Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Deluxe Microfiber Car Hammock Seat Protector

Convert your backseat area into a comfortable travel area for your dog with this dog hammock seat cover. The design of this microfiber seat saver allows it to capture loose dirt and sand before it can end up on your seats and floors. It's also water resistant and breathable. Installing is a breeze: Simply hook it to the front and rear headrests. Seat belts can be pulled through hook-and-loop openings. Protectors not suitable for vehicles that do not have headrests. Height-adjustable headrests are required for installation. Washable. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.624 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (569 reviews)
5 stars
408
4 stars
130
3 stars
16
2 stars
8
1 star
7
548 of 569(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Deluxe Microfiber Car Hammock Seat Protector
Review 1 for Deluxe Microfiber Car Hammock Seat Protector
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My Ridgeback loves it...more than me,
25 March 2015
By: Adam1979
from Northern VA
"This car hammock for my dog is wonderful. Keeps my Tundra clean and the fabric is great for my dog, he does not slide all over the place like previous seat covers...very comfy. We could not be more satisfied with this Orvis product."
Review 2 for Deluxe Microfiber Car Hammock Seat Protector
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great car hammock,
24 March 2015
By: fireflymd
"My dog has difficulty jumping into the back of my SUV and the car ramp I have is cumbersome. This is very easy to install and remove, and I like that the hammock prevents my dog from slipping off the back seat with her front legs. We do have to take down one side so that she can jump onto the seat (the first time she climbed into the car and went right under the hammock!).
In the back seat she's nice and comfy and more secure than when she's in the cargo space of my SUV. Easy and quick to take down and I can just fold it up when passengers need the seat. Very well made. A great purchase!"
Review 3 for Deluxe Microfiber Car Hammock Seat Protector
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Purchase,
24 March 2015
By: Martinman
"A little pricy but well worth it. Covers the entire back seat of my Silverado. Hair clings to material instead of blowing around everywhere when you open window or door. The raised edges keep it from falling down between door and seat. I do run a small bungee cord thru straps and hook to both head rests, this seems to keep my lab from wanting to jump up in front seats when we are not in truck. Seems very well made and no problems so far."
Review 4 for Deluxe Microfiber Car Hammock Seat Protector
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Deluxe Microfiber Car Hammock is good,
23 March 2015
By: DenverDoc
from Denver, CO
"We bought this to allow us to transport our Collie in the Lexus, and it works well. The fabric and fasteners appear to be of good quality, and are relatively easy to work with. The fabric was a bit difficult for our dog to walk on/turn around because of the hammock configuration and the backing does slide a bit on our leather seats, but we put a rectangular artificial fleece we had on it and that solved the issue. Our dog rides very comfortably."
Review 5 for Deluxe Microfiber Car Hammock Seat Protector
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It Covers The Seats,
23 March 2015
By: JMemory
from Cincinnati, OH
"The deluxe microfiber car hammock seat protector, referred to in this review as "Dog Hammock," seems well made and was fairly easy to install. I bought the large size for my Subaru Outback, and ended up trading up for the XL. The Large was just a few inches too short, and my cocker spaniel figured out how to slip under it. One of the reasons I purchased the dog hammock was to keep my dogs from jumping into the front seats. Unfortunately, they have now learned to jump over the dog hammock, so it has proven ineffective to that ends. Ultimately, it does protect my back seats from muddy paws, so that makes it worth the money to me."
Review 6 for Deluxe Microfiber Car Hammock Seat Protector
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great quality product,
24 February 2015
By: DMelberg
from Southern California
"I have purchased several competitive products to this one and none of them have held up. Some failed the first day I used them. This one has the best reinforced headrest straps of any I have purchased. It also has some other nice features such as the lip on the end of the cover to keep dirt and debris from sliding off of the cover onto the seat below,. The top material appears to have no wear at all so far, and the bottom material does provide good grip once the dogs are sitting on top of it. I am hopeful for many years of use. There are two things that I would change. There is nothing to keep the cover from sliding side to side when the dogs jump in. Two diagonal elastic straps that go around the corner of the bench seat would solve this (as some of the competition has). The other thing I don't like is that the bottom of the cover is cream colored. All of the color options are dark-ish in color. You can see the bottom of the cover when it is installed between the two front seats, it would be much better if it matched the top color or was black."
Review 7 for Deluxe Microfiber Car Hammock Seat Protector
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect!,
19 February 2015
By: Woodsygirl
from Delafield, WI
"The hammock seat protector is perfect for my car (Subaru Outback wagon). It's very sturdy and substantial, and the tailoring and adjustable straps make it fit really well. It also creates a very secure space for the dog with a defined flat seating area and barrier to the foot well and front seat. With the shoulder belts connected over the cover and through the buckle opening it doesn't shift at all. Love it."
Review 8 for Deluxe Microfiber Car Hammock Seat Protector
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Happy owner, happy pet...,
18 February 2015
By: cflorshe
"This car hammock back seat protector is a great product for you and your dog. The car stays clean and the hammock provides a boundary for your dog while riding in the back seat. The quilted microfiber fabric is comfortable and cozy. The coverage is complete without being cumbersome or excessive. Enjoy..."
Review 9 for Deluxe Microfiber Car Hammock Seat Protector
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product,
16 February 2015
By: Kyppers
"I especially like the adjustable strap at the front of the hammock. By tightening the strap I make it difficult for my Border Collie to try and climb into the front seat."
Review 10 for Deluxe Microfiber Car Hammock Seat Protector
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice!,
15 February 2015
By: kmtooch
from Ledyard , CT
"As you would expect from Orvis this is a nicely made protector. I got the slate. The top is rich looking and matches the interior of my car well. My only real complaint is, as mentioned in some previous reviews, the back of the hammock should be the same color. It is a cream color. So when it is in place what you see between your two front seats is the ugly cream. I clipped in my back seat seat belts to help secure and minimize any shifting."
Review 11 for Deluxe Microfiber Car Hammock Seat Protector
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good purchase,
14 February 2015
By: lmichaeld
from Northern Minneasota
"Expensive - but effective capturing pet hair and dirt . I have two large golden retrievers each weighing 100lbs+ . Washable = easy cleanup!"
Review 12 for Deluxe Microfiber Car Hammock Seat Protector
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful product,
30 January 2015
By: BucksFan
from Eastern Pennsylvania
"I have used one of these backseat hammocks for 7 years and it has kept my 80 lb Golden safer and more comfortable while keeping the car much cleaner. I always recommend it to people when they comment. I bought a new one this week only because my new car needs a different size. This time I ordered the side door covers to go with it."
Review 13 for Deluxe Microfiber Car Hammock Seat Protector
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Double duty!,
30 January 2015
By: MTNest
from Mountains of VA
"We've had our Orvis Microfiber Hammock for over a year,it fits both our Expedition and Highlander.We've used it on a r/t to Texas with our 2 dogs. Yesterday we picked up our older dog,80+ lbs,from the vet after a procedure,and he was still very groggy. There was no problem with him in the hammock on the ride home. Getting him in the house proved more difficult,as we live on a mountain. And it was sleeting. He wasn't going under his own power. So we unfastened the straps,slid him across the seat & out the door. We brought our Buddy into the house swaddled like a baby in his Orvis Hammock.Problem solved."
Review 14 for Deluxe Microfiber Car Hammock Seat Protector
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
full protection - comfort and added safeth,
29 January 2015
By: KMRK
from Mt Desert Island, Maine
"Purchased this to replace an older Orvis backseat cover. Not sure if this is a different model but has definite improvements! Softer material - love how it comes up on the sides so the dog hair does't fall down the side of the seats. Gives added protection to our animals - so they don't come flying into the front seat. Design allows you to store things behind front seats on long trips and not worry the animals will land on them if you have to stop suddenly. Not inexpensive - but a great product."
Review 15 for Deluxe Microfiber Car Hammock Seat Protector
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
High Quality, Easy Installation,
28 January 2015
By: powermax
"I bought this product along with door protectors for a 1200 mile (one-way) trip with a highly energetic Vizsa. She seemed to like it and after snapping the straps around the head rests, no other adjustment was required for the entire trip and back. I expect it will hold up well."
Review 16 for Deluxe Microfiber Car Hammock Seat Protector
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
DISAPPOINTED IN WIDTH,
23 January 2015
By: JAKEBENTLEY
from OHIO
"RETURNED PRODUCT BECAUSE SIZE LARGE DID NOT FIT EITHER A HONDA ACCORD OR FORD TAURUS. TWO ISSUES, THE HEADREST STRAPS COULDN'T ADJUST ENOUGH TO ATTACH TO ALL 4 HEADRESTS AND THE MATERIAL DIDN'T COVER ENOUGH OF THE BACK SEAT SO WHEN DOGS WOULD GET IN AND OUT OF THE CAR, LEATHER SEAT WAS EXPOSED TO PAWS."
Review 17 for Deluxe Microfiber Car Hammock Seat Protector
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Really Great Protection,
18 January 2015
By: MoxarellaCheese14
from Crystal Lake, IL
"We purchased this in the beige color when we first got our puppy last year. This cover is AWESOME! We don't have to worry about her falling in between the seats, she can rest her head on the divider between the two front seats, we don't have to worry about her jumping into the front, and every time it's muddy or dirty, we just throw it in the washer and lay it out for 24 hours to dry. Holds up awesome and is super soft and high quality. Only complaint is that it sometimes slides around if we don't tuck it in well enough. Otherwise, we couldn't be happier with this purchase, and are thinking of getting another one for the other car."
Review 18 for Deluxe Microfiber Car Hammock Seat Protector
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product, much nicer than I expected,
06 January 2015
By: Dave125
from Arizona
"This is a very sturdy, well-made hammock for our two labs. It attaches to the headrests of the front and back seats so the dogs can not fall. They have more room than they would if just laying on the seat.
The straps that attach the hammock have been much improved over the previous hammock we had, they just clip together, very easy to use.
This is the second wonderful item I've purchased from Orvis. I also have a vest that I wear when I fly which allows me to carry on bunches of stuff and have easy access to it all. It, too is extremely well-made and well designed."
Review 19 for Deluxe Microfiber Car Hammock Seat Protector
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this product,
06 January 2015
By: bernarkj
from Auburn, CA
"Fits my CTS perfectly and very comfy for my dog. Will provide the protection for leather seats I need while keeping my car clean."
Review 20 for Deluxe Microfiber Car Hammock Seat Protector
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Glaring Design Issues,
05 January 2015
By: NathanCampbell
from Anaheim, CA
"I ordered this product to comfortably contain an 80 lb. Weimaraner. Given the high cost in relation to similar products, my expectations were above average. I have black leather seating, so I chose the gray color, but it has a noticeably brown tint to it; not a true gray and not the exact color pictured on the website. The workmanship was as expected, but the design was not fully thought out. The hammock should have included the same "innovative handles" as the similar backseat protector to also keep the hammock "firmly in place". However, my biggest issue is that the non-slip backing fabric covers the entire bottom of the hammock. This is understandable on the seat and backrest portions of the rear seat, but unnecessary on the section that attaches to the rear of the front seats. The backing is a thin rubberized crème colored fabric and is noticeably visible between the front seats--very unattractive and not something I would have expected of an Orvis product at this price. I will likely be returning the product for this reason alone. This could have been easily avoided by using the same color matched microfiber material in the center of the underside of the section attaching to the front seats."