Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

The Spirit Leather Flight Jacket

The leather flight jacket was a vital piece of high-altitude survival gear. Cut for ease of movement in the tight confines of the cockpit, the flight jacket also needed functional details, such as easily accessible pockets and the ability to insulate without being bulky. Our genuine leather jacket pays tribute to one of aviation's pioneers, with a rugged, antiqued finish and a removable genuine shearling collar. The pure cotton twill lining provides an easy fit over any outfit. Rib-knit cuffs and hem. Five exterior pockets, plus slots for pens; two interior pockets, one with button closure. Vintage leather flight jacket in brown. 100% cowhide leather. 100% polyester sleeve lining. Professionally clean. Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52); about 28" long in size large.
Average Customer Rating:
4.368 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (95 reviews)
5 stars
67
4 stars
11
3 stars
7
2 stars
5
1 star
5
82 of 95(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Spirit Leather Flight Jacket
Review 1 for The Spirit Leather Flight Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Favorite Christmas Present!,
10 January 2015
By: ABLS
"I took a chance when I ordered this jacket for my teenage son as a surprise Christmas gift. He loved it.
You can dress this jacket up or down. Runs true to size. I ordered a large and it fit him perfectly! Very high quality as we have come to expect from Orvis.
"
Review 2 for The Spirit Leather Flight Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exactly What I Wanted,
09 January 2015
By: Steampunker
from Los Angeles, Ca
"Two years ago I bought a similar jacket from a WWII specialist company and it was much heavier and twice the price. This is the jacket I wanted!"
Review 3 for The Spirit Leather Flight Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent jacket,
07 January 2015
By: radai
from Chicago
"My husband had been looking for a leather jacket for a while. I bought him several different ones from other sites and he was always unhappy because the lining was artificial or something else bothered him so this is the first one that he really likes. Thank you!"
Review 4 for The Spirit Leather Flight Jacket
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Leather Flight Jacket,
06 January 2015
By: Gary58
"The Jacket is nice,however, the actual jacket does not appear as it is advertised. The Picture of the advertisment dispalys a worn look as it should. The jacket I recieved was dark and did not portray the worn look that attracted me to the jacket."
Review 5 for The Spirit Leather Flight Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very pleased,
01 January 2015
By: mal28
from Ohio
"I am 5'8" 190 pounds, 42 chest and 36 waist, this jacket fits perfectly.
I did not like the collar, but easily removed
Coat looks great, am very pleased"
Review 6 for The Spirit Leather Flight Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great coat,
01 January 2015
By: dhouston
from Texas
"Really nice jacket. The description is accurate and there are no external logos which was a huge plus for me. I'm 6', 190 lbs and it fits great. The detachable collar is another nice touch. It also comes with a nice zip up garment bag. Orvis got it right with this one."
Review 7 for The Spirit Leather Flight Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What I hoped for,
08 December 2014
By: Chapy
from Evansville, IN
"This leather coat is exactly what I was looking for. I conducted an extensive in-store and on-online search. Medium thickness of leather for lighter weight. Could be a bit thicker. I found the coat to be full size. Plenty of room for thick sweater. I am 6', 243#. I just received the coat recently but find no fault. Looks great. Very comfortable. Medium to cold warmth but light enough to wear in 40 plus temps."
Review 8 for The Spirit Leather Flight Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It makes even me look good,
08 December 2014
By: thepretender
from Abilene, TX
"I've wanted a classic flight jacket for years, and kept getting more and more enticed to order one with each new Orvis catalog. So I finally did. I love this jacket. It's just dang near perfect. Weathered but not overdone like some other ones are. Soft but sturdy leather and quality construction with a heavy duty zipper. I love the shearling collar. This jacket is warmer than you think it will be on cold days. After reading all the reviews I ordered a medium, although I typically wear a large. The medium fits perfectly....looks almost tailored to fit me (I'm a 44 regular). For those concerned about the Orvis logo on the sleeve, it's no longer there....so good move Orvis. I'd recommend this jacket to anyone who needs to go from office to field and back again while looking "professionally rugged" in both settings. It looks great with Orvis ultimate khakis (which is all I wear by the way)."
Review 9 for The Spirit Leather Flight Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
a cool flight jacket,
08 December 2014
By: gcurtis
"This jacket is everything described in the catalog description. The leather is very soft. The jacket is very warm. A neat feature is the detachable fur collar. I feel like I should be flying an airplane."
Review 10 for The Spirit Leather Flight Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Spirit Leather Flight Jacket,
04 December 2014
By: ssaaww98
from Jericho, New York
"This is a high quality, well made leather Flight Jacket. It is sufficiently warm, made of supple leather, 4 pockets for storage,authentically styled and affordable. I would highly recommend this purchase."
Review 11 for The Spirit Leather Flight Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Glad I waited,
04 December 2014
By: DFS1234
from Western North Carolina
"Wanted a weathered flight jacket for a long time. Wanted to buy this jacket last season but they were sold out of my size (XL). Opted for the Spirit leather vest instead. Love the vest, so this season I ordered the jacket. Glad I waited because Orvis nixed the logo on the shoulder with the new version, which I did not want anyway. Runs true to size."
Review 12 for The Spirit Leather Flight Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Class,
02 December 2014
By: johnc2333
from copperas cove, tx
"First leather jacket I ever owned, the style was unique and the color and fit were just perfect. Would highly recommend to anyone, very warm and great for traveling as well."
Review 13 for The Spirit Leather Flight Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Classic Piece of American Outerwear,
02 December 2014
By: LabstahMan
from Niantic, CT
"The Spirit Leather Flight Jacket is a well-made great looking leather jacket ,made of distressed, butter-soft leather and a detachable shearling collar. It is warm, roomy and I've gotten nothing but compliments when I wear it!!!"
Review 14 for The Spirit Leather Flight Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
any setting,
04 November 2014
By: njsailor
from Bay Head, New Jersey
"This jacket is perfect for anyone with a career/lifestyle that is constantly changing from being in a corporate conference room to an aircraft hangar to a construction site visit to meeting clients for cocktails. It can be dressed up or down as needed and looks cool in all those settings."
Review 15 for The Spirit Leather Flight Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
perfect when flying plane,
22 October 2014
By: kenn1976
from Concord, CA
"My son just received his pilots license. He was overjoyed when he opened the Orvis gift box and tried on the flight jacket. He flies a small plane and says the comfort is ideal and that the pockets are easily accessible as stated in your description of the jacket. He says he feels like an Ace. Thank You Much"
Review 16 for The Spirit Leather Flight Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
10 October 2014
By: Itravelfar
from Las Vegas
"This jacket is another Orvis winner. It was perfect out of the box, and just keeps getting better. It is a beautiful jacket, and I can't wear it enough. Runs just a tiny large, but that is a plus if you want to wear a sweater. Can't say enough. Don't miss buying one."
Review 17 for The Spirit Leather Flight Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Jacket,
03 October 2014
By: Detroit313
from Detroit MI.
"Received the jacket yesterday, wore it last night, just as advertised, quite
nice, fit and finish are excellent for its modest price. I'm 6ft 215lbs and the XL fits just right with room for a sweater or sweatshirt under for cold days. Have a bunch of leathers, all different price ranges, this is one of the better ones, good solid buy.
There were comments in other reviews about the 'ORVIS' logo on the left sleeve, good and bad, it's no longer there, not to worry.
"
Review 18 for The Spirit Leather Flight Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
most comfortable flight jacket i've ever owned,
29 August 2014
By: atzmoses
from west stewartstown nh
"this leather flight jacket is warm the best quality money can buy and fits super on me but all orvis clothing is very high in quality and made with the best materials thank you again again orvis great job"
Review 19 for The Spirit Leather Flight Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Leather Jacket lover!!,
27 August 2014
By: Armie
from Boston, MA
"I ordered my jacket in the spring, wanted to make sure I got it when Orvis
Made a new run. This beautiful leather jacket came 2 weeks ago. Just wonderful and the most comfortable jacket I've ever purchased. The Orvis on the sleeve doesn't bother me at all. I did have to switch sizes down, they run
large. I have 5 leather jackets that I love to wear, this one is my favorite.
"
Review 20 for The Spirit Leather Flight Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've got the jacket, now where's my plane?,
28 May 2014
By: Gavino
from Gainesville, Florida
"Are my reviews so good, or bad, that you can't believe what you're reading and want me to do it again? Okay, I'm game.
Thank you for not offering us a bomber jacket with an embroidered dragon in the lining or the number of a flight squadron on the back. The Orvis logo on the sleeve is just right; unobtrusive, yet lets people know I'm a guy who has good taste and probably spends time outdoors.
"