Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Premium Moleskin Field Pants

The highest-quality premium English moleskin, heavily washed for a soft and pliable hand without compromising its durability, then expertly tailored in Europe for a superior fit and finish. The pure cotton fabric is, at 11 oz., 40% more robust than our Ratcatcher moleskin for rugged wear. Our field pants have a plain front with button closure. Mock-suede trim resists wear. Coin pocket. Double mock-leather center-back belt loop. Button-through rear pockets. Pure cotton moleskin. Dry clean. Imported. Even waist sizes: 32-46. Cuffed up to 34" or plain finished up to 35" at no extra charge.
Average Customer Rating:
4.077 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
0
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
1
10 of 13(77%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Premium Moleskin Field Pants
Review 1 for Premium Moleskin Field Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Field Kakhis,
07 May 2014
By: TravelinFan
from Richmond, Va.
"Great pants. Looks great, durable and comfortable. The material they are made from is unique in a good way."
Review 2 for Premium Moleskin Field Pants
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
stop changing care instructions on same pants,
17 February 2014
By: stevecs
"I've bought the "premium moleskin field pants" for several years and really like how they hold up. However orvis keeps changing where they are made which affects quality between purchases and now the care instructions are different. Old ones were machine was or dry clean, current ones are dry clean only. This changes the value proposition of the trousers."
Review 3 for Premium Moleskin Field Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best pants I ever owned,
28 January 2014
By: Canalwalker
from Cape Cod,Ma.
"These are by far the best pants that I have ever owned.The size and fit are right on.They can be worn as casual or dress pants. I get nothing but compliments from friends and strangers. They want to know where I purchased them. My favorite pair of pants!"
Review 4 for Premium Moleskin Field Pants
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good but with Reservations,
15 January 2014
By: FrequentOrvisCustomer
from New York, NY
"I own a previous version of this pair of pants from last year. They were manufactured in Sri Lanka - fabric was top quality and both fit and finish were spot on perfect and those pants are wearing like iron. These are unfortunately not last years pants. They are not bad, they just are not as good. This years are manufactured in Portugal. Although, both pants are 100% cotton moleskin, last years were machine wash and dry, made for easy maintenance; this years is dry clean only. Not only is that an added expense, but extra maintenance work, both an annoying disadvantage. The fabric appears to be of comparable quality, but the fit and finish are decidedly not. I had to order a 34'' waist, although my last years 32'' still fit perfectly after many washing and drying cycles, and all my other Orvis pants remain a 32". Additionally, after 3 launderings, the pant's side seam near the right pocket opened up and had to be repaired. That being said, if you don't mind buying a larger size to compensate for the poor sizing quality control & narrower seat sizing and have to be on the look out for seams opening, they are comfortable warm pants. My last years pants are wearing like iron, the verdict is out on these lasting as long. In the end I still like them, just wish Orvis would return to the manufacturer from previous years and machine wash/dry."
Review 5 for Premium Moleskin Field Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stylish Anywhere,
15 January 2014
By: Styleman
from Darien, CT
"These moleskin pants are suitable with a flannel shirt or even a sports coat. They are warm for winter wear and rugged for the outdoors. They are washable and easy to maintain."
Review 6 for Premium Moleskin Field Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
perfect,
15 January 2014
By: rmph
from oklahoma
"Boy is it a cold winter! these pants are just what the doctor ordered.Warm ,comfortable,fit well . I couldn't be happier."
Review 7 for Premium Moleskin Field Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I like these pants,
15 January 2014
By: Mike70
from De Pere, WI
"The premium mole skin pants are tailored very well. They fit me, yet are very comfortable. They are very warm in the winter, yet not overly so in the spring and fall. They are truly a 3 season garment that looks good and feels comfortable for any casual occaision. I like to be outdoors hiking through the woods as well as enjoying a drink in front of the fire and dinner with friends. The moleskins fit these occaisions well. They are just me"
Review 8 for Premium Moleskin Field Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warm and Comfortable,
30 December 2013
By: Mgpie
from Buffalo NY
"I am really enjoying the comfort of my moleskin pants, in fact I just purchased a second pair in another color. I wear them for casual dress and find them warmer than cordoroys for winter temps. The "leather" trim on the pockets not only protects but adds a bit of style."
Review 9 for Premium Moleskin Field Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great quality, great fabric,
29 December 2013
By: midwgirl
from Birchwood, WI
"These have a wonderful cut and fit, are very comfortable, and would work equally well for sporting activities, and casual social occasions. Very warm."
Review 10 for Premium Moleskin Field Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very good but needs to be washable,
26 November 2013
By: likestowalk
from Omaha, NE
"I have used your premium moleskin field pants (HS8P74) for decades in Omaha weather. Styles have changed but quality has been superior after very many washings. The only signs of wear have been in the pockets which is easily repaired with iron on patches. Recent catalogs have shown dry clean only. Please bring back "washable " fabric. Adding brown to color choices would be nice. My collection is full of olive."
Review 11 for Premium Moleskin Field Pants
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
premium quality moleskin trousers,
19 November 2013
By: merlin03
from Somerset
"I have purchased many pairs of Orvis moleskin trousers over the years and have always been pleased with the quality and fit. However this year they are not up to the usual high standard as they were slightly small in size. I measured them to confirm this and the material used did not seem to be of the same standard / quality either. I note from the labels in my trousers that previously they were made in Sri Lanka and are now made in Portugal. I would also prefer them to be machine washable as my older moleskin trousers are and not dry clean only . They have now been returned. This is disappointing as i thought these trousers were previously of excellent quality. Sorry Orvis this is the first time i have had to return your products. They were in my opinion to expensive and not good value for the money."
Review 12 for Premium Moleskin Field Pants
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Disappointing,
11 November 2013
By: DRCB
from Colorado
"These pants are not as good looking as the picture, nor is the quality up to what I was expecting from Orvis and the price point. Fit was tight with a sparing cut that was somewhat uncomfortable in thigh and crotch. The biggest disappointment was the nylon zipper...I was expecting brass. After 3 dry cleanings the zipper has a kink."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service Team05 December 2013
Orvis contacted this customer and thanked him for his honest feedback. We passed these customer comments on to our product developers for review—these hard-working folks are always striving to improve our products and comments such as these help guide that process. Orvis will happily exchange or refund any purchase; we want our customers to be happy with all of their Orvis items.
Review 13 for Premium Moleskin Field Pants
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
What's with the Suede?,
09 October 2013
By: Wonderdog
from Weston MA
"I got brown suede trim on slate pants. I don't need no stink in' suede trim let alone reddish brown trim on bluish gray slacks.
I returned them."
0 of 3 people found this review helpful.