Orvis Ratings and Reviews

New Battenkill® Field Watch

A simple, no-nonsense approach to timekeeping, the field watch has long been preferred by military personnel, sportsmen, and anyone requiring a rugged, reliable, easy-to-read wristwatch. Housed in a non-reflective, brushed stainless steel case, it displays the date at the 3 o'clock position and features a large crown for fast, easy adjustments. Luminous numbers and hands for visibility in low-light conditions. Quartz movement. Nylon canvas band is trimmed with leather tips for added durability. Case diameter 40mm. Water resistant to 100 feet. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
3.647 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
2
12 of 17(71%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for New Battenkill® Field Watch
Review 1 for New Battenkill® Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Watch Performance,
19 July 2014
By: kkkl
from Cincinnati,OH
"Disappointed in watch performance after 2 weeks. Purchased this watch after returning my original Orvis watch and within 2 weeks this watch stopped working. Thought it was battery, had it replaced and still no luck, will have to return to Orvis again for replacement. Good news, no hassle on the returns."
Review 2 for New Battenkill® Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
unfortunate sizing of strap,
15 July 2014
By: Hapnet
"I bought this watch for my son and he loves the watch itself but the canvas/leather strap is much too long. Several jewelers and leathersmiths have said they could not retrofit the strap so sadly, he will have to return the watch."
Review 3 for New Battenkill® Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Watch!,
02 July 2014
By: Kitchenguy
from Fort Worth, Texas, USA
"Some initial trouble with getting the order right, but the exchange was made and still ahead of the originally promised date. It is a good sized watch. The band is a tad too large, local modification to add a couple of holes to tighten it up to fit a smaller wrist. Looking forward to proving trials in Colorado and Idaho, later this month."
Review 4 for New Battenkill® Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battenkill field watch,
27 May 2014
By: willytheshark
from Scotish highland
"Great watch when in the field, nice easy read dial good value for money"
Review 5 for New Battenkill® Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
oops,
14 May 2014
By: billymacII
"Great looking watch, and I really wanted it, HOWEVER, it came to be broken. The locking clasp was broken off. Had to send back. :("
Review 6 for New Battenkill® Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
awful watch,
10 May 2014
By: bobbyk
from pittsburgh,Pa
"I purchased this watch 90 days ago and it has stopped keeping accurate time even with a new battery installed. And the band is too big as well. Would not consider buying another Orvis watch."
Review 7 for New Battenkill® Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Watch,
01 May 2014
By: WVTrout48
from Cedar Rapids, IA
"Very sturdy and durable. Band is a little big, had to punch another hole. One perk is it comes in a really nice leather box! highly recommend!!"
Review 8 for New Battenkill® Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
25 February 2014
By: Carson3456
"The watch looks really good on the surface. When you put it on, the band is much too large. On the tightest notch, it still flopped around my wrist. I loved the look, but it just doesn't fit."
Review 9 for New Battenkill® Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Unique Field Watch,
13 January 2014
By: Spartan
from Grand Rapids, Michigan
"Very good looking watch. I especially like the color of the hour numbers - Spartan Green.
The watch band is fairly big so those folks with large wrists will probably find the fit ok...if you have an average or small size wrist...this watch will simply be too big for your wrist...
"
Review 10 for New Battenkill® Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sleek but casual,
02 January 2014
By: Ferriswheel
from Georgia
"I received the watch as a gift from wife. It is a great looking watch that can be worn with jeans or khakis and fit right in."
Review 11 for New Battenkill® Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very comfortable,
26 December 2013
By: quality2
from Rochester, MN.
"Bought this watch for my husband as a gift, he says it is very comfortable and easy to read the face even in poor lit conditions.
The face is large and numbers are easy to read. Sporty looking and very nice band.
Can be worn for work or just everyday.
"
Review 12 for New Battenkill® Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great watch,
17 December 2013
By: dvsmithe
"Nice watch for the price and the packaging was very nice to give as a gift."
Review 13 for New Battenkill® Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Recommended for large-boned people only,
03 December 2013
By: JFWoodswalker
from Southern Indiana
"Good: I've had this watch for 5 weeks or so, and it keeps very accurate time. It's quite thick and appears to be pretty rugged. Bad (and the reason my 'would-recommend' is seriously qualified): The wrist band is much too long. On the band's tightest notch, the watch flops around on my wrist distractingly. (I'm average size, have 2 other Orvis watches and have not previously encountered this problem.) I phoned Orvis to ask if smaller bands are available. They aren't."
Review 14 for New Battenkill® Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Easy to read,
16 November 2013
By: Wass1
from Bakersfield, CA
"Large face with luminescence hands and numbers make it very easy to read. Nice styling and size. A little heavy but that what makes it so nice and manly! Besides...It has the crossed rods logo!"
Review 15 for New Battenkill® Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to Read Watch,
10 November 2013
By: russkeepers
from St. Michaels, MD
"Great clear numbers with glow in dark material. date is nice size as well. band is tough and durable I should get years of use out of this watch."
Review 16 for New Battenkill® Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Field Watch,
04 November 2013
By: RHock
"The watch is too thick and heavy. The wrist band was too large for me. I had to punch another hole to reduce the circumference to fit my wrist."
Ratings-Only Reviews for New Battenkill® Field Watch
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1