from Raleigh, NC
"Traditional tailoring, leather faced pockets with proper nap and number of wales per inch to make a superlative hand for Winter wear. I bought two pairs to fit cool weather here in The South. Can use for dress or casual purposes."
Review 8 for Supercord Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fabulous cords,
03 October 2014
By: gerryj19
from Marblehead, MA
"The first pair of these that I ordered was too large and had to be returned. But the second pair I bought were perfect. I love the styling and they are very, very comfortable."
Review 9 for Supercord Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
post transplant comfortable,
02 October 2014
By: gunslickvn6869
from little falls,Mn
"Having a kidney transplant some years back has left me in a position where finding a good comfortable pair of quality pants hard if impossible to find. Well not any longer thanks to these super chords. They are so comfortable I don't even experience the pain in my right lower stomach area like I used to have with every other pair of pants I have purchased. They are the most relaxed pants I own. Matter of fact I bought six pair over the last three years because there that comfortable and of the highest quality. I wear them all year round."
Review 10 for Supercord Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding!!,
18 September 2014
By: Willyam
from Springfield, MO
"Heavy cords, nice leather, outstanding quality for a winter day! Looks like they will last a long time. Very pleased!"
Review 11 for Supercord Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Cords!,
01 September 2014
By: Burtdawg
from New York, NY
"Lovely smooth hand to the cloth. Nice weight, and very good tailoring. I look forward to wearing this come the cold weather. The size is just right. Very good product for the money."
Review 12 for Supercord Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great cords,
10 June 2014
By: 1Bilbo2
from North Wales.GB
"Good quality product, with leather tabs to pocket edges to save fraying.
Its good to see a cord trouser product that wont wear out at knee.
Would consider buying a second pair. Extremely comfortable and warm.
"
Review 13 for Supercord Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The real deal,
24 April 2014
By: MWShropshireLad
from England
"Velvet soft and very stylish; for those country walks or a day at the races. Brilliantly made and beautiful to wear."
Review 14 for Supercord Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great cords,
22 March 2014
By: chili
from connecticut yankee/Nguyen Tu
"pricey but if you can get these on sale, they're the kind of pants that are made to last for a very long, long, time. And, they're warm."
Review 15 for Supercord Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Will last a long time,
06 March 2014
By: lennydemit
"The color of the pants was even better than online. The material was soft and smooth and the fit was perfect. My wife thinks this may be the best cords I ever owned."
Review 16 for Supercord Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Soft Cords.,
05 March 2014
By: cbh85
"This is the nicest pair of corduroy pants if have ever owned. Soft and nice looking"
Review 17 for Supercord Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warm, comfortable, dressy casual,
03 March 2014
By: Guate
from Philadelphia. PA
"I like corduroys in general. These cords especially hold their shape, fit nicely and are "wear worthy" and in miserably cold weather keep you from the penetration of a cold, icy wind. They are comfortable dressy and practical. And I beleive I will be wearing them all year around."
Review 18 for Supercord Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As Always,
20 February 2014
By: Drum
from Chicago, IL
"These cords were exactly what I thought they would be. I wore them the next day!"
Review 19 for Supercord Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding,
18 February 2014
By: Winterwind
"The finest corduroy I have ever worn. They are truly distinct and refined and are well worth the price.
I ordered one pair and when they arrived I ordered an additional pair.
"
Review 20 for Supercord Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Super Cords,
13 February 2014
By: Check
from Chapel Hill, NC
"If you like heavy super cords, you will love these!"