Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Deluxe Microfiber Car Hammock Seat Protector

Convert your backseat area into a comfortable travel area for your dog with this dog hammock seat cover. The design of this microfiber seat saver allows it to capture loose dirt and sand before it can end up on your seats and floors. It's also water resistant and breathable. Installing is a breeze: Simply hook it to the front and rear headrests. Seat belts can be pulled through hook-and-loop openings. Protectors not suitable for vehicles that do not have headrests. Height-adjustable headrests are required for installation. Washable. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.621 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (501 reviews)
5 stars
359
4 stars
115
3 stars
13
2 stars
7
1 star
7
483 of 501(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Deluxe Microfiber Car Hammock Seat Protector
Review 1 for Deluxe Microfiber Car Hammock Seat Protector
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
One Happy Camper,
05 September 2014
By: Candlelady
from Houston,Tx
"My husband and I spent hours going into days searching for the right pet hammock for our new truck that would allow our two pets to be comfortable, easy to clean, and easy to install. We have always been happy with Orvis and its quality so when we made our decision for purchase, we received it quickly with no doubt pleased. The cost was a little more but it is true, "you get what you pay for". Thank you."
Review 2 for Deluxe Microfiber Car Hammock Seat Protector
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
good but could be better,
02 September 2014
By: Hegarmi
from Chardon, Ohio
"I like the quality of the material. What I would do to improve it would be two things:the material between the head rests sags. If there was a rod you could insert to keep it straigh it would look better and two: if you could have the material fo down the side/end of the seats it would stay in place better and protect better. Overall I think its one of the better ones on the market but could have a few improvements"
Review 3 for Deluxe Microfiber Car Hammock Seat Protector
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Happy dogs,
02 September 2014
By: Seaview53
from Ayrshire
"My two border's are so happy in the back seat now they feel secure not having the gap between the seat they do not like a harness and hated the car now very happy easy to install and clean the best purchase I have made yet for the boys even in the heat they travel in comfort wrapping a bag of ice in a large towel keep dogs cool happy and seat kept dry"
Review 4 for Deluxe Microfiber Car Hammock Seat Protector
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent product,
01 September 2014
By: Pixeq
from PA
"Purchased the backseat hammock and am very pleased with product!! Easy installation and stays put..dog likes it and is good at keeping her in back seat!! I just tuck the hammock part under when dog not in car. I took advice of other reviewers and agree--purchase extra large for more coverage--is working great in our Rav 4"
Review 5 for Deluxe Microfiber Car Hammock Seat Protector
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product,
01 September 2014
By: MillicentTheDog
from Portland, OR
"Fits easily into the car. Looks good. The dog loves it. Does everything I want it to do. Highly recommended."
Review 6 for Deluxe Microfiber Car Hammock Seat Protector
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A little work,
28 August 2014
By: CTdogmom
from CT
"I am rating it 4 because with my aging dog, I need to remove the hammock part every time she gets in because she can't just jump directly onto the back seat; she has to first climb to the floor of the back seat. I drive Honda Accord 2005 and the product is a bit small. I will appreciate it if Orvis can give me an inch longer seat fastening strap and just an inch more in width. My dog also has a problem jumping onto the seat due to the fabric quality. Very slippery for her. I turn the removed hammock inside out which is covered with rubber like material and she can grab the fabric to climb onto the back seat. I have to move her paws to flip back the hammock and reinstall. It does save my aging dog from dropping into the floor of the back seat, the main purpose why I purchased it."
Review 7 for Deluxe Microfiber Car Hammock Seat Protector
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Secure Hammock,
22 August 2014
By: doglover54
from Ohio
"My dog was severely injured in an accident & I was hesitant to travel with him while he was recuperating. This hammock provided him with a secure way to travel in my small SUV & he was comfortable laying on it. My only "complaint" is that they should have a flap/opening for the back seat air vents- especially important for summer AC air flow."
Review 8 for Deluxe Microfiber Car Hammock Seat Protector
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great cover for car interior,
18 August 2014
By: RENOSMOM
from TN
"Purchased the Hammock Seat Protector and it is great. Easy to install and adjust. I have bullmastiffs and have found that the hair picks up easily with a vacuum so i dont have to remove and wash. Love it and great addition to my Tacoma but works in my Maxda 3 as well!"
Review 9 for Deluxe Microfiber Car Hammock Seat Protector
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very practical,
30 July 2014
By: presley1
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I just bought a new car and was afraid that my dogs may dirty or scratch the seats. The hammock is ideal if this is your concern too. My dogs loved it. They laid down and fell asleep on way to vet!"
Review 10 for Deluxe Microfiber Car Hammock Seat Protector
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Second purchase,
29 July 2014
By: MydogTessa
from San Diego, CA
"We purchased a new car that has a back seat that is bigger than older Car. So we needed to get a new seat cover. The first one we bought has held up very well for 3.5 years, including multiple washings. Worked well to protect leather seats, as well as keep dog from falling in foot well. Easy to install and remove. So it was natural to buy another seat cover form Orvis. A bit more expensive but built to last. Excellent product."
Review 11 for Deluxe Microfiber Car Hammock Seat Protector
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Corgi haven,
28 July 2014
By: DesertfoxTAZ
from Tucson, AZ
"This new (to me) Orvis product replaced a very very old one used for decades by our family. I was pleased to find the many improvements in both material and design. It fits the back seat of my Subaru Forester perfectly, and is easy to install and remove. My corgi, Daisy, thinks its what she deserves."
Review 12 for Deluxe Microfiber Car Hammock Seat Protector
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Road Tested,
23 July 2014
By: GracieCaretaker
from 7 States, 4 Provinces
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"We just completed a 4,417 mile, 18-day, road trip across Canada and the US with our 90-pound dog, Gracie. The Deluxe Microfiber Car Hammock Seat Protector performed perfectly for us. It is very easy to install and remove quickly. The microfiber is comfortable and backed underneath with rubber-like lining, so it is water-resistant and cleans up easily with a shake or two. Gracie was very secure in the Car Hammock Seat, whether she was laying down or sitting up. The hammock-style was ideal because it gave her big body the stability to lay comfortably over the foot wells, kept her from jumping into the front seat, and gave us the needed storage under the hammock in the foot wells. I followed the advice of another reviewer and ordered the largest size even though my Nissan Altima is a medium sedan. Doing this allowed ample width to cover and tuck in to protect my seats. We drove hours nearly every day, and I cannot say enough about how great this seat cover worked for us. Not only was the Deluxe Microfiber Car Hammock highly functional, it was Gracie's secure go-to place."
Review 13 for Deluxe Microfiber Car Hammock Seat Protector
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Leather Seat Saver,
22 July 2014
By: Soonerboxermom
from Oklahoma
"Bought this for my new car that has black leather seats. This came very timely and had it on my back seat in minutes. Could not have been easier. It is nice and thick and well made."
Review 14 for Deluxe Microfiber Car Hammock Seat Protector
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Keeping my new car clean!,
21 July 2014
By: Lori64
from Bedford, NH
"I recently ordered the Microfiber Car Hammock Seat Protector for my new car and I love the product!
It's easy to install, provides great coverage for my interior, and gives the dogs a safe, comfortable place to relax.
Another great product from Orvis!"
Review 15 for Deluxe Microfiber Car Hammock Seat Protector
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Come to Calgary,
19 July 2014
By: HappySoFar
from Calgary, AB
"I bought the hammock and crossed my fingers, as I am very skeptical about buying things unseen and online. Much to my surprise and relief, this product is fabulous. The XL may be a little large in the sling (??) as I have a 2014 Sierra Double Cab, so there is some extra fabric on the seat, but it fits from door to door, and my dog, who hates crate mats, is not bothered by it at all. My only wish for this product would be a fitted corner for the tops of the seats to stop it from curling over and exposing the seat, but overall very happy. Can't understand why the only Orvis dealer in Calgary only carries their fishing gear."
Review 16 for Deluxe Microfiber Car Hammock Seat Protector
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Works with Labs,
07 July 2014
By: DenverDogz
"I purchased this for my new mini-SUV to minimize wear and tear with my two labs. For the most part it works well. My dogs are 65# each and there is room for both to sleep curled up after a hike. The enclosure effect of the hammock keeps them in the back seat (except one will get under it occasionally to poke his head out between the front seats. The side ends nearest the doors are a little short, or lift up in a way that exposes the ends of the seat as the dogs enter and exit the vehicle. The hammock is well-made and easy to install. It's the best car solution I have found to date."
Review 17 for Deluxe Microfiber Car Hammock Seat Protector
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent seat protector,
25 June 2014
By: JWBinSanDiego
from San Diego, CA
"I have just recently received this, so I will give my first impressions. This hammock seat protector is well made. It fit my Subaru Forester perfectly and was easy to connect. The only thing that I don't like is the color on the bottom. The interior of my car is black, and I ordered slate. The color of the top material is great (and is soft too), but the bottom is a yellowish tan, which looks very unsightly as seen from the front of the car (the bottom material is visible between the front two seats. It should be black or similar to the color on top. Other than that cosmetic complaint (Orivs - please take note), I think it is great. I feel that my dog (a brown 55-pound standard poodle) will be safer and my leather will certainly be cleaner!"
Review 18 for Deluxe Microfiber Car Hammock Seat Protector
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Help,
18 June 2014
By: Sonodave
"Having had great results with this product in my Cayenne I looked forward to more of the same with my Chrysler 300...unfortunately the 300's rear headrests are not adjustable! I have tried securing the strap to the ISOFIX car seat system with mixed results. Anyone have a better idea?
The product is terrific and I can recommend it without reservation -- as long as your headrests are adjustable(!)."
Review 19 for Deluxe Microfiber Car Hammock Seat Protector
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
love it,
10 June 2014
By: drlaurenw
"i’ve tried several of this type of product. they all sag in the middle. this one matains its shape and helps keep my dogs safe. it is also attractive enough to keep it on most of the time."
Review 20 for Deluxe Microfiber Car Hammock Seat Protector
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
pleasantly surprised,
08 June 2014
By: lablvr27
from Olympia, WA
"This is the 3rd in the series of car hammocks that I have purchased for my 60 lb lab puppy and it is so superior to the others (one of which was more expensive) that it is astonishing. It collects less dirt on the surface, lets less dog hair through the seat belt access points and has been through the washer and dryer with awesome results. I bought the XL for my mid-size SUV. Perhaps I could have gone with the L, but I don't regret the XL at all! A++ Also, Orvis customer service was Awesome when a pricing issue arose with this purchase. This was my first Orvis purchase, but won't be the last!"