Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Premium Moleskin Field Trousers

The highest-quality premium English moleskin, heavily washed for a soft and pliable hand without compromising its durability, is expertly tailored in Europe to lend these field trousers a superior fit and finish. The pure cotton fabric is, at 12 oz., 40% more robust than our Ratcatcher moleskin for rugged wear. Plain front field trousers with button closure. Mock-suede trim resists wear. Coin pocket. Double mock-leather centre-back belt loop. Button-through rear pockets. 100% cotton moleskin. Dry clean. Even waist sizes: 32-46. Finished up to 35" or 34" with turn-ups, at no extra charge.
Average Customer Rating:
4.458 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
1
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
1
21 of 24(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Premium Moleskin Field Trousers
Review 1 for Premium Moleskin Field Trousers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very comfortable and well designed,
08 December 2014
By: splumb
"The faux leather trim on the pockets is a very nice detail--and practical. I now have five different style/cloth trousers from ORVIS and love them all.
Well made, well designed!
"
Review 2 for Premium Moleskin Field Trousers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Luxury in Motion,
02 December 2014
By: AvidUplander
from Casper, WY
"These are what moleskin is about. Heavy, but not dense. The perfect Moleskin pants to where to you hunting lodge or camp. Rugged enough to chase birds on the way, luxurious enough for dinner anywhere. Great fit throughout the waste, seat and legs for an average guy."
Review 3 for Premium Moleskin Field Trousers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good looking,
29 November 2014
By: RLWatts
from Arkansas
"The pant is very soft and warm. The trim on the pockets is a nice touch to a good looking pant!"
Review 4 for Premium Moleskin Field Trousers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love These Pants,
28 November 2014
By: LakeShoreBob
from Chicago, IL
"I just bought my third pair of these moleskin pants. Not only do they look good, but they are the warmest, most comfortable pants I have ever owned."
Review 5 for Premium Moleskin Field Trousers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great pants,
27 November 2014
By: WBruce
from Atlanta
"These pants are made from super dense British fabric. The fabric serves as an effective windbreaker. They are very comfortable with a roomy fit. (keep that in mind when choosing a waist size.) They are also stylish enough to do double duty as dress pants. They cost a bit more than the regular moleskin pants but are absolutely a great value."
Review 6 for Premium Moleskin Field Trousers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Highly Recommend,
21 November 2014
By: big10red
from Madison, WI
"These moleskin pants are well made, stylish, and comfortable. And, they are warm as well. The faux leather trim is a fine touch and sets these pants apart."
Review 7 for Premium Moleskin Field Trousers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warmth & Comfort,
17 November 2014
By: Jimmy1234
"These pants are very comfortable, stylish and warm."
Review 8 for Premium Moleskin Field Trousers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warm, Comfortable and Stylish !!,
02 November 2014
By: jjscotman
from Edinburgh, Scotland, UK
"I bought these trousers a couple of months ago but only started wearing them recently when the weather in Scotland turned cooler.
I found them warm and comfortable and think they will be ideal for the winter months.
They also look quite stylish so I can certainly recommend them to potential purchasers.
"
Review 9 for Premium Moleskin Field Trousers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RUGGED,
18 October 2014
By: ROBSCOT
from NC
"This is not my first pair of these pants--I have worn them hill walking in the Scottish Highlands where wet and cold are pretty much the norm. They are superbly comfortable and warm without a lot of weight and they fit snugly while allowing considerable freedom of movement. At the end of the day they look good enough to be "dressy" in a rustic sort of way. They remind me pleasantly of gear worn by outdoor people in the 30's/40's.The material is woven in England by Brisbane Moss who are the gold standard for moleskin. Would expect to pay a lot more. An outstanding product."
Review 10 for Premium Moleskin Field Trousers
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great moleskin pants,
03 October 2014
By: gerryj19
from Marblehead, MA
"These pants are very well made and they seem to be durable as well. They're warm and comfortable and I like the faux leather trim as I think it adds to the stylishness of the pants."
Review 11 for Premium Moleskin Field Trousers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Field Kakhis,
07 May 2014
By: TravelinFan
from Richmond, Va.
"Great pants. Looks great, durable and comfortable. The material they are made from is unique in a good way."
Review 12 for Premium Moleskin Field Trousers
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
stop changing care instructions on same pants,
17 February 2014
By: stevecs
"I've bought the "premium moleskin field pants" for several years and really like how they hold up. However orvis keeps changing where they are made which affects quality between purchases and now the care instructions are different. Old ones were machine was or dry clean, current ones are dry clean only. This changes the value proposition of the trousers."
Review 13 for Premium Moleskin Field Trousers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best pants I ever owned,
28 January 2014
By: Canalwalker
from Cape Cod,Ma.
"These are by far the best pants that I have ever owned.The size and fit are right on.They can be worn as casual or dress pants. I get nothing but compliments from friends and strangers. They want to know where I purchased them. My favorite pair of pants!"
Review 14 for Premium Moleskin Field Trousers
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good but with Reservations,
15 January 2014
By: FrequentOrvisCustomer
from New York, NY
"I own a previous version of this pair of pants from last year. They were manufactured in Sri Lanka - fabric was top quality and both fit and finish were spot on perfect and those pants are wearing like iron. These are unfortunately not last years pants. They are not bad, they just are not as good. This years are manufactured in Portugal. Although, both pants are 100% cotton moleskin, last years were machine wash and dry, made for easy maintenance; this years is dry clean only. Not only is that an added expense, but extra maintenance work, both an annoying disadvantage. The fabric appears to be of comparable quality, but the fit and finish are decidedly not. I had to order a 34'' waist, although my last years 32'' still fit perfectly after many washing and drying cycles, and all my other Orvis pants remain a 32". Additionally, after 3 launderings, the pant's side seam near the right pocket opened up and had to be repaired. That being said, if you don't mind buying a larger size to compensate for the poor sizing quality control & narrower seat sizing and have to be on the look out for seams opening, they are comfortable warm pants. My last years pants are wearing like iron, the verdict is out on these lasting as long. In the end I still like them, just wish Orvis would return to the manufacturer from previous years and machine wash/dry."
Review 15 for Premium Moleskin Field Trousers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stylish Anywhere,
15 January 2014
By: Styleman
from Darien, CT
"These moleskin pants are suitable with a flannel shirt or even a sports coat. They are warm for winter wear and rugged for the outdoors. They are washable and easy to maintain."
Review 16 for Premium Moleskin Field Trousers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
perfect,
15 January 2014
By: rmph
from oklahoma
"Boy is it a cold winter! these pants are just what the doctor ordered.Warm ,comfortable,fit well . I couldn't be happier."
Review 17 for Premium Moleskin Field Trousers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I like these pants,
15 January 2014
By: Mike70
from De Pere, WI
"The premium mole skin pants are tailored very well. They fit me, yet are very comfortable. They are very warm in the winter, yet not overly so in the spring and fall. They are truly a 3 season garment that looks good and feels comfortable for any casual occaision. I like to be outdoors hiking through the woods as well as enjoying a drink in front of the fire and dinner with friends. The moleskins fit these occaisions well. They are just me"
Review 18 for Premium Moleskin Field Trousers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warm and Comfortable,
30 December 2013
By: Mgpie
from Buffalo NY
"I am really enjoying the comfort of my moleskin pants, in fact I just purchased a second pair in another color. I wear them for casual dress and find them warmer than cordoroys for winter temps. The "leather" trim on the pockets not only protects but adds a bit of style."
Review 19 for Premium Moleskin Field Trousers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great quality, great fabric,
29 December 2013
By: midwgirl
from Birchwood, WI
"These have a wonderful cut and fit, are very comfortable, and would work equally well for sporting activities, and casual social occasions. Very warm."
Review 20 for Premium Moleskin Field Trousers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very good but needs to be washable,
26 November 2013
By: likestowalk
from Omaha, NE
"I have used your premium moleskin field pants (HS8P74) for decades in Omaha weather. Styles have changed but quality has been superior after very many washings. The only signs of wear have been in the pockets which is easily repaired with iron on patches. Recent catalogs have shown dry clean only. Please bring back "washable " fabric. Adding brown to color choices would be nice. My collection is full of olive."