Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Cliff Boxes

Developed by western fishermen, these innovative Cliff Outdoors fly boxes hold your flies tightly no matter what the wind and weather are trying to do to them. Pocket-size Day's Worth features a high-energy magnetic pad that keeps even the smallest flies secure. Customizable foam strips can be positioned however you'd like prior to first use. Huge-capacity Bugger Barn features unique, slotted, "self-healing" foam. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.857 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 of 14(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cliff Boxes
Review 1 for Cliff Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So far so good,
13 May 2014
By: tobey73
from Maine
"Great sized box and price is right. I have had it a few weeks and its great. I just wonder about the durability of the latch and hinge but time will tell. I bet it will be fine as it is now."
Review 2 for Cliff Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great USA Made Fly Box,
15 September 2013
By: FarandFine
from Alexandria, VA
"I use the Cliff Day’s Worth fly box on my “commando” (minimalist) fishing trips to local trout streams. I load the foam strip side with flies, and the magnetic base side with Rooster Tails and Mepps. Great box."
Review 3 for Cliff Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cool fly wall,
26 August 2013
By: Algi67
from Ashford Kent
"Box is just the right size for Orvis fishing jackets, and to group a days worth of flies. You may find as the fishing session progresses you will want to change and store used flies. This box helps a quick swap over.
It's best use is to store the used flies to thoroughly dry on returning home.
Very robust !"
Review 4 for Cliff Boxes
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bunch O Buggers,
13 June 2013
By: razorbackdoc
from Crossett, AR
"This dude will hold some streamers. With overlap and packing tight you can stuff a lot of big streamers in this thing. The hinge appears a little weak, but time will tell, hence the 4 stars. If you tie big fluffy streamers and pack both sides throw a rubber band around it to keep from flopping open. Not an issue for normal size streamers."
Review 5 for Cliff Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Cadillac of Boxes.,
26 February 2013
By: WiscoSkip
from Milwaukee, WI
"These are simply put the best boxes on the market. The price point is right, the performance is excellent, and you can't own enough of them. If you're gonna buy a box, make it these. I wish Orvis carried more styles!"
Review 6 for Cliff Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
does the job nicely,
08 February 2013
By: sherk5
from hamilton ontario, canada
"price was very reasonable. held all my flies in place . exceptional product.will buy more of your products later."
Review 7 for Cliff Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cliff Boxes,
17 July 2012
By: Mook
from Boston, MA
"Great fly box. Fits all of my big saltwater flies without smashing them together. The pre-slotted "self healing" foam is great and holds the flies in very well, even the circle hooks. The box is durable and well made. Excellent product"
Review 8 for Cliff Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Barn-stormer!,
31 May 2012
By: fionn
from Scotland
"The Barn model is a good chunky box - great for your gear bag but probably too big for vest or jacket. Foam slots hold flies securely. I've avoided using all the slots - this enables the flies to be displayed to best effect and makes selection easy. Blue background also seems to enhance distinction between fly patterns."
Review 9 for Cliff Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A quick trip essential.,
05 May 2012
By: Gutterball
from Bozeman, MT
"A must have for the shorter fly fishing trips. Grab 10 or 20 essential fly patterns and go! Magnetic bottom holds your flies in place when on the water."
Review 10 for Cliff Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cliff's Bugger Box,
30 January 2012
By: Timsy
from Mentor, Ohio
"Exactly whats needed for those Steelhead streamers, you can pack a bunch in this box. Excellent value and price point."
Review 11 for Cliff Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best streamer box,
02 January 2012
By: RoaringJudy
from All over the place.
"Been using these boxes for years, and they're the best! Perfect for tons of salt and freshwater streamers, and also for huge dries - think salmonflies and cicadas. Not so hot for crab patterns because the slits aren't spaced far enough apart to fit the wide bodies. Amazingly durable if you back the flies in and out correctly."
Review 12 for Cliff Boxes
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
31 August 2011
By: rise2afly
"I bought this to replace one that got run over. It holds large flies & streamers very well. You may have to run a razor blade down the slits to open then up all the way, my first one I didn't have to but this one I did."
Review 13 for Cliff Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bugger Barn is great!,
09 September 2010
By: troutn
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I cannot say enough good things about the bugger barn. I use it to carry my bass and steelhead streamers. Yes it is big, but you are dealing with a box that can effectively carry a lot of big messy flies. The foam slot system (which I was skeptical of at first) has never let me down, it really holds flies well. And it is made in the USA!"
Review 14 for Cliff Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Perfect Bugger Solution!,
13 November 2009
By: ZFisher
from Newtown, CT
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I got a Bugger Barn last year after suffering with a maribou stuffed, fly eating, smaller box that was just a mess. This box, with it's cavernous volume and slotted foam, organizes everything well so that I'm never wondering what I have while on the stream. Buggers and hair wings live together in harmony! The only downside of the "Barn" is that it is, as its name indicates, LARGE! I have to carry this in the large pocket on the back of my vest so it's a bit of a pain to access while on the water."