Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Encounter Spin/Fly Combo

It's a spinning rod. No, it's a fly rod. Actually, it's both. Bringing together the best of both fishing worlds, the Encounter Spin/Fly Combo makes being prepared seem like second nature. Built with interchangeable butt sections outfitted with spin and fly reels-and based on Encounter rod technology and cosmetics-this compact combo fly/spin travel rod means no fish should feel safe. 7' in length. (Spin) 2-6 lb. test, 1/16-3/16 oz. lures; (Fly) 5-wt. Leaders are not included. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.545 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 of 11(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Encounter Spin/Fly Combo
Review 1 for Encounter Spin/Fly Combo
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Travel Combo,
08 December 2014
By: BobFish
from Lagrange, Georgia
"Good quality spinning and fly reels are a big plus to this travel fly and spinning rod and reel combo.
Travel carry case is lightweight and has sufficient extra space for a few light tackle items. All in all a great value for the money.
"
Review 2 for Encounter Spin/Fly Combo
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Combo,
14 October 2014
By: TroutGuy1
from MI
"I bought this for my Dad and he loved it, he is getting back in to fishing and he liked the quality plus the ability to spin and fly fish."
Review 3 for Encounter Spin/Fly Combo
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice set up,
18 September 2014
By: pace1958
from Jackson NJ
"I received this a few days ago and have not had the opportunity to try it out. The rod is very nice and the two handles make a smooth transition from fly to spin. I was a little disappointed that there was no information about the reels. No direction or breakdown of the reels. I believe that should be included with the set."
Review 4 for Encounter Spin/Fly Combo
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great combo rod!,
05 August 2014
By: Zak13
from Almont, CO
"I live in Almont, Colorado and this rod is perfect for the Taylor River."
Review 5 for Encounter Spin/Fly Combo
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Just what I needed....,
04 August 2014
By: SamiJB
from Montana
"Needed a rod that was smaller than what I've been taking backpacking with me. This fit the bill and is pretty versatile. I fly fish most often, but every once in a while, cast. The cast rod I had was old, rusty, and falling apart. Not had much of a chance to use it, yet, but quality looks good. Case is nice, but bulky, you'll need something else if you really want to take this much farther than from the car."
Review 6 for Encounter Spin/Fly Combo
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good value,
20 June 2014
By: bigkenny2
from Perth Australia
"Only used the spin outfit so far but great piece of gear. Carry case is a bonus.
Thanks Orvis.
"
Review 7 for Encounter Spin/Fly Combo
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent All-Around Outfit,
20 June 2014
By: BLS1
from Las Vegas, NV
"This is a quality outfit with flexibility for different fishing conditions. I like that there are two separate butt sections for the different reels, rather than trying to make a compromised handle that will accept either reel.
As a fly rod it has a fairly stiff, fast action. Works well as a spinning rod. The reels are well made and smooth."
Review 8 for Encounter Spin/Fly Combo
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Rod For Bass, Looking Forward to Alaska,
04 June 2014
By: RollwithForbes
from VA, AK
"So far has been an excellent spin rod have caught 40+ bass with the largest being 5lbs2oz. Have caught numerous pan fish and Crappie as well. Very fun and active rod whether it's a small fish or a big one. Have not tried out the fly aspect of it yet but will be up in AK soon and will see how it works with some monster trout.
Only reason it doesn't have 5 stars is the Bale Arm isn't coming down correctly on every cast and when you are trying to throw a lure under a tree with a quick pick up that's a problem. I may just need to take it apart and oil it, we will see."
Review 9 for Encounter Spin/Fly Combo
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
High quality,,
12 May 2014
By: JJNick
"A good, high quality combination. A great tool for the fisherman to take traveling."
Review 10 for Encounter Spin/Fly Combo
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality product for an award,
16 April 2014
By: FSBBSA
from Islamorada, Florida
"We purchased the combo as an award for an annual fishing tournament in the Florida Keys. The tournament benefits the Florida Sea Base which provides significant ocean adventures for young men and women. The feedback we have recieved from our anglers and donors related to the combo is very positive. (I plan to buy one for myself)"
Review 11 for Encounter Spin/Fly Combo
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Combo,
07 April 2014
By: Booka
from Sylva, NC
"Great versatility from stream to river to pond to lake! Love it!"