Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Alpaca Painted-Sand Sweater

Wear a handsome alpaca wool sweater with colors that recall the Native American sand paintings of the Southwest. Alpaca wool is lighter than cashmere and warmer than wool, making this sweater perfect for any casual occasion from fall through spring. Versatile crew-neck design. Men's alpaca wool sweater in multicolor. 100% alpaca wool. Dry clean. Imported.Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.385 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 of 13(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Alpaca Painted-Sand Sweater
Review 1 for Alpaca Painted-Sand Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great jumper, but.,
19 November 2013
By: Waltermee
from Dublin Ireland
"Jumper excellent and beautifully soft. Orvis left the security tag in it caused me some inconvenience in trying to have it removed."
Review 2 for Alpaca Painted-Sand Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful Sweater,
27 September 2013
By: b4j6
from Maine
"Very nice, warm Alpaca sweater. I normally wear medium, but ordered a large because several reviews said the sweater runs small. I kept the large, but I think the medium would have been fine."
Review 3 for Alpaca Painted-Sand Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A most attractive and distinctive sweater,
29 August 2013
By: Brookdale
from Cheshire UK
"Very good value. It is beautifully soft and hand washes without problems. Both light and warm it is an ideal Christmas sweater under a coat in the snow. Sizing may be an issue as I normally find LARGE appropriate in Orvis clothing , but EXTRA LARGE (my second purchase of this item) is probably the optimum size for me in this instance."
Review 4 for Alpaca Painted-Sand Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
On the heavy side.,
18 June 2013
By: Dudesir
from Westmount, QC
"I was impressed with the weight of the sweater. It is a notch up from most good quality sweaters. The photo of the sweater showed brighter colors than the sweater actually has. Maybe it was snapped with a high powered flash. The sweater then remains discreet."
Review 5 for Alpaca Painted-Sand Sweater
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Tight Fit,
02 May 2013
By: KCee
from N W Texas
"I own a number of Orvis sweaters and the one thing I can usually count on is that an XXL will be a little large for me. I like loose fitting sweaters and that suites me. This sweater fits, but just barely. I find it looks good, is warm enough for N. TX and it is not in the least bit scratchy, but I can't even wear a heavy shirt underneath without it binding. I would recommend this sweater, but only to thin people."
Review 6 for Alpaca Painted-Sand Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wow!,
20 December 2012
By: Muffett
from Worcestershire
"Followed suggestions from other reviewers, and ordered a large size for a meduim sized husband...and it is just right! Quality and feel is superb...it's light but very warm. Although colours are slightly less bright than illustrated in catalogue it definitely has the wow factor. Has not yet been washed/cleaned."
Review 7 for Alpaca Painted-Sand Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very satisfactory,
23 November 2012
By: Bern2
from Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk, UK
"I have been very satisfied with the product and the fit. As I have as yet to wear it for any length of time I cannot at the moment give an indication of its warmth in very cold weather,but I feel it would behave very well. I would recommend anyone looking for a smart and different style to purchase"
Review 8 for Alpaca Painted-Sand Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Expensive but very good,
11 October 2012
By: Teapotdriver
"It arrived on time well packed. Super quality soft knitwear and it fitted well. The only problem is finding trousers to go with it."
Review 9 for Alpaca Painted-Sand Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Eyecatching,
17 January 2012
By: Llanito
from Gibraltar
"The picture of this jumper doesn' t give a true representation. The picture looks slightly garish but the actual jumpers colours are sublime. More muted than the picture but wonderfully combined. A work of art. Exceeded my expectations. My wife also thinks its gorgeous."
Review 10 for Alpaca Painted-Sand Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
14 December 2011
By: GW69
from Northamptonshire.
"One observation I will make is that whilst it is a perfect fit,(I am 5 feet 10 inches 44 inch chest 37 inch waist) & I bought size L I feel the length is a little on the short side;I believe 2 or 3 more inches in lenght would be better."
Review 11 for Alpaca Painted-Sand Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A sweater to last a lifetime,
30 September 2011
By: PamJ
from The Ashdown Forest UK Pooh country!
"I looked at other alpaca sweaters before ordering this one for my husband. When it arrived we were both very pleased by the softness and the wonderful palat of colours that have been woven into this garment."
Review 12 for Alpaca Painted-Sand Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lightweight and incredibly warm!,
09 November 2010
By: Vazamena
from Scotland
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"First I have to say this jumper is extremely well made. It is also incredibly warm and lightweight: perfect for travelling. Alpaca is a wonderful fibre for this purpose.
I took the previous reviewer's size comments into account when ordering, and although I'm 6'2" and 15 stone in Imperial/American, the XXL fits me just right, with plenty of room in the sleeves.
My only quibbles are:
1) Colour is somewhat darker than I'd expected and more subdued than it looks on my computer screen. I like the fact it's multi-coloured (unlike most men's jumpers) - I just wish it were more excitingly patterned!
2) I don't suit crew necked jumpers very much. I prefer some sort of neck/collar.
3) As with all Orvis jumpers I've tried, this is a bit on the short side, body-wise, for my liking. Sleeves are fine, but I prefer a little more length to cover the belt area.
"
Review 13 for Alpaca Painted-Sand Sweater
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Pity about the sizes,
13 October 2010
By: hillwalker1
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I'm 6'4" and 15 stone. An Orvis XL normally fits me very well.
I ordered this sweater in XL but it was too tight so I returned it and ordered the XXL. To my surprise there was little difference between XL and XXL and it was still too small - in arm width and length and body width and length. And I was only wearing a lightweight short sleeved t-shirt when I tried the XXL!
Based on my experience I suggest the sizing of this product needs to be reviewed."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service Team09 November 2010
Orvis contacted this customer and thanked him for his honest feedback. We are sorry to hear that the sizing of the Alpaca Painted-Sand Sweater wasn't satisfactory. We let our customer know our customer service agents would be happy to go over specific measurements for any of our garments before he places an order. And, of course, Orvis will happily exchange or refund any item; we want our customers to be happy with all of their Orvis purchases.